We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium

Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium
1600 Ken Thompson Parkway, Sarasota, FL 34236
941-388-4441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 55 Attractions in Sarasota
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the Mote Marine Laboratory, this is home to a 135,000 gallon outdoor shark tank and many other marine species.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Interesting visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is included with the aquarium. It is earlier to drive over to this separate facility ESP. In 98 degree heat.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    789
    403
    116
    23
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Interesting Aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Lots of interesting fish. Interactive show in auditorium should not be missed. Touch and feel tanks are a plus. Plan at least two hours. Admission is rather high($19. Person) but it goes to help fund this non profit care facility.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hours of Fun and Learning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I absolutely LOVED Mote Marine. This trip would be good for any age. (Stroller friendly and mobility accessible)

Mote allows you to see ocean life up close and personal. They have beautifully decorated exhibits as well as well educated employees and volunteers who are always in sight that can answer questions or give fun facts about each display. From sea turtles and jelly fish to sea coral and sharks teeth, Mote has a lot to offer. All displays seemed well kept and maintained.

We went on a Wednesday which is apparently shark feeding day. Was happy that the top view was crowded seeing as though the "under water" view was much better and exciting. I loved the touch tanks as well as the stringray touch pool. I love the stingrays and the stingrays seem to love the attention. For $5.99, they also have the "Fossil Creek" where you can sift for fossils and shark teeth.

In a separate building, they have Mote Marine Laboratory where they have Moonshine the dolphin. It is about 1/4 mile or less away from the aquarium entrance. You can walk up the stairs and enter trough the gift shop. From the gift shop, you can see the pool where Moonshine is. Once walking through the gift shop, you can walk to the other side of the pool where they have another building with more exhibits. (My favorite being the little octopus and the Lion Fish)

Mote Marine has CLEAN bathroom facilities, concession area (which was reasonably priced), water fountains, and gift shops. Everything is spaced out nicely and flows well.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were there with a group of 7. 3 adults and 4 kids (5, 8, 9 and 11). We were literally exposed to the marine life. We could touch the starfish and find out about how reef is formed. Lots of tanks with tropical fish and other animals.
It certainly got my attention. My family forcefully pushed me away from those tanks and boards with factoids.
It was a very nice experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Educational-recipricol zoo member”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We come here whenever we are in FL. The staff is so informative. Very hands on with the touch pool which the children love. We used our zoo membership from another city and got in free! The cost for us to get in was the same as what we paid for our membership with our local zoo.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.