We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium

Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium
1600 Ken Thompson Parkway, Sarasota, FL 34236
941-388-4441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 126 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the Mote Marine Laboratory, this is home to a 135,000 gallon outdoor shark tank and many other marine species.
Venice, Florida, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A little pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Interesting but very small. Admission price does not reflect the experience you get. You can spend about three hours there and not much more.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    879
    462
    140
    27
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun Outing for the Whole Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My boys, ages 6 and 11, love Mote Marine. There is so much learning and fun activities to do and the memberships pays for itself in a a couple of trips - highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Had a great visit ... good for children and adults. Very interesting especially if you like sea life.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

For a relatively small town, this is a great aquarium. i love the giant squid, the cuttlefish and the jellyfish exhibit; could've watched them for hours. The price is very fair. There's a petting area which is a thrill for kids big or small and they often have special exhibits like penguins or sea lions. There's a research facility there which is sometimes open for touring and you're more likely to see a manatee here than anywhere in the wild. They are actually doing aquaculture there. i wish i had more time to explore all the stuff and find out what all they do. It's very close to other fun things like St. Armand's Circle and not as depressing as some of the places i've been in the Keys because there's real research going on. This is NOT SeaWorld which is a big plus in my book and not very crowded.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Aquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place is well worth the visit. We saw dolphins, seals, manatees, huge turtles. There were shows, and informational talks at each stop. We had an interesting day and it was as enjoyable for us (all adults) and it seemed to be for the children we saw there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.