We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Aquarium” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium

Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium
1600 Ken Thompson Parkway, Sarasota, FL 34236
941-388-4441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 49 Attractions in Sarasota
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the Mote Marine Laboratory, this is home to a 135,000 gallon outdoor shark tank and many other marine species.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Elvis, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Nice aquarium with good exhibits. Just the right size and lots of information to learn.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    388
    113
    23
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice for its size”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We took my three yr old there on a rainy day glad we did the dolphin exhibit was closed so we didn't see that. It took us 2 hours to go through which was good value fr our money with thought she was free so 34 for the 3 of us.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A very nice way to spend an afternoon--with or without your grandchildren”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Interesting displays for all ages. Our 12-year-old grandson particularly liked the auditorium where you can become a watery predator by attacking and killing other fish on your way up the food chain--surprise, surprise. Actually, it's not at all frightening or bloody--and who cares about plankton? The only drawback is that on rainy days the lines to get in are LONG.

I'm a manatee freak and have seen them many times, but I never realized just how BIG they are until I looked up at them in the tanks at Mote Marine.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Awesome. Lots of fun, kids will absolutely love this. There is a sting-ray touch pool and it is so much fun! Right now, there is also a penguin exhibit and they were adorable. Very photogenic, they will come right up to the glass and look at the camera! The sea turtles and manatees in the other building were really cool too. Good for a chilly day, can be done in about 2-3 hours, depending on your pace.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROOKLIN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

For its limited size, the exhibits and displays are very good. The staff is especially helpful in explaining exhibits. Try to avoid going on a weekend, when it can get rather crowded.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.