We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“manatees, sea turtles and dolphins made it worthwhile” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium

Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium
1600 Ken Thompson Parkway, Sarasota, FL 34236
941-388-4441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 49 Attractions in Sarasota
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the Mote Marine Laboratory, this is home to a 135,000 gallon outdoor shark tank and many other marine species.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Orangeville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“manatees, sea turtles and dolphins made it worthwhile”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I found this place to be smaller than expected, small tanks, not too much to see. The best part was seeing 2 manatees and 2 dolphins in their areas, and the sea turtles. I really loved those guys. 17 bucks per person overall is too much for admission. Lots of screaming kids blocking the views. The person who works in the sea turtle area is so perfect for this job. Knows everything about them and is truly into it. He was so nice to talk to. The people who worked at the 50's style diner seemed a bit cold, probably hardened by all the screaming kids and abusive parents.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    387
    113
    23
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exceeded My Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

I enjoyed my visit to the Mote Marine Aquarium. I especially found the Sea Turtle Training Session to be interesting! An all-around pleasant experience.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We just got back from Mote Aquarium in Sarasota and had a great time. Our 3 year old got to touch starfish, sea cucumbers, stingrays and a horseshoe crab. She ran around all the exhibits and was amazed by all the animals. The dolphins were out and they have 4 huge sea turtles!! Worth the drive! an even better deal when you get your tickets from www.floridavacationauction.com!!!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Not the best aquarium I've been to”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Not the greatest aquarium I have ever been to, but I am admittedly spoiled having grown up in Chicago with the Shedd. Two exhibits of particular interest that made the trip worth it were the giant squid (dead) and the manatees (alive) - creatures you won't see in other aquariums.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We'll be Back"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

March 8-14, 2011 took my 11 yearold grandaughter on a "springbreak" How wonderful. We went to Honeymoon Is. State Park., South to the Everglades which was fantastic, But I have to say the highlight of the trip was Mote Marine Aquarium. We did not allow enought time. We had to leave to get to Tampa for our flight out.Hated to leave. Being from central Pennsylvania, we do not get to see much Marine life, just a few trout and crappies. Your displays were,excellent,there was another suprise around every corner,
Our absolute favorite...Hugh and Buffett. They were very playful the day we were there, doing barrell rolls for us and bringing their food and comming right up to the viewing window. Thank You, Thank You, Thank You! RoseAnn and Emma

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.