We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Sarasota to your Saves list
Knights Inn Sarasota
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   5340 North Tamiami Trail, (US 41), Sarasota, FL 34234   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good one.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

It was clean and comfortable. Room was well equipped and didn't have eny bothersome imperfections. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay for one or two nights - it's great. Everything worked, the bed was very nice so what do I need more.

It's close to the airport and not so far from the center. You might need some time to get to St Armands, but for us it was ok.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor and it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    92
    25
    6
    19
See reviews for
36
79
21
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I slept there because I was travelling from Orlando to South and I needed a cheap place. The reviews looked ok so I took it.
First of all, they sold me a room (King bed) that they actually didn't have available, so I was given a two Queen bed room. When I complained about this, the lady at the desk didn't apologize at all, saying instead "don't worry, no surcharge". No surcharge?!? Crazy! Anyway, I didn't say anything because I just wanted to sleep.
There was no bottled water in the vending machine but the lady said I will have founded it in the room's fridge. False. At four o'clock am I was thirsty like hell and I went to the desk asking for a bottle. The man, presumably the owner/manager, was more than rude, replying that he didn't have a bottle of water in the whole inn. He got almost angry at the end, repeating "If I told ya I don't have, I don't have!". I had to go to a gas station to get a stupid bottle of water. Incredible.
The room was quite clean but the A/C was noisy and in the middle of the night my poor girlfriend was bitten repeatedly by a bedbug (see pic). Enough?
The breakfast was poor, but decent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knightsinnsarasota, Webmaster at Knights Inn Sarasota, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Knights Inn, Sarasota during your recent visit to our area.

We have noted your review and appreciate you for bringing your experience to our notice.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you howsoever.

We have investigated the incidence and have taken corrective steps in improving the guest care and hospitality. The entire hotel staff have been underwent a fresh training in this regard.

We are glad that you liked the cleanliness of the rooms.

Please note that we take our guest reviews with due seriousness. Consider visiting us again and have a new experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I recently spent two nights at this motel while checking out some local downtown real estate and was pleasantly surprised. No, it's not a Ritz Carlton, and let's face it, it's not even a Holiday Inn, but it was spotless, the king bed was quite comfortable, and the a/c worked great. If you're just looking for a clean comfortable place to lay your head at night you won't find a better value around. Check the rates of nearby lodging and you will see what I mean about value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Young Harris, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We recently spent two nights at this motel and were very pleased with the stay. Those looking for elaborate accommodations may not be satisfied but those such as we who are just looking for a clean and comfortable room with good beds and a good television should be pleased. The owner and other staff were available and helpful when needed with the owner being very helpful in trying to correct a problem in claiming Wyndham Rewards Points. The location seemed to be very safe and convenient to both Sarasota and Bradenton. Under the unique circumstances of our visit, we did not partake of the breakfast but it appeared at a glance to be adequate and tasty. We would highly recommend the motel for anyone looking for clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced lodging.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautier, Mississippi
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
660 helpful votes 660 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We just need a clean and convenient place for the night when visiting Sarasota Boat Works and this property is perfect It is a Knights Inn, but it's clean! Really! The owner was not very appreciative of the business and this may have been secondary to booking with Wyndham Rewards points. The breakfast is tiny but sufficient.

Room Tip: Expect no extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. We chose it because of the price and good reviews it had received and were not disappointed. Our room was a bit run down, but very clean and comfortable. The Keurig coffee maker and bottled water provided were a big plus. Breakfast was fresh. The owners who are always on the premises are friendly and helpful and responsive to requests. The biggest drawback was having to make an illegal U-turn to enter the drive from the other side of Route 41.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed one quick night in this motel when going to the Warm Mineral Springs (did not want to stay out in the sticks as wanted to have some night life nearby, but were not willing to pay more than the possible minimum). So this one popped up with good reviews and very nice price.The service in this place was friendly, the location was good (right by the airport and withing 5 min drive from Downtown Sarasota), the room was of a nice size and METICULOUSLY cleaned, the walls in the room and bathroom are recently repaired/painted/refurbished, the bed was very comfortable, the furniture was not new but in a good condition and arrangement of the room in colors and styles was not irritating, everything useful was there in the room: a fridge, a microwave, an iron, a hair dryer, etc (in other words; everything, that you would regularly expect to find in a nice hotel, including complimentary bottled water). The location is not bad at all. The price for all this including a complimentary continental type breakfast was exceptionally good. BUT DO NOT expect to find for this price - a hilton! It is a motel, so the privacy is limited (the door is opening right outside, very thin walls) etc. The only concern was the smoke in the non-smoking rooms. We were offered 2 different rooms to try, and the difference was very small. But this is more the problem with the customers, than with the management. I remember one time we faced the same problem staying in Downtown Hilton in Boston, regardless my husband's H Honers membership, and the booked supposedly non-smoking room, as the hotel was sold out and there was nothing else to offer to us at 10pm when we arrived there. Here, at Knight Inn we turned on air condition and had to open the door for an hour or so and after that it was bearable to sleep at night.
...Somebody mentioned cockroaches. Welcome to Florida! Cockroaches live here outside: they are called "palm bugs". I am sure they won't be able to make it to the ninth floor of a Hilton, but if if the doors of the rooms open outside, there is no surprise at all, you can find one, quickly crawled up through the door. We have terminex service at home every month, sometimes 2-3 times in a month, and occasionally I find one or two "dead bodies" inside the house/garage/patio after the treatment. In many cases in Florida living spaces this is not because of a mess, this is mother nature right at your feet!
There is a swimming pool in this hotel, and I saw kids swimming there. I guess it is fine too, as it looked clean.
As a budget inn it may be called almost exemplary, IF NOT FOR THE SMOKE SMELL.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms might offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Sarasota

Address: 5340 North Tamiami Trail, (US 41), Sarasota, FL 34234
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Sarasota 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarasota Florida Hotel Ideal Location:Make the most of your trip to the Sunshine State at Knights Inn Sarasota hotel. Conveniently located on Route 41 the Tamiami Trail, our hotel near Sarasota-Bradenton International Airport offers easy access to downtown and beachfront living on Siesta Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.