We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Knights Inn Sarasota to your Saves list
Knights Inn Sarasota
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   5340 North Tamiami Trail, (US 41), Sarasota, FL 34234   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Young Harris, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We recently spent two nights at this motel and were very pleased with the stay. Those looking for elaborate accommodations may not be satisfied but those such as we who are just looking for a clean and comfortable room with good beds and a good television should be pleased. The owner and other staff were available and helpful when needed with the owner being very helpful in trying to correct a problem in claiming Wyndham Rewards Points. The location seemed to be very safe and convenient to both Sarasota and Bradenton. Under the unique circumstances of our visit, we did not partake of the breakfast but it appeared at a glance to be adequate and tasty. We would highly recommend the motel for anyone looking for clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced lodging.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    87
    23
    6
    18
See reviews for
35
75
19
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gautier, Mississippi
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
653 helpful votes 653 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We just need a clean and convenient place for the night when visiting Sarasota Boat Works and this property is perfect It is a Knights Inn, but it's clean! Really! The owner was not very appreciative of the business and this may have been secondary to booking with Wyndham Rewards points. The breakfast is tiny but sufficient.

Room Tip: Expect no extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. We chose it because of the price and good reviews it had received and were not disappointed. Our room was a bit run down, but very clean and comfortable. The Keurig coffee maker and bottled water provided were a big plus. Breakfast was fresh. The owners who are always on the premises are friendly and helpful and responsive to requests. The biggest drawback was having to make an illegal U-turn to enter the drive from the other side of Route 41.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed one quick night in this motel when going to the Warm Mineral Springs (did not want to stay out in the sticks as wanted to have some night life nearby, but were not willing to pay more than the possible minimum). So this one popped up with good reviews and very nice price.The service in this place was friendly, the location was good (right by the airport and withing 5 min drive from Downtown Sarasota), the room was of a nice size and METICULOUSLY cleaned, the walls in the room and bathroom are recently repaired/painted/refurbished, the bed was very comfortable, the furniture was not new but in a good condition and arrangement of the room in colors and styles was not irritating, everything useful was there in the room: a fridge, a microwave, an iron, a hair dryer, etc (in other words; everything, that you would regularly expect to find in a nice hotel, including complimentary bottled water). The location is not bad at all. The price for all this including a complimentary continental type breakfast was exceptionally good. BUT DO NOT expect to find for this price - a hilton! It is a motel, so the privacy is limited (the door is opening right outside, very thin walls) etc. The only concern was the smoke in the non-smoking rooms. We were offered 2 different rooms to try, and the difference was very small. But this is more the problem with the customers, than with the management. I remember one time we faced the same problem staying in Downtown Hilton in Boston, regardless my husband's H Honers membership, and the booked supposedly non-smoking room, as the hotel was sold out and there was nothing else to offer to us at 10pm when we arrived there. Here, at Knight Inn we turned on air condition and had to open the door for an hour or so and after that it was bearable to sleep at night.
...Somebody mentioned cockroaches. Welcome to Florida! Cockroaches live here outside: they are called "palm bugs". I am sure they won't be able to make it to the ninth floor of a Hilton, but if if the doors of the rooms open outside, there is no surprise at all, you can find one, quickly crawled up through the door. We have terminex service at home every month, sometimes 2-3 times in a month, and occasionally I find one or two "dead bodies" inside the house/garage/patio after the treatment. In many cases in Florida living spaces this is not because of a mess, this is mother nature right at your feet!
There is a swimming pool in this hotel, and I saw kids swimming there. I guess it is fine too, as it looked clean.
As a budget inn it may be called almost exemplary, IF NOT FOR THE SMOKE SMELL.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms might offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We would stay in this hotel again when in Sarasota! This small hotel was very comfortable, clean and so convenient to beaches, downtown, island hopping and general sightseeing. The staff was helpful, the beds and pillows were comfy, some remodeling has been done, and the rooms even had Keurig coffee makers, which was a really nice touch! We also appreciated the soft towels on the first night. They offer a continental breakfast if you wish to grab something on the go. If you are looking for a great room at an affordable price, you will not be disappointed with Knights Inn Sarasota.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This small hotel is clean, quiet and convenient to either downtown or the airport and very reasonably priced, even during the high season. The rooms have been recently redone - new paint, carpets, furniture, bedding, etc. The linens were spotless and our king room had a comfy bed, good sized frig, microwave, table and chairs, sofa and coffee table. We picked up take out food and saved the left overs for the next day. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful and the coffee and bagel's were fresh. The continental breakfast had several other nice items as well. We will certainly stay there again and have already told others about it. It's a challenge to maintain older properties but Mr. Patel is doing a good job and stands out in the economy/budget class.

Room Tip: Our room was 2nd fl, facing the street but was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Excellent Value and great service Mr. Patel was always there to say hello and make sure everything was going well. Very Pleasant experience. very close to airport and easy access to all Sarasota has to offer. I would highly recommend Knights Inn in Sarasota and plan on coming back in October

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvin_Patel_07472, Owner at Knights Inn Sarasota, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
It was a pleasure having you stay with us I am most glad that you liked our hotel staff and location and hope to see you back in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Sarasota

Address: 5340 North Tamiami Trail, (US 41), Sarasota, FL 34234
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Sarasota 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarasota Florida Hotel Ideal Location:Make the most of your trip to the Sunshine State at Knights Inn Sarasota hotel. Conveniently located on Route 41 the Tamiami Trail, our hotel near Sarasota-Bradenton International Airport offers easy access to downtown and beachfront living on Siesta Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Knights Inn Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.