We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough looking, but served us well.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Sarasota

Save Saved
You added Knights Inn Sarasota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Sarasota
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   5340 North Tamiami Trail, (US 41), Sarasota, FL 34234   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 48 hotels in Sarasota
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Rough looking, but served us well.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Easy check-in, with warm pleasant staff. Pretty good location—short drive to downtown, near restaurants, museums and airport. The room was a little rough looking and outdated with poor lighting and very few power outlets, but had everything we needed: wifi, safe, mini fridge, coffee maker. The King bed was comfortable, but the blanket was not large enough. Fortunately the room temperature did not require much bed covering. Housekeeping was responsive to requests for water and coffee, I am sure if I asked, they would have provided another blanket. The pool area was clean and pleasant. Would have liked to use the guest laundry but the washer had been left with soggy pillow fluff, (I think) so I did not use it. Once I got used to the rough look, I found it very pleasant. We stayed a week and I would come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knightsinnsarasota, Webmaster at Knights Inn Sarasota, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Knights Inn for your stay and we are glad that you found your stay and our hospitality satisfactory.

Even then we are paying serious attention to the points for improvement as mentioned in the review.

We are committed to give an extra ordinary experience to all our guests.

We look forward to welcome you again to our Inn very soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    86
    23
    6
    17
See reviews for
35
73
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta Ga
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a hard time finding any vacancies in Sarasota for our trip, so decided to give the Knights Inn a try considering that we wouldn't be in the room much, the Trip Advisor ratings looked pretty good and the price was below $100. Things didn't get off to a good start when they gave us a smoking room and said that was all they had. I don't reserve smoking rooms, but apparently the was a "mix-up". The room positively reeked of stale smoke and air freshener, actually making it hard to breath. The good news was, that was the worst of it. Yes, the bed was worn out, the towels were thin and shower water temperature was impossible to regulate. None of that was unexpected, and none of that was a deal-breaker - it's a low-end hotel in a high-price area. The little breakfast in the office was a very nice touch. If they had given me a non-smoking room it might have all balanced out: price and location vs run-down hotel. But that didn't happen, and both of us came home ill from breathing the bad air. I'm not sure how the reservation got messed up, but it leaves me a little suspect of both Knights Inn and Wyndham (parent company) in general and I'll be very careful next time I reserve anything from them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knightsinnsarasota, Webmaster at Knights Inn Sarasota, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us during your last visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and really worry how the mess could happen.

Nevertheless, our heartfelt apologies for the inconveniences about the stay.

We have taken corrective measures to avoid such incidences in future which you can check and confirm.

Thanks for liking the breakfast and we assure a best stay next time.

Please do consider visiting the Knights Inn again and have a new experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed a couple nights at this hotel. Overall our experience was good. The room was clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel is a bit rundown however...our toilet didn't always flush on the first try,the water temperature of the shower reached scalding temperatures, and the lights in the bathroom would at times not turn on. The free breakfast was pretty small. It included bagles, toast, English muffins, coffee, juice, and bananas. It was a convenient location to most of the popular sights.For the price, overall it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked only one night....and that's a blessing. We chose it for its location as we wanted to spend a fun night on Paddys Day on Main St Sarasota...with all its bars and restaurants. Not much else available on short notice so we picked this place. I didn't expect a lot at the low $77.00 per night rate .
Front desk were friendly and the room was clean .....but it's badly in need of repairs and a renovation. The air condition was old and rusty , Bathroom had a poor plaster job all around the lights and part of the wall...it smelled musty too. Didn't sleep all night...too dingy for me. Not sure why dogs are not allowed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knightsinnsarasota, Webmaster at Knights Inn Sarasota, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Knights Inn during your last visit to our area.

We appreciate for taking the time to post a review which would definitely help us to improve.

Glad that you liked the hospitality of the front desk and the cleanliness.

We have noted and taken steps to improve the amenities and also renovation is on the cards.

Next time, please visit us once again and you can surely feel the change.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I'm a single mother with a son-teenager. We are staying in this hotel second time. Our last time we had a few complaints about the hotel, but still wanted to come back next time. Well, this time is awesome! Plus it's still good location - easy to get in and out, plus very close to I-75 to get, it's very useful for come drivers who are not very confident, like me! ))) Then still same nice friendly staff, I believe it's a family business. Very close to Ringling Museum, which I like so much. So DEFINITELY next will stay here - no doubts!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Room seemed newly painted and furnished, large and comfortable with small fridge and micro. Continental breakfast was picked up in the reception area and taken back to ones room. That seems to be the norm for some of the independent motels.

We found no light switch near the door so we had to walk into the room in the dark to turn on a lamp. Thewre were 3 lamps in the room and they gave such poor lighting that it was difficult to read in bed or any other place. The airconditioner functioned but the top grate was rusted off and rusty metal and dirt was accumulated in the air conditioner.

There was a hair dryer and safe in the room. When we got the bill I saw a charge of $1.50 for misc. per day. We were told it was for the safe. They did not tell us about this charge when we checked in. The room was basically cleanand comfortable with clean carpets.The independent hotels seem to have cleaner carpets than the chains of the same price class. Perhaps it is because the independents are newer. It was a perfectly OK motel for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knightsinnsarasota, Webmaster at Knights Inn Sarasota, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Knights Inn for your stay and we are glad that you found your stay satisfactory.

We have taken prompt actions for improvement as mentioned in the review especially the lighting and amenities like air conditioner.

Glad that you found the cleanliness and carpets up to the mark.

We are committed to give an extra ordinary experience to all our guests.

We look forward to welcome you again to our Inn very soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We decided to visit the Siesta Key area spur of the moment March 2013 staying 4 nights. Older motel but clean and spotless. Excellent hospitality by management and staff. They make every effort to go over and beyond to make sure your stay is what it should be without being a nuisance. Our bed was very comfortable and clean. We were just minutes away from beautiful Siesta Key Beach with half the price for lodging. I highly recommend Knight's Inn if you are looking to save money but desire a clean, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Sarasota

Address: 5340 North Tamiami Trail, (US 41), Sarasota, FL 34234
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 48 hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Sarasota 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarasota Florida Hotel Ideal Location:Make the most of your trip to the Sunshine State at Knights Inn Sarasota hotel. Conveniently located on Route 41 the Tamiami Trail, our hotel near Sarasota-Bradenton International Airport offers easy access to downtown and beachfront living on Siesta Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Knights Inn Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Knights Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.