We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service is worth the not-so-great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8009 15 Street East, Sarasota, FL 34243   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Greenville, NC
1 review
“Wonderful service is worth the not-so-great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Completely new (fabuolous beds and tvs). Marshall, the hotel rep, was fantastic. I was in town for a wedding. They made my airport pickups easy and hassel free. Everyone was so nice. It even has that fragrance therapy thing going on in the lobby--not my thing, but definitely trying to be swank.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    89
    22
    16
    6
See reviews for
69
80
25
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brentwood, tn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

I travel for a living and stay at hotels all around the world. This property was very comfortable, well maintained and the staff was exceptionally pleasant and helpful. Hotels like this all have one thing in common; well managed. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

It's a nice enough place... clean, spacious, friendly. It's pretty quiet even though it is adjacent to the airport - definitely no sounds of late night planes near this small airport. The only issue is it is remote. A few businesses nearby but nothing of note. They do have a restaurant which is good because there's nothing else nearby.

If you can get a great deal, book it. Otherwise, keep looking.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Our stay was over the evening of October 19-20. Despite the fact that we checked-in early in the afternoon, the hotel staff was more than accommodating in getting us settled in our rooms in a very timely manner. I had some work to do in the room that required that I receive some faxes. Marshall, the young man that checked us in, went out of his way to ensure that I received them just moments after they arrived. The restaurant, recommended to us by an associate, did not disappoint. Craig, the bartender/waiter, was upbeat and jovial, and he attended to us at a very comfortable pace. We did not feel rushed, nor did we wait for an inordinate amount of time for orders. He handled the customers with grace and aplomb. We had requested a late check-out because of our airline departure schedule, and once again, Marshall came through for us, re-coded our keys for the "after 11:00 am" period, and simply helped us to have as smooth a transition of Sarasota hotel, any hotel actually, as possible. When I did go to the lobby to check-out, there was a lady ahead of me conducting business with another Front Desk Representative. Marshall was in the atrium area helping to arrange the floor for their first anniversary celebration that evening (I wish I could have stayed!). When he saw me waiting to turn-in the key, he stopped what he was doing, came over to the front desk and handled my departure completely on his own initiative. This particular Holiday Inn is a showplace for both the physical plant, as well as the entire staff that knows the meaning of hospitality and practices it to the fullest. I recommended the place to the fellows arriving that afternoon to replace us in our duties. I trust that they were as impressed as I with the experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hisrqgm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
Thank you so very much for your review of the holiday Inn sarasota airport. We appreciate your business and proud to be serving you. Marshal and the rest of the team are so excited to hear these positive comments from you.
Best Regards
Mohammad Gharavi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

I travel about 15 weeks out of the year and have stayed in anywhere from 2 star to 4 star hotels. I originally booked this unit on Hotwire and saw it was a Holiday Inn and was a little concerned. Upon arriving, all I could say was WOW! I found it was NOTHING like a Holiday Inn it was more of a Hyatt Place on Steriods!

The front desk is very friendly, you may meet Jamie and Nadine which took very good care of me on my ck in. I then looked left into the open atrium open which has beautiful glass balconies,the color scheme flows very well with the south beach decor,it even has a large restaurant/ bar with big screens everywhere and unbeIievable food! Jimmy, the main bar tender is so good the locals stop by to say HI....good guy. You may also meet Jessica or Aubrey to serve you.

This place is more of a family atmoshere not a "dry" hotel. it literally has everything a family or business traveler would need..free wireless in the rooms, a GREAT gym not a rinky dink gym like most hotels, wet and dry sauna with indoor pool, outside sitting area off the pool and restaurant, free parking, and laudry machines on each floor. Hotwire states this is a 3 star hotel I would say not at all it is at least a 3.5 star at a minmum, this hotel in another other location would be 50% higher. take advantage of the low rates this is a GREAT FIND for travelers that are budget conscious that wants a very nice place to stay. enjoy!

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

This hotel revives the atrium design of the late 1960's, complete with glass- enclosed elevators floating up and down one wall. But from here on, the concept unravels.

The color scheme is mildly disturbing: Fuschia, mustard, turquoise, purple, and rust assert themselves in stripes, circles and bubbles on the carpet. LED lights play on the atrium walls in neon colors fading from blue to pink to green.

Furniture in the atrium lobby is oversized and angular; if it could talk it would say, “Reserved for giants only.”

Rooms are on display to anyone standing on the same level on the opposite side of the atrium whenever entering or exiting the room.

Problems with the room:

There was a smell like burning hair coming from the A/C when we arrived in the room. When we called the desk we were reassured there was no cause for alarm; it had been a problem off and on since the hotel opened.

On our bed were two pairs of pillows. Although one pair was labeled “firm” and the other was labeled “soft,” there was no difference whatsoever! It would be accurate, however, to describe them as “lumpy.”

The comforter was tucked in at the foot of the bed and folded back, but when we unfolded it, it covered only 2/3 of the bed - a new twist on short-sheeting.

The sheets had a suspiciously slippery feel. On inspection, their tags revealed a content of 45% polyester.

In the bathroom, the space-grabbing, top-mounted vessel sink left little room for toiletries. There was not tub, only a large, walk-in shower.

The toilet tissue holder was mounted inconveniently far back on the side of the sink cabinet.

Noise:

During the early part of the evening, strange female vocalizations emanated from the vent in the bathroom. From midnight until 3am, we were repeatedly awakened by sounds of laughing and shrieking from guests around the fire pit, five stories below our window. Around 4am, we were awakened by a series of loud crashes, this time above us, as if a large adult was jumping off the bed. Or dropping weights!

Our stay at this hotel was strangely disorienting; we were relieved to drive away.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hisrqgm, Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Thank you so much for your comments, we have been open in this location for about a year and have had numerous accolades and awards for our modern and organic design and colors. I will certainly forward your comments to our interior designers to consider in future projects. Following are some recent comments made in the media about holiday Inn Sarasota airport.
• A six-story atrium that reaches to the roof of the building acsented with a story tall waterfall.
• An indoor pool with a nearby sauna and steam room. The pool is also connected to a spa that offers everything from massages and facials to manicures and pedicures.
• A South Beach-themed outdoor dining and bar area with a fire pit and a cigar humidor. “We wanted to bring South Beach here without the beach,”
• At least five family suites, each of which has a second room for kids decked out with bunk beds and a video game player to go with the 37-inch high-def TV set.
• Custom-made bathroom mirrors with specialized lights in every guest room. Finally, the hotel restaurant is an upgrade over the traditional airport hotel eatery. Run by well-known local chef Darrell Mizell, it includes chairs made out of basketball material and nine 50-inch high-def TV sets. Mizell was the executive chef of the Summerhouse Restaurant on Longboat Key and has worked for several other local hotspots.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

I stayed at this hotel just so I could go eat at a local restaurant. My husband and I picked this hotel just for the indoor pool. We went to the pool and my kids got sick from the overuse of cholorine. I told the front desk my daughter got physically sick and they didn't care or ask where (if they had to clean it up). My husband and son started to cough so bad they had to go outside to get fresh air. My contacts started to burn in my eyes. I called and complained and no-one called me back to check on our health. If you are choosing this hotel for the pool DON'T!
I will admit the rooms were very nice and the restaurant had good food (you pay alot for a little food though).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport

Address: 8009 15 Street East, Sarasota, FL 34243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sarasota
#7 Business Hotel in Sarasota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sarasota Bradenton Airport is a 135 room premier boutique hotel in the heart of Sarasota and Bradenton. Chic, contemporary decor, and an unsurpassed range of amenities, it is ideal for sophisticated business and leisure travelers.The Holiday Inn Sarasota Bradenton Airport Restaurant and Lounge features dining al fresco under the blue skies and exquisite cuisine, deliciously created. The rooms and suites are spacious, state-of-the-art amenities such as 36" flat-panel TV and free Wi-Fi. The Holiday Inn Sarasota Bradenton Airport offers exceptional event facilities for groups of 10 to 200, enjoy convenient access to venues of Sarasota and Bradenton. Relax in our indoor pool or work-out in our fitness facility. Explore the best from golf, shopping at St Armands Circle, restaurants and the beautiful white sandy beaches of Siesta Key, Lido Beach, Longboat Key and Anna Maria Island. Hotel is adjacent to the Sarasota Bradenton International Convention Center and attractions such as: Ringling Museum of Art, Asolo Theatre, VanWezel Performing Arts, & Mote Marine. Located within a few miles of University of South Florida, New College, and Ringling College of Art. Neighboring corporate offices are: Sun Hydraulics, Honeywell, Chris Craft, Pierce Manufacturing, Rectrix Air, Volo Air, Dolphin Aviation, Siemens, and Lockheed Martin. We guarantee you will have an memorable experience, that will meet and exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.