We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel at budget price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8009 15 Street East, Sarasota, FL 34243   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel at budget price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is like a boutique hotel at budget prices. The rooms are very well thought out albeit small. This hotel has the most number of electrical outlets that I've seen in any hotel! No issues with recharging iPods/iPhones/iPads or other electrical devices, which is greatly appreciated! Room also has a small refrigerator which is helpful. Staff are responsive, we asked for a quiet room and staff the person who checked us in made sure that this was what we got. The pool is an indoor pool, which is a tad different for this part of Florida. The biggest drawback is that this hotel is at the back end of the airport, not the best part of the airport area but you're minutes away from Sarasota and all the choice you could wish for. If this is the new model holiday inn, the future of this chain should be bright.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    75
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
61
70
23
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Holiday Inn at Sarasota Airport is a great place for a quick getaway in Sarasota. Located near the airport, it was central to food and shopping along University Drive. Also a few miles from the downtown shopping and dining areas and about 30 minutes so Siesta Key beach, St. Armand’s Circle and Lido Beach. Although next to the airport, the area is very quiet. We only heard two jets take off in our three days there. Upon entering the hotel, there is a grand atrium of six stories. The carpeting and modern décor was very colorful. There is a coffee shop, restaurant and sports bar located off the main atrium. We noticed that the hotel smelled very nice in the public areas and also in our room. We had a king one bedroom suite that was modern and well appointed. The bed was comfy, lots of closet space, good ac and bright fluorescent lighting where needed. Even the sofa and chairs were comfy. The WiFi was easy to access and worked very well. We enjoyed the large channel selection on the two large flat screen TV’s in our room. We also enjoyed the pool, hot tub, steam room and sauna. There was a nice sitting area outside the pool and they have a “fire pit” gas bon fire lit outside the restaurant. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed our stay. For comfort and convenience to all Sarasota has to offer, this hotel should be high on the list. We will be back.

Room Tip: King suites provide alot of room, fridge and microwave. Rooms away from the atrium might be a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

This hotel was incredible for the price! I stayed here in December before Christmas for 2 days on a government rate. The bathroom had 3 (yes 3!) electrical sockets for both my husband's and my various appliances. The restaurant was incredible - breakfast eggs benedict, dinner pizza and Philly cheesesteaks, and the soup - OMG! The business center was open 24 hours. The fitness equipment was brand new. The decor was contemporary, but not cheap - very good quality! The room was comfortable, and very quiet. It is located practically next to the airport, but it seems like only half a dozen planes take off per day! One downside - no safe in the room and none behind the front desk. But the manager offered to keep our computer in his safe for us. The outside firepits were surrounded by huge couches and relaxing there was nice. Great bar with many tvs. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: rooms facing front parking lot don't hear the planes take off - almost all rooms open out to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have been staying at this hotel since Dec 2009. They have maintained the property really well which is new to begin with. The bar is very welcoming and the outside fireplace is a very unique idea. I enjoy the property every time I stay here since it is next door to the Airport and very centrally located.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I suggest staying away from IHG Hotels and their Priority Club. I stayed at this hotel as a result of an promotion I signed up for called "NEXT STAY BONUS". That was supposed to give me extra "points" for this stay. When I discovered that I was not awarded the points as promised, my contacts to the Priority Club member services were met with smugness and total disrespect for me as a long-standing customer. This company is not reputable and should not be in business any longer. I'm now avoiding Holiday Inn and all other brands associated with IHG" hotel group. The worst offender from this customer service was a smug agent named Joan Barredo. She will just brush you off as she represents the standards of IGH.

Room Tip: Find another brand of hotel, and not one owned by IHG.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I unexpectedly needed a room for a night while travelling with my small dog. I frankly had always thought of Holiday Inn as a budget hotel, and I did in fact receive a very reasonable room rate. But both the lobby and the room of THIS hotel is comparable to any four-star hotel. Beautiful, clean, super comfortable. Extremely friendly staff. And very reasonable restaurant prices. A well-lit parking lot made me feel safe walking my dog at night. I was sorry that I could only stay one night!

Room Tip: Because I was travelling with my dog, I was happy to have a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Great hotel, staff were well trained, polite and very helpful with the in-house provided transport a big plus as well.
Room was very clean, well appointed and had plenty of space ( upgraded with Plat. status ), bed and pillows crisp, plump and very comfortable - plenty of towels and great shower.
What I really liked with all the gadgets and things that need power were the numerous 110VAC sockets around the room - nice job.
Bar/food is open till late so my evening arrival was not a problem and only a couple of miles from SRQ airport is a bonus.
Have business in the Sarasota area so will definetly be back and reccomend.

Room Tip: Right on the airport, so watch for plane take-off noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport

Address: 8009 15 Street East, Sarasota, FL 34243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sarasota
#8 Business Hotel in Sarasota
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sarasota Bradenton Airport is a 135 room premier boutique hotel in the heart of Sarasota and Bradenton. Chic, contemporary decor, and an unsurpassed range of amenities, it is ideal for sophisticated business and leisure travelers.The Holiday Inn Sarasota Bradenton Airport Restaurant and Lounge features dining al fresco under the blue skies and exquisite cuisine, deliciously created. The rooms and suites are spacious, state-of-the-art amenities such as 36" flat-panel TV and free Wi-Fi. The Holiday Inn Sarasota Bradenton Airport offers exceptional event facilities for groups of 10 to 200, enjoy convenient access to venues of Sarasota and Bradenton. Relax in our indoor pool or work-out in our fitness facility. Explore the best from golf, shopping at St Armands Circle, restaurants and the beautiful white sandy beaches of Siesta Key, Lido Beach, Longboat Key and Anna Maria Island. Hotel is adjacent to the Sarasota Bradenton International Convention Center and attractions such as: Ringling Museum of Art, Asolo Theatre, VanWezel Performing Arts, & Mote Marine. Located within a few miles of University of South Florida, New College, and Ringling College of Art. Neighboring corporate offices are: Sun Hydraulics, Honeywell, Chris Craft, Pierce Manufacturing, Rectrix Air, Volo Air, Dolphin Aviation, Siemens, and Lockheed Martin. We guarantee you will have an memorable experience, that will meet and exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.