We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parasailing Was a Blast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siesta Key Parasailing and Jet Ski

Siesta Key Parasailing and Jet Ski
1265 Old Stickney Point Road, Sarasota, FL 34242
941-586-1972
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 130 Activities in Sarasota
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are located at the Siesta Key Marina. It's the large light blue building on the southwest corner of the Stickney Point bridge.(where the boats are stacked three high) Right next to CB's Saltwater Outfitters. Behind Captain Kurt's restaurant.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Parasailing Was a Blast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

My niece and I had a fun time. The captain and first mate made sure she had fun. We were glad we were the second set to go up because there was a malfunction with the rope bringing the third set back to the boat, but that couple didn't mind. We all had fun.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    7
    2
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
571 reviews 571 reviews
211 attraction reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
368 helpful votes 368 helpful votes
“Parasailing isn't for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

If you are afraid of heights, parasailing isn't for you. But to enjoy a day in the sun, chartering a boat along the Gulf of Mexico off Sarasota and Siesta Kay or taking an exciting ride on a jet ski are worth the hefty price. It's one way to see dolphins in their native habitat, even a rare Manatee or sea turtle. And if you are a risk-taker, take a swim in the Gulf of Mexico--about three miles offshore. If you don't want to parasail, charter a boat for two hours and explore the area and its waterways. Parasailing is like standing at the top of our 26-floor condominium and looking at the little people walking below. I can't imagine someone strapping himself in a chair and gliding 1,000 feet above the water in a parachute while a boat takes them along the coastline and beyond. It looks exciting. It must be thrilling to lift off the back of the boat, soar into the blue sky, then be lowered to give your feet a dip in the ocean, then rise up again to a point where you can't see the faces of the people on the beach below. Jet skiing is another thing altogether. Just a few days before we concluded our recent Florida vacation, it was reported that two people were killed when their jet skis collided. These aren't bicycles. They are powerful machines that look like racing boats when they get to full speed. You are supposed to be trained before being permitted to drive a jet ski--like earning a driver's license before being allowed to drive a car--but I've seen jet skiers pull up to the beach and let friends or family hop on. From what I have seen, the staff at Siesta Key Parasailing and Jet Ski on Old Stickney Point Road are very professional and know what they are doing. Safety first. But they also give you a good time for your buck.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Money well spent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We are from Ohio on a much needed family vacation. With two 13 year old boys and a 10 year old girl, we wanted to do something exciting as a family. And parasailing it was!!! We were a little taken aback by the prices at first, but once the trip was said and done, we knew it was money well spent. The staff were all great and professional in their positions. We started our adventure with Brian taking us out to meet up with the two parasailing boats. Brian was great and funny, and even stopped the boat on the way back in for us all to see dolphins that were in the bay. We transferred to a boat with Richard and Shawn, and they were AWESOME!!! Very nice, funny, and safe guys that did a great job. The group of people that were with on the boat were just as excited as we were to parasail, and were a lot of fun themselves. We all had great flights and Richard and Shawn were polite and very safe in the whole process it took to get one harnessed, clamped to the parachute, in flight, and back to the boat. After everyone from our group had flown, we had extra time before we had to transfer back to the original boat. Richard stopped the boat and allowed everyone to take a swim in the Gulf. Our kids LOVED this!!!!! Richard even collected sand dollars for them to take home. Once we were done playing, we transferred back to the original boat and were taken back to the main office. We had a blast on this trip and felt the tips were much deserved to the whole crew. We will def be back to parasail with these guys. But before we leave Florida, we will be renting jet skis from them, and I expect nothing but a good experience from the staff again!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just married first adventure together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This place was awesome :) From the time we checked in until the time we paid to leave it was nothing but friendly,funny, and comfortable service. Me and my wife and Aunt went together. Beautiful sites to see,also very relaxing. I recommend getting the pictures. It's amazing seeing how high in the air you are. Played great genre of music, offered beverages. 5 out of 5

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good parasailing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

You get taken in a boat to the parasailing boat. The guy that took us was rude, I thought he was taking us parasailing, glad he didn't.
The 2 guys that took us parasailing were amazing. Funny guys and very nice. I'm not sure there names but both blond hair and look like brothers. The kids loved their trip and saw dolphins and sting rays while in the air. Tons of kids went and It was fun and safe. Plan for at least 3 hours to go. The boat ride to the parasailing boat is about 20 minutes then 15 minutes per couple that wants to go. Then you wait for the boat to come back to get you.
The only thing I didn't like was the boat guy who picked us up to take us back hands us the pay slip and tells us to tick off what percentage tip we want to add to our bill. Let us tip the drivers ourselves. I felt very awkward while he sat beside me asking what I was tipping.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siesta Key Parasailing and Jet Ski also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Siesta Key Parasailing and Jet Ski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siesta Key Parasailing and Jet Ski, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.