We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a real jungle out there;-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarasota Jungle Gardens

Sarasota Jungle Gardens
3701 Bay Shore Road, Sarasota, FL 34234
941-355-5305
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 88 Attractions in Sarasota
Type: Gardens, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An Old Florida attraction since 1939, Sarasota Jungle Gardens allows visitors to experience things you won't find anywhere else. Feed free-roaming flamingos, watch parrots ride bicycles, catch lemurs at play, stare down a vulture, or pet a skunk. Be sure to visit the Flamingo Cafe for a refreshing lunch or snack. Enjoy one or more of our acclaimed animal shows. Annual events include Holiday Lights, select nights in December, and Jungle Trails and Bunny Tails, every year on Good Friday.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It is a real jungle out there;-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We wanted to take a break from all the sightseeing and just relax around in Sarasota. We picked the Gardens and it was a good decision. Kids loved it. We even got scared during the reptile show when a trainer was having a hard time to handle one of his gators. Its tail whacked the trainer's back and You could tell that hurt him a lot.
They had a very interesting parrot show. We could not believe that one of those parrots was over 40 years old and still doing tricks.
The best part for my kids was feeding flamingos and fish in the pond.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    137
    37
    14
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Animals, Gardens & Flamingoes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

In 3 or 4 hours, you can walk thru 10 beautiful acres of tropical gardens, watch 3 educational presentations (Birds of Prey, Reptiles, & Entertaining Parrots), see Alligators & Crocodiles, feed the flamingoes, play on the playground & have lunch. The well marked paths are easy to navigate & provides lots of shade in hot weather. Stroller & wheelchair friendly. See ring-tailed lemurs, snakes, turtles, etc. Kid friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Smelly...those poor animals”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The kids didn't notice the smell, but we did after paying "a small fortune" to go in. Although the kids enjoyed the bird show, I would never take the kids there if I knew the animals looked so pathetic. We are tourists and I should have stayed with going to the beach...pristine and clean! The grounds are pretty but we found out later that there are many BEAUTIFUL parks for families in Sarasota. We'll come back to Sarasota but not "Jungle gardens"

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exciting for all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I enjoyed feeding the flamingos, turtles and fishes. The pathways lead you to peaceful gardens and interesting animals. I even had my picture taken with a beautiful parrot.A very interesting and enjoyable day! A great place for children of all ages.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A nice place, and a nice time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We visited the Jungle Gardens this weekend, when our previous plans fell through. The wildlife shows (birds and reptiles) were very informative, and offered the opportunity to encounter the animals up close and personal - in a safe and supervised environment.

The weather was very hot (94 degrees) when we visited, but the shaded paths were still pleasant despite the heat. The animals appear happy and well cared-for. There is also a petting zoo area and a chance to feed flamingos, ducks and fish some approved 'flamingo pellets'.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarasota Jungle Gardens also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sarasota Jungle Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarasota Jungle Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.