We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun day visiting the garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarasota Jungle Gardens

Sarasota Jungle Gardens
3701 Bay Shore Road, Sarasota, FL 34234
941-355-5305
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 126 things to do in Sarasota
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An Old Florida attraction since 1939, Sarasota Jungle Gardens allows visitors to experience things you won't find anywhere else. Feed free-roaming flamingos, watch parrots ride bicycles, catch lemurs at play, stare down a vulture, or pet a skunk. Be sure to visit the Flamingo Cafe for a refreshing lunch or snack. Enjoy one or more of our acclaimed animal shows. Annual events include Holiday Lights, select nights in December, and Jungle Trails and Bunny Tails, every year on Good Friday.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fun day visiting the garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My friend and I visited the garden yesterday and had a wonderful day. The highlight for me was the flamingos. I loved hand feeding them and watching their interaction with one another. The grounds were clean, the shows were very informative and the staff running the shows were very friendly and knew their stuff! I enjoyed my day very much and plan on returning soon. My grand daughter will love it here!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    174
    43
    16
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sarasota, florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A waste of time and money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The park MIGHT have been fun in the 40's or 50's but it is so run down and smelly, we left only have a short time. they call if a zoo, but the Society for crueltry to animals should do do something about the living conditions. All of us felt sorry for the dirty creatures. We loved the Sarasota area, but this was a major disappointment .Save your money and go to the beach.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Reptile house depressing. Alligators in poor enclosure. Birds in small cages. Parrot show unimpressive, with over-cheery presenter. Paths turning tortuously back on themselves to give the impression of a bigger attraction. All in all not a great experience but if you are bored and want to pay the rather high entrance fee then it's not too bad a way of spending a few hours.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“This is Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Think jungles and alligators and cheesy touristy things! It's great. You get to get close up and handle reptiles which is a thrill for most. The bird show is amazing and it's a great place to picnic. There are flamingos. Food is OK. If you're religious, there is a great diorama of Jesus's life. Best of all, it's not way out in the boondocks. It is hot during summer but not as hot as places inland.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The animals were happy, clean and well kept. The birdshow was utterly delightful for my 7 year old. The trail was beautiful and cool on a hot summer day. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly, and had great relationships with the animals. This was not a 'zoo' that made you sad for the animals- we got to feed flamingos, learned about alligators, and the concessions inside were reasonably priced. We ended up spending an entire day just relaxing and enjoying the park.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarasota Jungle Gardens also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sarasota Jungle Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarasota Jungle Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.