We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asolo Repertory Theatre

Asolo Repertory Theatre
5555 N. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34243
+1 941-351-8000
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Asolo Repertory Theatre, Florida's premier professional theatre, is one of the most important cultural forces in the Southeastern United States. A center for theatrical excellence, Asolo Rep stages up to 10 productions every season, spanning a diverse repertoire of newly commissioned plays, bold reinterpretations of contemporary and classical works, and provocative new musical theatre experiences. Asolo Rep is a major force in Sarasota's rich arts scene, whose quality and depth rivals some of the largest urban centers in the country. Asolo Rep is annually the creative home of more than 100 artists, technical craftsmen, and administrative staff. Its talented and accomplished resident acting company is complemented by top flight, award-winning directors, designers, and guest artists who come to Sarasota from around the country and around the world. Under the dynamic leadership of Producing Artistic Director Michael Donald Edwards and Managing Director Linda DiGabriele, more than 100,000 patrons are drawn each year to the theatre's rotating repertory season. In its role as the largest professional not-for-profit theatre in the U.S. south of Atlanta, Asolo Rep serves as a springboard for successful productions to travel to Broadway and other regional theatres throughout the country. 2015 Season: January 6-April 11 "The Matchmaker" By Thornton Wilder | Directed by Peter Amster January 14-March 1 "Good People" By David Lindsay-Abaire | Directed by Greg Leaming January 21-April 12 "Both Your Houses" By Maxwell Anderson | Directed by Frank Galati March 11-April 19 "Our Betters" by W. Somerset Maugham | Directed by Michael Donald Edwards March 31-April 26 "Sotto Voce" By Nilo Cruz | Directed by Melissa Kievman April 28-May 24 "Luck Be A Lady: The Iconic Music of Frank Loesser" Conceived and directed by Gordon Greenberg May 30-June 21 "Woody Sez: The Life and Music of Woody Guthrie" Directed by Nick Corley | Devised by David M. Lutken with Nick Corley and Darcie Deaville, Helen J. Russell, and Andy Teirstein
Traverse City MI
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

nice gift shop too....bought a pair of earrings I get frequent compliments on

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    33
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.Andrews
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“My Best Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

There's "something" about Sarasota which I'm drawn to. Not the beaches. although they've won a prestigious award, recently, although they make an interesting playground for all shapes and sizes and as close to some not wearing any clothes at all as I've seen for quite a while. Pretty much all-over tans!
And, although I'm not doing the driving, the new road approaches do seem rather "hairy." It was a combination of tut-tutting and wild giggles as we met the same cars on the same journey( either travelling sideways, passing by in the opposite direction or suddenly turning in front of us as we made our own way.)
It's the atmosphere of old history and respectful honouring that gets me. And a quite tangible whiff of show business. Sarasota is home to the Ringling Museum, full of memories of Circus Days but it's the Asolo Theatre that's one of Sarasota's special jewels. And is so full of the history of a very far off place.
To discover that the whole shebang was saved from rather ignorant and tunnel-visioned Councillors in Dunfermline, Fife, Scotland-only to be saved (at the last ditch) by an impassioned group of theatre lovers( and a grant from Scottish Arts) meant that it was shipped over to become a well-loved and honoured part of Sarasota's cultural life. The complex shares space with the Mertz Theatre ( a lovely theatre shipped over from Italy) so an evening in your best togs is a Must-Do!
Check out the programmes: spend a whole week going to see wonderful variety of plays ranging from Shakespeare to Coward; the old and the new. You won't be disappointed.
I could go on, and on......
I was taken to see "God of Carnage" for my birthday; and we were all dolled up. I was a very happy person, as we came out into the warm sunshine, wanting (needing!) to come back again, next year.
This is why we must all live for ever, to keep going back to Sarasota and to see how it keep renewing itself.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
420 helpful votes 420 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

"Unique" is an over-used word, but it applies fully to The Asolo. Just being inside this theater is a wonderful experience - for all intents and purposes you ARE inside a magnificent Italian opera house. Florida State University has oudone itself in sponsoring this creative gem. A must-see!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Doesn't matter what is playing, if you love theater then GO!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“What you would expect in a city 5 times as big”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This is no amateur hour. The quality of theatre here is every bit as good as you would experience in major metropolitan areas. There are actually 3 theatres here, one devoted to training the stars of the future. The plays are diverse, some cutting edge, some old standbys, but always a fresh interpretation with lively sets and costumes.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asolo Repertory Theatre also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Asolo Repertory Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asolo Repertory Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.