We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant sports bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Geckos Grill and Pub

Geckos Grill and Pub
5585 Palmer Crossing Circle, Sarasota, FL 34233
941-923-6061
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #373 of 852 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Pub
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A pleasant sports bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Went there and ate a pro football team sandwich from their fall menu. Big, messy and delicious. House chips are a must. Great selection of beer. Waiter was fast, friendly and helpful. I recommend this to anyone who just wants a layed back atmosphere and good sandwiches. We enjoyed our visit and will return.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    46
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“4 or 5 stars people?!?!?!?! Are you kidding me? Do you not go out to eat?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Gecko's is the quintessential 3 star restaurant. You go there, you have a decent meal, and you leave forgetting all about it. I've never had more than a 3 star meal here, though I have had a 2 star meal once or twice. The service is good - staff is friendly - the portions are big, they have a lot of TV's for sports, and the menu is diverse. But the food never makes you jump for joy. Its just okay.

This time it was 4 of us. While I will sometimes try something new, I almost always get their chicken sandwich, blackened with bacon. Its a good chicken sandwich - I don't mean to imply above that the food isn't good - it just isn't fantastic. It's never something where you'll think, "I could really go for a Gecko's _______." Their fries are okay, but again, just okay.

Gecko's is basically an old reliable stand-in. When you can't decide where to go, but don't feel like cooking, and want a cheap meal, Gecko's works. You won't dislike the food, and you won't spend a lot of money. You'll leave full, but not necessarily satisfied like you would at a 4 or 5 star place.

I guess if you want a place to get some big portions, a beer or two, and watch a game, Gecko's certainly works. It's a fun atmosphere with good service, lots of TVs and again, large and inexpensive portions. But if you're looking for a place to get some really good food, then try somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Try Geckos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Everyone at your table should be able to choose something from the many choices offered on the menu. We had the buffalo chicken salad, fish and chips, and the fish tacos with rice and beans. We enjoyed the food as well as the sweet tea. The service was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“great spot for quick dinner and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

THis is a standard in our part of town. We love our Geckos. Always busy, always standard food that you can count on. Would not say that it is above average food usually, however, it is consistent. This location is really landmark and many people visit often - including ourselves. the chips and ranch dip are outstanding, as well as the fish and chips. I actually love the super cobb salad and so do my kids - we get take out at least once a week. It is a go for me!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great sports bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great service and food. We enjoyed this sports bar while on vacation in Long Boat Key. We went there to have dinner and watch the Daytona NASCAR race. Would recommend to anyone around that area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geckos Grill and Pub also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Geckos Grill and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geckos Grill and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.