We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view of Gulf of Mexico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarasota Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sarasota Sands
Save Saved
You added Sarasota Sands to your Saves list
2150 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view of Gulf of Mexico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I am staying for the 3rd time in Sarasota Sands. It is an extremely friendly, family timeshare on beautiful Lido Key, right on the Gulf of Mexico. It is a quarter of a mile north of the Ritz at the north end of Lido. Beautiful water, beautiful sand! Yesterday we saw a manatee and a very large snook! We have many times seen dolphin as well. Wake up and walk the beach, 1.5 miles down from beautiful St. Armand's Circle for world famous shopping and dining.

Room Tip: I have stayed on all three sides and like them all! My favorite is the 2nd floor on the North wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Point, NC USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is an older property that is kept up very well and has been updated recently. My parents have a timeshare here and we have stayed here with them and with our family a few times. The beach is the draw as it's one of the best in the country. The units run from 1 BR studios to 3 BR. This is a great place. It's Old Florida style. Nice pool, sauna, jacuzzi, shuffleboard, BBQ grills, and spectacular sunsets. Minutes to great shopping and restaurants. We like it so much, I just bought the timeshare from my parents who decided to finally let it go since they live only minutes south of there. This is a place to relax and take in the beach and pool and enjoy a nice relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My in-laws had a timeshare unit at Sarasota Sands and my husband and I ended up going here one year when they were unable to go. Since then, I've completely fallen in love with the resort. It's older and a little smaller than the newer resorts, but it is so full of charm that it really doesn't matter. In fact, the smaller size it's part of its charm. Even though the resort is older, it is well maintained and clean (and I'm a cleanaholic). The beach is the best I've ever been to and it's so nice not to have a ton of people crowded all around you. Great for shelling and your vacation is actually relaxing. On top of that, you're only a couple minutes' drive from the great shopping and dining in Saint Armand's Circle.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My parents have owned two weeks at this resort for almost 15 years! I got to use a week by myself this year and we had a GREAT time! The unit was nice and clean, all the appliances and the AC worked great, and the staff was very pleasant and accommodating. For an older, smaller resort, this one is situated in an ideal location. It is out on the end of Lido Key, with a nature preserve right next to and behind it. The beach is beautiful white sand and it is so close to Sarasota and all the attractions that you'll hardly notice the drive when you leave your unit! Bravo!

Room Tip: Studio units do not include a dishwasher. Ocean side end units include a patio. Rooms on the south s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This beach is awesome. Saw lots of fish, and mantarays. Great beach for relaxing. Sarasota Sands is not the type resort you stay at if your flying in. You need to bring your own chairs, and beach towels. This was a big inconvience. They had lounge chairs throughout the property, but wont allow you to bring them to the beach, saying the salt water messes them up. This is a resort really buy new ones!!!! The chairs they provided were so low to the ground I could barely get out of it!!! And they charge $2 a day. Horrible!!!! They charge you for everything here even the racquets to play tennis. Loved the mirrors in the rooms, and the ice machine. Probably will go to another resort on the Gulf of Mexico.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have been owners here for over thirty years. It is an older establishment, but all condos are updated and always clean! The location is the VERY BEST! Our condo is a two bedroom, two bath and screened in porch, which walks right out to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Firstly, We enjoyed our stay.. We were timeshare "guests" staying in a studio... VERY COZY (small... 300sq feet).. it was nice to have a fridge ,microwave and sink!!

The resort is very very clean and well kept.

The air conditioner was soooo loud that we couldn't wait to get home for a good night sleep. They know about the problem.. and said it can't be fixed!!??

Loved Lido Key and being near St. Armand Circle..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarasota Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarasota Sands

Address: 2150 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty lodging in Sarasota
Also Known As:
Sarasota Sands Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarasota Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.