We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price for upgraded room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Sarasota to your Saves list
Ramada Sarasota
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7150 North Tamimai Trail, Sarasota, FL 34243 (Formerly Sarasota Hotel & Marina)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the price for upgraded room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our room was just fine. Had nice new carpeting, great beds, new bathroom fixtures. No problem with noise. TV was a little old and there were so many cabinets in the room it could have been used as a kitchenette, which was odd. Had a microwave and refrig. Didn't have a water view, but that was ok.

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello Deekav,

Great to hear that you enjoyed the room's "new carpeting, great beds, and new bathroom fixtures"! The hotel has been undergoing continuous improvements over the past 2 years, so I'm glad to see that it is adding to a quality guest experience. Your constructive comments will be taken into account as we continue to improve the hotel, so thank you for taking the time to share them with us. We look forward to seeing you during your next stay!

Sincerely,

Navid Kichi
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront Sarasota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    167
    163
    125
    135
See reviews for
231
195
44
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I decided on staying here because it was a good deal and it was close to the beaches. As soon as we walked in the room we noticed there was a odor like dirty socks. After looking for the culprit we came to the conclusion that was just the way the room smelled. In our room there were stains by the door, garbage in between the ac unit and wall, the bathroom door wouldn't lock, the hair dryer wouldn't work, and our room phone was non functional. I could live with those things but it gets worse. The people in the room next to us started to bang their headboard against the wall(doing their business) we shared at midnight waking my son up. The ac kept shutting off and on so we were constantly woke up hot leading to some horrible sleep. The worst part was at breakfast after eating some waffles and a couple donuts I went back up to get a few napkins when a roach appeared all over the donuts, toast, and bagels. My wife informed the breakfast attendant and she kind of laughed it off like it wasn't the first time it's happened. Overall I would not recommend this hotel to anyone next time we will spend the extra money and go to a Hampton Inn or Courtyard.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello Projectj84,

I'm very sorry to hear of your challenging stay with us. Did you alert our staff immediately so they could resolve these issues with your room? Our goal is for every one of our guests to enjoy a relaxing and peaceful stay with us. From your description of the events, this sounds like a very remote occurrence for the hotel, as many of guests leave very positive comments about their stay. I regret to hear that you were near "noisy" neighbors who kept you awake. In these cases, we always encourage our guests to call the front desk and alert us to a problem such as this so we may deal with it swiftly and ensure your comfort. We will definitely investigate the issues you raised in your constructive comments and ensure all of our operating procedures are being followed correctly. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will return to give the hotel another chance in the future.

Sincerely,

Navid Kichi
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront Sarasota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The experince we had at this hotel was that of a lifetime. my girlfriend Tammy and I stayed here three nights in may. The hotel rooms were so well prepared and well appointed in this Marina located property that when I marry tis girl we will head exactly there for an enchanting experience. The staff were professional friendly , helpful and a joy to interact with and the bar and pool overlooking the marina were idilic. We left after two nights and an hour later returned to book another room for our last night knowing nothing to exceed this experiendce was to be found elsewhere . One caviat was that the balcony room overlooking the boats in the harbor
and the floating chapel was much more romantic than the first room we stayed in. No need to look further than this one for a stay

Room Tip: the very best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello James M,

Our staff is so glad to hear that your stay was "a dream come true"!! That waterfront location is definitely hard to beat! We sincerely appreciate your kind comments, especially your compliments to our staff. We look forward to hosting your next stay after you both get married!

Sincerely,

Navid Kichi
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront Sarasota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

It seemed like this place had decent reviews, so my two girlfriends and I stayed here one weekend while we were auditioning for a nearby theatre. The location was great, as it was a five minute drive from the Asolo Theatre. The rooms were dark and dingy, and there was no way to close the drapes on the window. The only thing covering the whole window was a sheer, see-thru curtain. Anyone can walk by this open hotel hallway, and there's no way to close the drapes. For three young girls spending the weekend here, this was unsettling. We ended up using a binder clip to pinch the drapesclosed at night so we wouldn't have to worry about any prying eyes. Now for the gross part. We found about 4 little cockroaches in our room throughout our stay. This is just unacceptable. We always had to worry about roaches being in our shoes or our luggage and it made the whole stay near unbearable. I will never stay at a Ramada ever again.

Room Tip: Try and find a room without roaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello Steph W,

I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. All of our rooms do have blackout privacy curtains, so I'm puzzled as to your comment regarding that. We always encourage our guests to quickly communicate issues to us so we can quickly resolve them, but your review does not mention anything about telling our staff your concerns. Regarding the insects you mentioned, we are regularly serviced by Ecolab, the leading industrial pest control company and the same company that services the Ritz Carlton in Sarasota. We will certainly follow up on this and give that room extra attention. Again, I see no mention of you communicating your concerns to our staff. It is impossible for us address guest concerns without being aware of them. We do hope you reconsider and give the hotel another try in the future.

Sincerely,

Navid Kichi
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront Sarasota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was impressed by the room furnishings considering how little the mgt had to work with. Bugs on the floor (alive and dead), loud because of boisterous nearby marina bar. Vending machine trouble. Good free in room wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello Joemurphy3,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our room furnishings and the free WiFi! We are in the process of updating many aspects of the hotel, so I'm pleased to know that you noticed. Regarding your concern with insects, the rooms are regularly serviced by Ecolab, the #1 industrial pest control company in the country. They also service the Ritz Carlton in Sarasota. Our waterfront location is fantastic but also offers more of a challenge with insects in the summer months. We will definitely review your room and ensure it receives extra attention. As for the vending machines, they are owned and operated by a separate company, so the hotel has nothing to do with them. We are always more than happy to process vending refunds for our guests though. Thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Navid Kichi
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront Sarasota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I were celebrating our 1 year anniversary and chose this hotel as our getaway. The staff was very helpful and polite, the Manager Olivia was very attentive and friendly. The continental breakfast was more than we expected, it included a waffle station. There is a very nice heated pool with a tiki bar and restaurant right there. The room was very clean and the bed was awesome. We will definitely be going there again.

Room Tip: The rooms numbered 200+ have a really nice view of the waterfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello Satisfied_Customer78,

I'm so happy to hear that we were able to make your 1 year anniversary celebration a special time for you! Olivia does a great job for us, and I'm glad to know she was "attentive and friendly" and enhanced your stay with excellent service. it sounds like you were able to enjoy our great amenities, like the free continental breakfast, heated pool, Tiki bar, and restaurant. Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your experience with us! We look forward to seeing you on your next anniversary celebration!

Sincerely,

Navid Kichi
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront Sarasota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ramada Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Sarasota

Address: 7150 North Tamimai Trail, Sarasota, FL 34243 (Formerly Sarasota Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Sarasota 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the splendor of warm tropical breezes, sparkling waters and dazzling sunsets of the Ramada Waterfront located on Sarasota Bay in Sarasota, Florida. The hotel, banquet rooms, restaurant, Tiki Bar and heated outdoor swimming pool all have spectacular views of the marina. The Ramada Waterfront Sarasota is convenient to Florida's gulf coast beautiful white sand beaches including Siesta Key Beach, Lido Key and Anna Maria Island. The full service Ramada Waterfront has 85 comfortable and well-appointed guest rooms and suites. Amenities include free WiFi throughout the hotel and free parking. With over 9,000 square feet of flexible function space, the hotel is ideal for meetings, banquets weddings and other special events for up to 700 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Ramada Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Sarasota Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.