We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad place for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Sarasota

Save Saved
You added Ramada Sarasota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Sarasota
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7150 North Tamimai Trail, Sarasota, FL 34243 (Formerly Sarasota Hotel & Marina)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #33 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not bad place for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were pretty happy with our stay here. We had two rooms for our family of five. Complimentary breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. Staff was friendly. Outside looks aa little run down but fine. Rooms were pretty basically, but clean and comfortable. Got what we paid for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor if stairs are an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Good Afternoon,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and share your experience with us. We are quite pleased to hear of your enjoyable stay with us. Regarding the complimentary breakfast, we apologize if it was not up to your standards. What could we do to improve it? Again, thank you for your review, and we look forward to having you as our guest during your next stay in the Sarasota area.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    121
    115
    81
    87
See reviews for
157
138
28
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinellas Park
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed 1 night while on a weekend roadtrip with an out of town visitor. Room was very clean and freshly renovated. Olivia at front desk was very helpful. Pool was very clean and grounds were maintained. Very good experience. Surprised to see the Wedding Chapel Boat at the Marina. My brother was married on it in Clearwater. Was happy with the breakfast, also.

Room Tip: Would definitely choose this hotel again when traveling in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time from your schedule to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear your stay with us was a pleasant one. We look forward to having you stay with us again real soon.
Sincerely
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here because we had eaten in the restaurant a few days before and got awesome service (thank-you Amanda)We had been having a lot of company from out of town and just wanted to forget about it,and relax! The room was clean,beautiful looking out over the water! We originally booked 2 nights and ended up staying an extra night! Live music and happy hours daily! Meet some really nice people! Would certainly return here! Felt very safe!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time from your schedule to write a review regarding your recent stay at out hotel. We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are so glad you picked our hotel while you had guest in town. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Been to Sarasota several times stayed in different Hotels. Decided to try this one. Won't come back. The view was nice, but wished our sliding windows were not screwed shut. It would have been nice to open them to get the breeze, like other rooms. Holes all through the carpet, Tiles missing. The door to the connecting room on our side was missing. Coffee maker was in the Bathroom right by the toilet, even though they had a snack bar out in the other room with a sink and refrigerator. Asked for a razor several times during our stay (5 days) told us sorry we just ran out. Wanted to print my tickets for our flight out, but couldn't do that because it didn't have a pdf reader on the computer. Couldn't get a do not disturb sign for our room either, made our own.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
I understand you had a stay that was less than satisfactory. In order to better improve our hotel can you please be specific on certain items or events that were less than satisfactory.
Thank you for allowing us to serve you and do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of assistance.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Ramada Sarasota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

During our 4 day stay, we had to change rooms due to an electrical outage on an entire wall while using the microwave. In one of our rooms the tub was clogged & there was a good sized hole in the wall. After moving to a king suite (which was beautiful) on the second day, we had to use another room across the hall in order to use the bathtub since there wasn't enough water pressure to fill the tub in our room, much less take a shower. This property was built in the 1950's & was remodeled very, very poorly. The beds were like sleeping on a slab of cement, sliding glass doors don't work & the rooms in general are very cramped. Don't let the pictures fool you as the rooms are nothing as they appear to be. There were no flat screen TV's, only old TV's with remotes that didn't work, the furnitue is old and the rooms are very cramped. Extension cords run throughout the room to power the TV, microwave & lamps. The staff was friendly & very apologetic for the condition of this property. If at all possible, find a hotel anywhere else & stay there!!!

Room Tip: To choose a good room, stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
I understand you had a stay that was less than satisfactory. In order to better improve our hotel can you please be specific on certain items or events that were less than satisfactory.
Thank you for allowing us to serve you and do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

A few friends and myself went down for the weekened, and the whole trip was amazing. The rooms were very clean and appeared to be recently renovated. Our rooms backed onto a marina which was an amazing view to wake up to. All the staff were so friendly and made us all feel very welcomed. The group of us spent one night and a few dinners at the Tiki bar which was a great social atmosphere. The Tiki bar is attached right to the hotel which makes it an ideal location. The location of the hotel was another great factor. We were close to the beautiful beaches, and downtown area which includes great resturants/night life, and only a 5 - 10 min drive to the airport.

My friends and myself are already planning our next vacation, and will definitly be booking at the Ramada again.

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are very happy to know you and your friends had such an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We are glad you found us to be a convenient location for all your needs. I am delighted you enjoyed the beautiful view of the Marina. We are happy to hear you are already planning your next trip to stay with us.
Sincerely
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Just came back from our vacation to Sarasota, where we stayed at this great hotel. The hotel has a great atmosphere, its located on a marina with a spectacular view. The Tiki Bar located on the premises of the hotel has great food and is a great spot to relax, unwind and enjoy the weather. The pool is very clean and the grounds of the hotel are very well maintained. The rooms as well are very clean and beds are super comfy. Its only a short distance from downtown Sarasota and the surrounding beaches. Will definitely be back and highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great place to relax and getaway with an exceptional value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your review. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay and used the amenities that our hotel has to offer. Our hotel has definitely become a great weekend getaway spot for so many people. Very pleased to hear you mention how comfy the beds our. We have recently replaced the mattresses. We will look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Sarasota

Address: 7150 North Tamimai Trail, Sarasota, FL 34243 (Formerly Sarasota Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Sarasota 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the splendor of warm tropical breezes, sparkling waters and dazzling sunsets of the Ramada Waterfront located on Sarasota Bay in Sarasota, Florida. The hotel, banquet rooms, restaurant, Tiki Bar and heated outdoor swimming pool all have spectacular views of the marina. The Ramada Waterfront Sarasota is convenient to Florida's gulf coast beautiful white sand beaches including Siesta Key Beach, Lido Key and Anna Maria Island. The full service Ramada Waterfront has 85 comfortable and well-appointed guest rooms and suites. Amenities include free WiFi throughout the hotel and free parking. With over 9,000 square feet of flexible function space, the hotel is ideal for meetings, banquets weddings and other special events for up to 700 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Ramada Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Sarasota Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.