We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stay but will return.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Sarasota to your Saves list
Ramada Sarasota
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7150 North Tamimai Trail, Sarasota, FL 34243 (Formerly Sarasota Hotel & Marina)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off 2-Night Stays
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Vinton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick stay but will return.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed here while on a trip to take in Spring Training baseball games. We only stayed one night, but were pleased with the service, price, and value provided. While we didn't take advantage of some of the amenities offered, the room was clean, the hotel was quiet, and the staff was very knowledgeable. The complimentary breakfast was also nice with a waffle station being a nice addition to the classic cereals, pastries, etc. My group consisted of all adults on a "pleasure" trip, but I certainly feel this would also be a fine establishment for business travelers or families.

Room Tip: Some rooms are "water view" but that usually costs a bit more. If you're interested...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear valued guest: I would like to thank you for taking the time from your schedule to write a review for our hotel. We are very pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Ramada Waterfront
General Manager
Navid Kichi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    167
    165
    125
    136
See reviews for
232
196
44
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

When I travel and stay at a Hotel/Motel/Inn I expect the basics to be met: a clean room, a comfortable bed, and good service. Unfortunately this Ramada failed in all but one of my expectations and clearly struck out as an advertised three star hotel/inn.

Checking in was easy as we had reservations through Expedia and the Ramada front desk attendant was very nice and friendly, but the Inn room as well as other missing amnesties and disappointments would prove to be the final result of my one star Yelp evaluation of this Ramada location. (see pictures; sorry that they wouldn't load upright).

#1, The Room: after repeated attempts to get the door unlocked with the electronic swipe key (this would happen everytime we tried to get into the room), it finally unlocked and we where instantly met with a newer and yet very poorly painted room filled with worn, dirty, and/or broken furnishings and fixtures. We shut the door which failed to seal to the frame thanks to the worn out seals and sash (proved to be very drafty) and proceeded to get settled. As we would be staying here for four days, we wanted to unpack our stuff, but after looking at the TV case, which doubled as the room dresser, we noticed it was covered in a dirty film (the TV itself was smeared with God only knows what), and it was also easy to see that the drawers where broken (broken and jammed shut) and of little use; so much for unpacking.

OK, we could live out of our travel bags easily enough, and after a long day of travel, we where really ready for sleep; this would prove to be a BIG letdown with this Ramada.

#2, After the first nights unrest-full sleep due to very uncomfortable beds (amongst other reasons), I decided to dig into the bed problem (check out the pictures); the bed[s] in our room where some of the worst I have encountered in a Hotel/Motel/Inn: mattresses where bowed and hard with springs that would dig into every part of the body; these mattresses where unsupportive, stained/filthy looking, and simply worn out! They where produced in 1999 and Lord knows what they have witnessed! Really Ramada, you recently purchase this two-bit Inn and you spend a little money on a repaint and skimp on the MOST IMPORTANT PART of a Hotel/Motel/Inn's function; a restful nights sleep! Preposterous!!

On to more letdowns with this Ramada!

#3, The actual location of this Ramada is a real problem being that it is near the Sarasota/Bradenton International Airport but at such a location as to be in a DIRECT FLIGHT PATH of the incoming and exiting flights; bring earplugs as the Jetliners and other flight craft will rattle the ears as well as the hotel walls!
Of interesting note: A fun activity of this Ramada is to stand on the Inn balcony and wave at the airline passengers as the planes go by!

Other problem[s]:
#4, LOUD heating and air unit! Yes, if one wasn't bothered by the noise of Airport flyovers, one could certainly be put off by the excessive loud HUMMING and Tinny BUZZING of the heat/air unit; this thing is LOUD in all modes except for the off mode which didn't get used much being that a cold front hit us while we where staying there.
#5, Non fully closeable privacy and secondary curtains of which where old, filthy, and broken!
#6, A toilet that would run intermittently even after jiggling the handle!
#7, NO ICE Machine for ice!
#8, Hard and foul smelling water; this place REALLY NEEDS a secondary water filtration system!
#9, Sporadic or non-existent maid service; I guess if they come by while the do not disturb sign is out while one is using the bathroom, they won't attempt to return at all for the rest of the day.
#10, Very SLOW internet service; also make sure to ask the desk clerk for the password as they won't give it freely.
#11,The Tiki Bar was near our room and is open till 2:00AM so have some fun with the loud drunks as they stumble to look for their car or a nearby place to barf!
#12, The advertised view is for a limited section of this Inn so do not expect to get the fabulous dockside waterfront view with most rooms; we had a great view of the parking lot, the hotel/Tiki Bar/ Restaurant dumpster, and the nearby residential neighborhood!

OK, session over and on to some of the positives for this Ramada. As stated, the front desk staff was very nice and friendly, and this location does offer a small but limited continental breakfast as well as a decent Tiki Bar (bartender was great) and the available Bearded Clam Restaurant of which claims to have really good food although a bit pricey for the offerings (check out their website for more detail). The location is really easy to find and is directly on the N. Tamiami Trail just North of the Airport and Old Florida University.

As to why we stayed here? Well, this local was "picked" by using "Expedia"; it wasn't our choice, but the online pictures really looked appealing, so we went with it and the ugly truth would reveal itself while staying for four days.

Room Tip: Beware of the corporate General Manager's letters concerning the quality of this place; All the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest: I will start out with an apology for your stay not being enjoyable. We have been in the process of renovating our waterfront hotel. The first two buildings have been completed and the third building that you stayed in is due for completion summer of 2012. I agree that that building needs serious renovations and this is why we have recently put this building off market until it is up to the same standard as the other two buildings.
Sincerely,
Navid Kichi
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We just returned from a stay at this hotel... and if they just replaced the mattresses (as the manager stated in an earlier review) in our room they were already used! This place was a misrepresentation... it is nothing like the photos. Our room was old, old, old and has not been remodeled in years! There was no ice machine in our building at all and the one in the building across the parking lot did not work. We did not even attempt to go to the pool as we saw a man urinating in the parking lot. This is a 1 star hotel at best. It is someone a group of 18 year olds would rent for a cheap party!
I emailed the general manager after seeing our room and seeing the front desk clerk was indifferent to the lack of ice, but he has not responded. The only good thing is we only paid $90 for the room and it was just a stop off betyween the Keys and Tampa so we just left everything in the suitcases and got out early in the morning.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell, the place was a dump. Maybe there are some decent rooms, but we sure didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest: I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize your stay with us was not a pleasant one. The building that you stayed in had not been renovated at that time. I would like you to know renovations for this building should be completed by the summer 2012
Sincerely,
Navid Kichi
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed there for a week, tried to find another hotel after seeing the room but everything was booked solid as it was spring break week. We arrived at 11, room wasn't ready, check in time is 3 and the manager, who seemed somewhat irritable, said there was no way they'd be checking anyone in before then because they were full. No big deal, we went to do some shopping and checked back around 2ish... still not ready. So we decided to have a couple of drinks at the tiki bar and get some lunch. We waited till 4, still not ready. Went back to the tiki bar for another couple of hours, finally we were given our keys. Went to the room, maid cart outside, door open, no one in sight. She showed eventually and said 10 minutes. It was like 8 before we got in. The pics will tell a lot of the story, but the room had a peculiar odor, the brass sink had green oxidation on it, the security lock was broken off, no do not disturb sign to use as a barrier to the maid in the morning, the headboard was screwed to the wall and the bed made noises every time you even sat on it. The first microwave had broken (built in) so instead of fixing or replacing that one, there was a smaller one stacked on top of what was supposed to be a cooktop range. The fridge was underneath, probably one of the only good points, it was a nice size and stainless steel. The shower drain was slow and you had to take your shower quickly to avoid it spilling out onto the floor. The shower heads were a nice design, doubled, but they were hung at about 4' and 5' heights??

The cleaning service was consistantly slow and not very thorough. Seems like the place is drastically under-staffed. The woman was nice but overwhelmed. They were painting the doors one day, but I think they have many more major renovations they should be concentrating on. And we were supposedly in one of the "newly renovated" rooms. Maybe 5 years ago. Looks like their pics on their site, but it's already worn down.

Pool: Would have been nice but you can't bring your own drinks, you have to get bar service from the tiki bar. We didn't want to incur large bar bills just sitting next to the pool, so we never went.

Tiki Bar: Lots of fun, met a few interesting locals and some not so nice ones. It seems to be a local hangout, music every day which was nice, but it made it hard to ever find a seat. The staff at the Tiki Bar were pleasant to deal with, hardworking kids.

The highlight of our stay there was taking our beach chairs out after dinner to the boardwalk in front of the marina and sitting with our own cocktails, watching people come and go, boats coming and going, and watching the stars.

In conclusion, after being home for a week, the vacation wasn't horrible, we were able to do what we wanted to do, going to the beach & visiting family. However, the hotel needs serious upgrades just to get to LaQuinta level. They are in an awesome location, they could do so well with some work. And it's a BIG resort, a shame to just let it go as it is.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest: I apologize that you had so many issues during your stay with us. We always work hard at checking our guest in on time. I do want you to know all of the concerns you have will be addressed as your feedback is very important to us and helps us better this establishment.
Sincerely
Navid Kichi
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This property is not directly on the ocean but rather on a marina. The rooms were very clean and the price unbeatable! And we were there during the "season." It's an older property and therefore none of the rooms have balconies. Because of the price there are a lot of kids.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest: Thank you for taking time from your schedule to write a review about our hotel. I can assure you we are not trying to fool anyone about our location. We are very proud of this beautiful marina location. Thank you for mentioning our unbeatable price. I would like you to know that we do have rooms with balconies. I hope that we will see you again and thank you for your input.
Sincerely
Navid Kichi
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCK HILL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This was our second stay at this motel. We found the staff friendly and helpfull.Breakfast was not 5 star,but ok. The restaurant, was good,new menu. The location was handy. Room was good.

Room Tip: We had remodeled room on parking lot side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest: Thank You for taking the time to write a review. We continue to expand our breakfast with new items. I want you to know how that your feedback helps us in many ways. We will look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely
Navid Kichi
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Our stay was a multi-night stay, middle of March. Upon check-in one employee was working desk,trying to multi-task, phones, check-ins. A line of people trying to check-in were present, the manager came out of his office talking on his cellphone to a friend, looked at the line and continued to walk off. Would not assist the employee, very poor. Room was very" middle of the road". No chairs to sit out side on the water. The location has great potential, but not quite there yet. Breakfast was poorly provisioned, and in total disarray.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaSarasota, General Manager at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review for our hotel I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

Sincerely
Navid Kichi
General Manager
Ramada Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.1 mi away
Sarasota Suites
Sarasota Suites
#19 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Sarasota
Sleep Inn Sarasota
#29 of 46 in Sarasota
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
3.1 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#17 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sarasota - Bradenton Airport
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Sarasota

Address: 7150 North Tamimai Trail, Sarasota, FL 34243 (Formerly Sarasota Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Sarasota 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the splendor of warm tropical breezes, sparkling waters and dazzling sunsets of the Ramada Waterfront located on Sarasota Bay in Sarasota, Florida. The hotel, banquet rooms, restaurant, Tiki Bar and heated outdoor swimming pool all have spectacular views of the marina. The Ramada Waterfront Sarasota is convenient to Florida's gulf coast beautiful white sand beaches including Siesta Key Beach, Lido Key and Anna Maria Island. The full service Ramada Waterfront has 85 comfortable and well-appointed guest rooms and suites. Amenities include free WiFi throughout the hotel and free parking. With over 9,000 square feet of flexible function space, the hotel is ideal for meetings, banquets weddings and other special events for up to 700 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Sarasota Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.