We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Move Live on Tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall

Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall
777 North Tamiami Trail (US 41), Sarasota, FL 34236
(941) 955-7676
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 49 Attractions in Sarasota
Type: Operas, Symphonies, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A good place for cultural entertainment.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Move Live on Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

On June 15, 2014, my husband and I had tickets for the hugely popular Move Live on Tour show with Julianne and Derek Hough. It was an exciting dance show that we viewed with binoculars!! Our trouble is with the ticketing of the Van Wezel. We wrote the date down when they would BEGIN selling tickets. Called them that very morning and they were SOLD OUT except for two seats at the back row! How could that be?? They then told us that they had been selling tickets for 2 weeks!?! This was a shoddy procedure in our many years of buying tickets elsewhere!! Also, we found the ushers to be haughty and unpleasant!! We probably wont return to that venue.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    44
    34
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the "Nutcracker" performance tremendously”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We loved the Sarasota production of the Nutcracker. Many families were there with children and the staging and design by the Sarasota Ballet was fantastic. My daughter also went to the Van Wezel with her kindergarten class to see productions based on children's books and had a great time. As with many performing arts halls, the only negative comment is about the waiting time and congestion for the ladies' room during the intermission. Sometimes it's difficult to return to your seat in time for the second half of the show.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Frank Lloyd Wright Design - Good shows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Beautiful purple Frank Lloyd Wright designed theater seating 1800 people. Acoustics not perfect however. They offer some good shows, bringing Broadway to Sarasota. Setting is gorgeous on the Bay. Beautiful place

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Obstructed View/ Poor Customer Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

On April 23, 2014 my wife and I went to a performance of Shen Yun. We bought the tickets two months prior to the show and was not told that the seats had an obstructed view of the stage. So, we missed viewing about 20 percent of the production. At intermission, my wife spoke to the box office manager to complain about the seating. He was curt and abrupt. The ushers were more interested in finding a seat for themselves than caring about the paying customers.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not a bad seat in the house!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We are season ticket holders and buy a number of other tickets throughout the season!!

You can't beat the pricing or quality of performances!! We go to Tampa to see the first runs of the National Tours. - but love the variety that arrives each year in Sarasota!!

Ushers can be a little over the top - but they are trying to be helpful. Mattison's provides a delightful buffet for those who would like dinner on the premises!!

We are lucky to have this venue in Sarasota!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.