We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big but still pleasant venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall

Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall
777 North Tamiami Trail (US 41), Sarasota, FL 34236
(941) 955-7676
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 49 Attractions in Sarasota
Type: Operas, Symphonies, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A good place for cultural entertainment.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Big but still pleasant venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was my first time at the Van Wezel. It is on the waterfront, if you find that a plus for an after concert stroll. The facility was bigger than I expected, and, thus, more walking than planned for. Nevertheless, my mid-rang seat was comfortable, with an unobstructed view and great acoustics.

Staff and volunteers were pleasant, efficient and knowledgeable. Parking is ample and free.

I would love to have a venue like this in my town.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    44
    34
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, not a bad seat anywhererer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We went to see Itzhak Perlman and his winter conservatory students. This was my first time being here and I love this venue. It is small enough to not have a bad seat in the place. I would gladly sit up at the back knowing I could still see everything wonderfully. I love that parking is easy and included in your ticket just find your place and your done. They only drawback is since it's smaller there's no center isle so you're climbing over people to get to the middle or getting climbed over if you are near the edges. I would most definitely go there again for any performance!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Attended the Mama Mia play and we were all blown away at how professional and entertaining it was! Even though we were in the next to the last row we could all see perfectly. I love going here because the parking is easy. I would love to see it again....that's how good it was! Thank you Van Wezel!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful Theater”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have lived in Sarasota for only three months but bought tickets to So You Think You Can Dance, also purchased four Broadway shows & A Christmas Carol. SYTYCD was incredible, one of the most entertaining shows we have ever seen. We are from CT so between Hartford, NYC & Boston we've seen our share of Broadway and many other shows. What talent, if you ever get the chance to see SYTYCD, don't miss it. Never seen a group work so hard and put so much into a show. Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!

Last night we saw Mama Mia which I had seen in CT. The show was good, sorry but couldn't give it a great.The high energy factor wasn't there. I felt it never got into the, omg this is great level which it did when I saw it in CT. There were a few cast members that stood out but like I said, it was okay. People should have been leaving the show bursting with song, instead some left before the final moments of the play which are some of the best. It was weak. I'm hoping the other plays we bought tickets to will be better, still a great night out and a pretty good play.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Mamma Mia, Mamma Mia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Saw MM at the VW tonite! Even took our 11 year old and his friend. Great cast. Beautiful singing voices. Well done performance.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.