We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club
Save
You added Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club to your Saves list
5900 Midnight Pass Road, Sarasota, FL 34242   |  
Hotel amenities
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Super place. 2 outdoor pools. Do not rent beach chairs, there are plenty of lounge chairs for use. You just cant take the pool chairs to the beach. We had to return ours. We rented through the main office, plenty of rooms to select through the website. C302 was nice. Will return there again if we go back. Sleeps 6 if you want to use the pull out sofa, else 4. Covered parking is a nice touch. A few miles from the Siesta Key Village. Call and take the free taxi, just tip the driver. No place to park in the village.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sarasota Surf & Racquet. We are glad that you were able to relax and take advantage of our complimentary beach chairs. Our covered parking areas are a bonus in this hot climate! We will share your review with the owners of C302. We are happy to hear that you will stay with us on any future visits to Siesta Key.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    27
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
65
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davie, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I spent one week in SSRC with my family (2 adults, 2 children) in August 2014. It is important to separate the property from the units, since some of them are rented privately and some are rented through the property management company. I would suggest you go with the managed units, if you do so then the desk can help you if problems would arise. Secondly, do your research on their website about each unit: there are great differences in beds, amenities such as TVs and overall furniture and unit decor. I will divide my review in two: first the property, then the unit.
The property is extremely well kept: clean everywhere, plants well tended, pool clean, chairs available all the time, free and fully functional wi-fi, security present but not oppressive (we were in low season, though, and they did not require us to wear wrist bands), tennis fields free and racquets/balls also available at the desk, grills working, parking spots largely available; in summary, all that was described on the website was there and perfect. I did a lot of research and not all properties on Siesta Key offer such amenities, and even if you may have to pay a little more, in my opinion it is worth it.
Our unit was W0205: we chose building W being close to the beach but not too close where the noise from the gazebo/beach would reach us. Second floor in my opinion is better, first floor gives less privacy. Our unit was clean with large supply of towels and well equipped kitchen. The bedrooms were as described and bathrooms were large and clean. All appliances worked well, the towels were changed once mid-week. Minor negative points would only be that the sofas in the living room were a little dated (the cloth felt a little used) and the area rugs at the entrance and in the corridor also felt heavily 'used'. Apart from that, the unit was fully functional for our needs and we cooked 2/3 meals a day in the kitchen with no problems.
Overall, SSRC is one of the best options for a Siesta Key vacation and we will be happy to return again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Our staff takes great pride in maintaining our property and we are thrilled that it shows. We are glad that you enjoyed all of the amenities that our resort has to offer. We will share your review with the owners of W205. We are sure they will be happy to hear that you found their unit to be clean, well stocked and a great location for your families stay, and will appreciate feedback on any improvements that can be made to their unit. We look forward to your next visit at SSRC.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have stayed at Sarasota Surf and Racquet several times without issue. This time we were in Unit T1106. The unit could use some updating. Also the unit was not clean. Hair on bathroom walls and sand caked on floor by main door. I do understand there is a lot of sand coming into the units but for the price we pay, plus a cleaning fee, they should be spotless. No excuse for the bathroom. I did share the information with the office who offered to clean our condo but too late. We had already cleaned the bathroom. It is dark walking to the rooms at night. They have small lights that come on as you walk by and a couple do not work. The view is amazing and beaches are the soft white sand. They have made some improvements around the grill/pool area. They have added several tables with umbrellas. The two pools are crystal clear. There are so many other choices in Siesta Key not sure we will be back.

Room Tip: Nice view of the ocean from any unit in the T building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We apologize for the lack of cleanliness in the unit, there is no excuse and we have brought it to the attention of our housekeeping staff. All our units are individually owned, and we will share your review suggesting renovations with the owner of T1106. We will also look into the outside lighting in the Tower to see if we can make any improvements. We hope that you will consider returning to Surf & Racquet.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I'm writing this to give a different perspective. We have taken our boys to this condo for 9 years straight. Over the past several years we have brought our parents, friends & made some amazing memories at Sarasota Surf & Racquet. We always have stayed on the 1st floor of the Y Building, it is the best you know. Trust me. With 3 active kids, you need the Y building. The property is superior. The condos always very clean. The service is just ok. It used to be wonderful until about 3 years ago. Not sure what changed. Overall it's an unbeatable location & the pools, beach, sunsets, it's a dream vacation.

So why am I peeved? Because last spring break it was completely overloaded with rude obnoxious spring breakers. They were about 17-22 years old & drunk, shouting, and overall an embarrassment to their parents if they even had any there. For the high cost of the condos, I presume parents were the ones who brought them there.... Every single day of our vacation was spent avoiding getting pushed, shoved or literally jumped on by teenagers in the pools. There was NO person to control the situation. The pool was severely over loaded. I yelled at some horny teenage kids throwing these tiny young high school girls around who lost their bikini top. They almost hit some woman's little boy. If I wanted to see drunk teenagers acting like morons, I'd go to Panama City or something. This place is wonderful, but the guests around spring break have certainly gone from families with young children to rude, very loud teens taking over without any supervision. We booked our spring Break 2015 for Long Boat Key next year. Im excited to give another Island a try. I'm a little sad that our 10 year anniversary of spring breaks down there won't include our favorite place. The owners & management might want to know that barf in the halls didn't used to happen a few years ago. What's changed?

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We appreciate your patronage over the years, and are so sorry that the bad behavior of others has made you choose a different vacation destination. Our minimum age requirement to rent a condo is twenty five years of age. We have increased our security staff during Spring Break to try to handle these issues if they occur. We hope that you have a wonderful vacation and might consider returning to our facility again in the future.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida,
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here with a 2 other couples for 4th of July weekend. Everything was just rules upon rules (I get it. That's how things remain under control but Geez). You cant do this without that. I came to relax and not be told what to do & security questioning your every move & if you don't have your wrist band on...pfft. We had my nephew and his gf visit us and it took them 30 MINUTES TO FIND PARKING... bc they had no parking for our visitors what-so-ever. Also we couldn't even leave the place bc you will loose your parking space and hope when you get back you find one or you get WALL parking (far). I was sooo excited for this gateway and actually had more fun leaving the hotel and walking around St. Armand's. Read all the reviews and make sure this is the place for you, not sure if its like this every day or it was just for the 4th of July.

It is very clean, organized and the apartment was roomy BUT beware when you book a room for 6. We did and when we arrive there were two twin beds, and a queen bed so thankfully the other couple brought an inflatable (just in case)...if not a small leather couch would have been the answer.

From my experience I am staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Apartments close to the beach are better & double check bed occupancy! Twins aren't meant fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at our property. Our guest guidelines are to ensure a safe, fair, and peaceful environment for our guests when the property is booked to capacity. Limited parking spaces and wristbands were part of the guidelines which were sent to our guests in advance of the Holiday weekend. The maximum occupancy in a two bedroom unit is six people. All of our units are individually owned and the bedding will vary, but the bedding is listed in the unit's description. If you do consider a return visit, please contact our staff and we will be happy to assist you in booking a unit that better fits your needs.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We just came back from a 6 day vacation at SSRC. We had not been there in years as we had chosen other destinations, so even though we were expecting a great vacation as in previous years, we didn't know if anything had changed. We chose unit T1104. We were extremely pleased with this unit. Whatever you were looking for as far as kitchen utensils you would open the drawers and find them. The bedrooms were great, beds were very comfy, pillows not so much but that was minimal. The bathrooms were clean, lots of towels. We will definitely choose this unit again. The view was spectacular. Only thing that I would change is the lighting in the hallways. At night getting out of the elevator to walk to the unit it is quite dark and only lighting are some little lights that come up when you walk by them. Other than that the crowd was great. Lots of families with kids. Our girls loved the pool, beach and sand was amazing. The barbecue area I think when people are checking in, personnel should let their guests know that if they have not reserved the barbecue area they should not be hanging out under it while others are grilling. We reserved it one day and had two guys just sitting there taking up the sitting area under the shed and not to be rude we ended up having to eat outside of the shed area. Thankfully there is plenty of sitting right outside of it, but it would have been nice to have all of us sit together. Other than that everything was great and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy that you had an awesome vacation and enjoyed all the amenities and the spectacular view from your unit. We will let the owner of T1104 know how happy you were with their unit, they will like knowing that guests have enjoyed the hard work they have put into their unit. We hope to see you again!!!
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Canton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

As a teenager my family would vacation at the Sarasota Surf and Racquet club every year. Now that I am older and have teenagers myself, I vacation at the Sarasota Surf and Racquet club. The rooms are great. They include a living room, and a full kitchen. I love staying in the D building because they have grills in front of the condos, but it sells out fast. I have decided to move up to the tower this year and will stay there for the first time July 6th, 2014. The staff is always nice, and the beach is incredible. The resort is gated so only guest can enter the property. The beach is never crowded and seems, somewhat, secluded, but you are only minutes from stores, restaurants and the Marina. I have traveled the world, been to many, many places, but this is where I have chosen to vacation with my family.

Room Tip: D building is quiet and has a grilling area in front of the condo, but is the farthest walk to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, Frank. It is so nice to hear that you are bringing the next generation to the Surf & Racquet for your family vacations. We look forward to seeing you in July.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club

Address: 5900 Midnight Pass Road, Sarasota, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club delivers the best of all worlds: The newly renovated, privately owned vacation condominiums have full amenities and include resort-like accommodations. Our customer service & satisfaction tops the charts and differentiates us from the many other choices you have when deciding on a vacation rental. Conveniently located close to fine dining and shopping and within minutes of area attractions, this is a perfect year-round island destination for travelers, active seniors, couples, families, or honeymooners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sarasota Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.