We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best spot on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club
Save
You added Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club to your Saves list
5900 Midnight Pass Road, Sarasota, FL 34242   |  
Hotel amenities
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best spot on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Where do we start? Heated pools next the ocean (even on cold days). Clay tennis courts. Beautiful views from the rooms. Outdoor, shelted grills with picnic tables. Well-manicured grounds. Clean. Management is always helpful and every room we've stayed at in the past 10 years is always great. Most we've stayed at have granite counter tops, flat-screen TVs, well-stocked cabinets - everything from stone crab crackers to wine openers. It's perfectly located in the middle of Siesta Key Beach, walking distance from one end to the other.

Room Tip: Check photos online. Not all have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    27
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
67
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delafield, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I feel compelled to write about this unit because someone had previously reviewed it. After seeing that review, we were very skeptical! Imagine our surprise when we saw how great the place is.
Pros- beautiful beach, very comfortable furniture!, no stairs, it's quick to get outside, it's quick to get inside( bathroom! Lunch or drinks- no need for a cooler), fantastic view from sun porch, dishwasher, kitchen was stocked sufficiently, laundry facilities, grilling area
Cons- master bathroom shower doesn't have a door so the floor gets wet everytime you use the shower, loud (outside you hear all the action- inside you have the halls) because we were here for spring break- the chairs had to have towels on them by 8:30 ish or you were out of luck for a chair.
We rented a cabana for the week- I'd do that again. We all rotated in and out of the shade.
We will be back next year!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario CANADA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks and had a great holiday. Our condo was W0404 and we were most pleased. It was large enough for ourselves, our daughter and son in law and their two children (two and four years old). The unit was very comfortably furnished, had new TVs, lots of clean bedding and a very well equipped kitchen. It faced the gulf and was very bright throughout the day. It was tastefully decorated but we took all the breakables down and put them away with our active grandchildren in the unit. The room was very quiet save for the sound of footsteps from the room above which was not carpeted. Our room was carpeted and that was a bonus. There are two salt water pools although the one closest to the beach was most definitely the favourite of everyone in the resort. The grounds are very well maintained and it is a short and pleasant walk each day to the beach. There are barbeques located by the pool and we used these to prepare a couple of dinners which we enjoyed on the bench seats by the water (you need to book ahead of time but that was never a problem). The beach on Siesta Key is outstanding!!!!!! There is a small exercise room for use by guests and on both Tuesday nights we were there the reort provided entertainment by the beach ... a nice touch. Everyone at the resort, from gardeners to the people at the front desk, were very pleasant and most helpful. The wireless available at the resort was extremely slow and on our departure we were told it was to be upgraded and I have every confidence it will be. Our thanks again to the great staff at the Surf and Racquet Club and we have booked again for next year and that could not be a better compliment.

Room Tip: Check the reviews and look those which identify the condo by number. The pictures on the website can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Have stayed here a few times with mixed results. However, this was our first visit in two years. Our unit was recently renovated and very nice. The grounds have been enhanced with paver walkways. The complex is now managed by the owners and the change in management shows. Carrie and Jenn in the office were very helpful and pleasant. Only thing I'd like is an elliptical in the fitness center. The one that is there is older and there is no arm movement. But the beach continues to be outstanding. The deck with grills is great and sunsets are a daily event. More shade would be nice as you can only sit in the sun so long, but it's great to sit by the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Beutifull place,close to water,white sand beech,BBQ, 2 pools,quate,good stuff,Tennis courts ,a lot of good restaurants,close to Lido key,Lonboat Key etc.Traveling with family stay here and enjoy.Stayed here in 2009,2011.Book in advanced if planing trip for holiday.

Room Tip: Any rooms good stayed in Tower building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

After 3 weeks of debating--it's so hard to choose!--we ended up renting Y308 for a week. This unit's pros: clean, attractive furnishings, great A/V equipment, good internet, granite in kitchen, large comfortable kitchen table, fairly comfy king-size bed, master walk-in closet, location close to beach & we could easily take the stairs, fantastic sunset views. The cons: a little cold because it doesn't get sun until late afternoon, bedrooms are next to each other (unlike T-bldg, where they are separated), master bath shower had major flow restrictor, kitchen pantry door didn't work properly, and night lights on the walkway of the adjacent resort were too bright. We had two maintenance issues and they were resolved very quickly. We looked at 5 other units, for possible future visits, and they all had pros and cons, so if we return it will be another difficult choice. It's too bad there aren't washers/dryers in the unit and that pool towels aren't included, as well as dish soap, a sponge, paper towels and facial tissue. We did get plenty of white towels and toilet paper!

The grounds and beach were beautiful, other than dead fish from the red tide (not their fault). My husband enjoyed a tennis mixer (the clay courts were a big reason we chose this resort) and found a few of the better players to play another day. Unfortunately they don't hold the mixer on weekends. The weight room was sufficient, with bikes, treadmills, a universal gym and some free weights. The business center had good computers and printers. The resort is close to some excellent restaurants (loved the Veg and Cottage) and it's easy to get to Sarasota and Long Boat Key. I hope we can return next winter!

Room Tip: We enjoyed Y308 (on shady side, in winter) but there are many other nice units. Depends on what'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent 5 days at the SSRD. Having never been there before the staff was quite helpful in choosing a unit when I called to book our stay. The unit we rented was up to date, clean and as promised. However, the unit would be nicer with it's own washer and dryer and a few amenities that you typically expect from the owner. ( There were no games or books for instance, which is pretty standard fare for owner owned rentals) Additionally, management does not provide any necessities except soap. It would be nice if they added things like shampoo. And finally, the internet connection ( free wi-fi) was a major issue. It simply does not work. I mentioned it the front office on our second day there ans was told they had called for service. When I checked out 4 days later they seemed surprised that I was still having issues, Don;t count on it functioning.

Having said that, it really looked to me as though the complex is one of the nicer properties on the Key.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club

Address: 5900 Midnight Pass Road, Sarasota, FL 34242
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club delivers the best of all worlds: The newly renovated, privately owned vacation condominiums have full amenities and include resort-like accommodations. Our customer service & satisfaction tops the charts and differentiates us from the many other choices you have when deciding on a vacation rental. Conveniently located close to fine dining and shopping and within minutes of area attractions, this is a perfect year-round island destination for travelers, active seniors, couples, families, or honeymooners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sarasota Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.