We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lake is chock full of sleepy alligators” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Myakka River State Park

Myakka River State Park
13208 State Road 72, Sarasota, FL 34241
941-361-6511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 126 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the original Civilian Conservation Corps parks.
sarasota
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The lake is chock full of sleepy alligators”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Have no fear, the alligators and other fauna are absolutely non threatening. The park and its waterways are uncrowded plus there are cabin available (you need a reservation).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    778
    435
    88
    22
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holmes Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The great FL outdoors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This is a great place to just unwind and appreciate a different side of Florida nature.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Tours and Boat Ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Personal favorite was viewing the aligator in the wild from our boat tour. The guides are knowledgeable and tell great stories. We enjoyed walking around in the park and seeing a piece of old Florida.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great opportunity to see florida wildlife.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Loads of gators...loads of birdlife and a beautiful natural setting. A must.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Nice morning with family in nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I want to go back and explore more, some of the road were closed off, more than likely due to flooding and mud. My family spent the morning here and we started out on the nature trail with the canopy walkway. It was a nice walk through the woods and the view from the observation tower is neat. We heard several Barred Owls calling to each other but did not see them.
The Birdwalk boardwalk out on the lake was nice. We spent about 30 minutes out there and saw many species of birds from songbirds, sparrows and wading birds to birds of prey and vultures.
The Myakka Outpost has a nice gift shop and concessions that are much better than your run-of-the-mill concession stand. The food was reasonably priced and actually delicious. The view was spectacular. We had a wonderful day and will be making a trip back there to explore more and take some nature photos.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myakka River State Park also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Myakka River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myakka River State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.