We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marie Selby Botanical Gardens

Marie Selby Botanical Gardens
811 South Palm Ave., Sarasota, FL 34236-726
941-366-5731
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 49 Attractions in Sarasota
Type: Gardens, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A sprawling botanical garden.
Bucks UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have been to these Gardens several times and always enjoy it. Lovely setting - lovely way to spend a couple of hours.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    180
    39
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Garden by the Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

When visiting Sarasota, be sure to see Marie Selby Botanical Gardens. We enjoyed our first visit as tourists so much, that we joined as soon as we moved here. Don't miss the many trails along the water, the raised canopy trail in the trees, and the wonderful banyan and fig trees with their unique rot system. Selby also plays host to many musical and other events during the year - and is a frequent wedding spot.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“If you like flowers.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I do not have a green thumb but loved looking at all the orchids and bromeliads. This is the largest bromeliad collection in the country. T here is a koi pond with waterfalls and many places to just sit and be peaceful. However, we toured on a hot & humid day and couldn't get through it all because it was so hot. Started as a small rose garden by Marie Selby and was greatly expanded after she died. It is also a scientific botanical research facility. If you like gardening, you will love these gardens.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota,FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful flowers & gorgeous views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Well I live here, so I usually take friends that are down visiting to see it. But I will never forget first time my friends took me - you will love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Views to swoon for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I'm a Selby Gardens fan all the way! Beautifully created gardens stretch all the way to the shoreline of Sarasota Bay, offering some of the best views of the city and from the city! Impeccably maintained.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marie Selby Botanical Gardens also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marie Selby Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.