We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this great little spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solorzano's Italian Restaurant

Solorzano's Italian Restaurant
6516 Superior Avenue, Sarasota, FL 34231
941-906-9444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 832 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
USA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Don't miss this great little spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Went here with some friends for great Italian Food and we were not disappointed.

A quaint little place.

Everything was excellent and the service superb. Owners are there and anxious to make your meal memorable. In fact if you don't see exactly what you would like; just ask, and they will try to accommodate you.

The interesting aspect of this establishment is they do not bash other restaurants. If there is another Italian restaurant that has something they do not (various styles of pizza for example); they are quick to provide good feedback on places you might know of.

Don't pass on dessert; their Tiramisu is fantastic.

Give this place a try. You should not be disappointed. Frankie will take excellent care of you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    30
    11
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Can't believe we never went here before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Our family very much enjoyed our first experience at Solorzano's. We did not have a reservation and it was quite a busy night. The service led by Franca the owner was outstanding. She made our family feel very welcome, especially our young children. The pasta was excellent! Appetizers were very enjoyable, especially the burrata. Solid wine list. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Home cooking family little italy feel. Warm and inviting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The owners are always there. Very cozy and small. You will be amazed when you walk in how nice everything is. Great bread and the food is excellent. Don't miss this place. It like having dinner with family. Did I mention the Sinatra always playing?

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Celebration of the Senses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Solorzano Family has done a wonderful job in this city. The boys each have a Pizzeria plus,and the parents run a comfortable large dining room (small restaurant) in which they invite people to dine. They are now in Gulf Gate. This is the first time we ate at this location, which shows how much we had been missing out! It was a Thursday nite and we wanted to dine there and took a chance at the availability of a table. Fortunately Franca found a way to seat us. From the moment we walked in we knew that everything was going to be perfect just by the look of the room, feel of the space,aromas wafting, energy abounding and our mouths watering. The dining room is beautiful with decor as if we were in their dining room at home. It is over the top with family photos and decor, and handpicked artifacts that make it personal and comfortable. Franca Solorzano runs the front of the house with assistance from a few ladies,which gives every diner a personal experience with the owner and her sweet ambiance. The kitchen is Carlos Solorzano's domain where he conjures up the most
delicious dishes from the simple to the most complicated. Anything this man creates and prepares is exactly what we wanted to eat....and we did!..so will you.
From appetizers to dessert - bottle of wine and coffees...we were delighted.
In case it was a fluke, we went again 2 weeks later and again had the same wonderful
experience. If anybody asks me where I want to eat, I will say Solorzano's, for sure.
Make reservations if you are able. It is a small restaurant. They are very accomodating.
Don't miss the Pizza at the Solorzano Brother's locations in Siesta Key or Webber & Beneva. Best Pizza by far!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siesta Key, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and you have to make your reservation early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great atmosphere, and you must make your reservation early the place is always full! Food is delicious service is good. They really make you feel like your are home (an Italian home) how I grew up lots of great music, great food, the decorations, the furniture, etc. super cozy! Bravo!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solorzano's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Solorzano's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solorzano's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.