We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Toro Bravo

El Toro Bravo
2720 Stickney Point Rd., Sarasota, FL
941-924-0006
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 819 restaurants in Sarasota
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have been searching for authentic Hispanic food in Sarasota and we have finally found it at El Toro Bravo.
It's family, led by chef Rubin and staffed by his family. If you're looking for "heat" or "tex mex," then this is not your restaurant. If you want spice and flavor, then this is the place for you. They allow you to bring your own wine (though I don't know the corkage fee if any).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    180
    46
    14
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“worth a trip to this restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Went there for lunch first time on Valentine's Day. The owner, Ruben, greeted us at the door and he was well dressed in his uniform. The salsa for the chips was amazingly fresh and flavorful.

Ordered Cinco Queso and stuffed jalapenos for appetizers. The jalapenos were very good and the queso was out of world. Small portion was enough for two to four people.

For entrees, we had chili rellenos and stuffed sopapillas (meat only) and they were hot and fresh, although it tasted good but their green chilles sauce is somewhat different from what we have been used to.

Being first time customers, we got complimentary dessert, Tree of Life and this too was out of world. We also ordered flan and that was to die for! The waitress, Paola was very friendly and did a very good job serving us.

The only downside of this is insufficient parking.

Overall, the food and service were wonderful and the restaurant is clean. We would definitely go back!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This Mexican restaurant located in a strip mall does a fantastic business. It is worth the wait to get a table. They have a vegetarian section on the menu and will make any of those items vegan. Our favorite is the veggie spinach burrito served with rice and vegetarian refried beans. The food is delicious. Service is quick and efficient. When we are in Siesta Key we always try to eat here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“True Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Have not found a better mexican restaurant in the sarasota area and will continue to rave about the quality of food and services here. Great value, great food, great service, a must do if in town. Hospitality is unequal than "other mexican" places in town and the food is even better. Will continue to eat here and recommend to friends and family. Do not judge a book by its cover location!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extremely Flavorful and Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you love Mexican food this is the place. Décor is very nice. restaurant is a little small but cozy. Staff is really nice. The owner comes out to greet everyone and thanks everyone for stopping in. He makes you feel like family.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Bravo also viewed

 

Been to El Toro Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Toro Bravo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.