We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love El Toro Bravo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Toro Bravo

El Toro Bravo
2720 Stickney Point Rd., Sarasota, FL 34231
+1 941-924-0006
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 943 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: When it comes to Southwest Mexican cuisine, there is only one place in Sarasota that creates a one-of-a-kind dining experience that keeps visitors and locals coming back for more. Family owned and operated, El Toro Bravo combines fresh, flavorful food along with honest prices and outstanding service.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love, love, love El Toro Bravo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My Husband and I frequent El Toro Brava as much as we can. It's the best food that we've had since we moved from NE PA to Sarasota FL in 2009. Everything is delicious!! It's best to make reservations because they are always busy, even if you call 20 minutes in advance.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trvlbsrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Morris, Connecticut
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Less than ordinary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We walked in at 5:10 pm, 10 minutes after they open, without a reservation; others filed in pretty quickly, mostly local seniors. Decor is virtually non existent. Reception was lukewarm. Two of us ordered an appetizer of Super Nachos with chicken. They arrived with beef (ok, we didn't bother saying anything).The plate had literally 6 large chips with a pile of stuff on top consisting of mostly lettuce, some chopped tomato, a ton of pasty beans; somewhere in there there was some melted cheese....we could have used an entire basket of chips to consume the pile of stuff, and those were offered to us only after our entrees came. The entrees arrived 2-3 minutes after the appetizer-barely had time to start the appetizer before the arrival of entrees, so the Super Nachos stayed at the table. We ordered 2 different entrees and couldn't stop laughing because all 3 plates, the 2 entrees and one appetizer, were made up of the exact same 5 ingredients-- a taco chip (one served in U shape, one flat, one triangle); a ton of lettuce, a few diced tomatoes for color, a sprinkling of shredded chicken and shredded chess.Nothing more, 3 plates , same stuff in all of them. We had to ask for sour cream, for a straw, for another drink. At the end, they asked us if we had ever dined there before to which we responded no-they brought the check with their "signature dessert"...2 tiny fried brownie bites with the word "welcome" written in a dessert sauce on the plate. They never offered any desert-just brought the check and out we went. This was really a sad experience--boring place, rushed service, they ignore you, food was really poor to run of the mill. Sure the tab was a measly $40-but I wouldn't go here again even if it was $5 for the piles of nothing.Honestly the beef looked like dog food and the shredded chicken was in rations.....lots of lettuce though. I am assuming people think it's great because you do get huge piles of "stuff" for relatively little cost--loser in my book.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RMH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“My new favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My oldest daughter and I tried El Toro Bravo for the first time this past week while she was home from school for spring break. We loved the food & the service was exceptional! Up until our visit to El Toro Bravo we had a different favorite Mexican restaurant in town, we were drawn by hearing reviews and thought we'd try it out and we're so happy we did! The cinco queso is outta this world! Prices were reasonable and great food and great service, can't beat that!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great authentic Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Uncommonly warm and accommodating staff even as friendly Florida goes. The food was wonderful and the service was speedy. The prices were very reasonable. I would recommend this lovely little restaurant without reservation!

Helpful?
1 Thank Fergie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota FL
Level Contributor
328 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Consistently good...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My favorite Mexican restaurant in town. Loved everything I have had there. Often they offer birthday specials through Sarasota Sally, too. Last time I had the fajitas, and they were great!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeanninelehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Bravo also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Toro Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing