We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Toro Bravo

El Toro Bravo
2720 Stickney Point Rd., Sarasota, FL 34231
+1 941-924-0006
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 832 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Description: When it comes to Southwest Mexican cuisine, there is only one place in Sarasota that creates a one-of-a-kind dining experience that keeps visitors and locals coming back for more. Family owned and operated, El Toro Bravo combines fresh, flavorful food along with honest prices and outstanding service.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“My new favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My oldest daughter and I tried El Toro Bravo for the first time this past week while she was home from school for spring break. We loved the food & the service was exceptional! Up until our visit to El Toro Bravo we had a different favorite Mexican restaurant in town, we were drawn by hearing reviews and thought we'd try it out and we're so happy we did! The cinco queso is outta this world! Prices were reasonable and great food and great service, can't beat that!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    53
    14
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horseheads, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great authentic Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Uncommonly warm and accommodating staff even as friendly Florida goes. The food was wonderful and the service was speedy. The prices were very reasonable. I would recommend this lovely little restaurant without reservation!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota FL
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Consistently good...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My favorite Mexican restaurant in town. Loved everything I have had there. Often they offer birthday specials through Sarasota Sally, too. Last time I had the fajitas, and they were great!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“THIS IS ONE PLACE I WILL NEVER TIRE OF DINING AT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Not only is the South Western Mexican flavor authentic, the food is consistently better than any other Mexican place in this area. The owners and servers treat you like family, it's a real pleasure to recommend this fantastic restaurant. I do wish I lived closer, but I will continue to drive the 35 some odd miles to go there once a week. IT'S THAT GOOD!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I will definitely return to this restaurant. The menu has many choices...I ordered a vegetarian dish. The food was generous, high quality and delicious. The atmosphere is intimate and fun at the same time. The place is spotless. The staff friendly and efficient. First timers are given a complimentary "welcome" dessert...two warm, yummy, bite size brownies with real whipped cream and a raspberry drizzle all formed to appear as a bouquet of flowers.
The friend who brought me here is called "Mama Mia". She's been a regular for a while. The owner and the staff treated her kindly, lovingly and with great respect. This place was a super experience in every way!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Bravo also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Toro Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Toro Bravo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.