We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST Southwest taste in Sarasota” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Toro Bravo

El Toro Bravo
2720 Stickney Point Rd., Sarasota, FL
941-924-0006
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 828 restaurants in Sarasota
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The BEST Southwest taste in Sarasota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you want really authentic southwest mexican food you better go here. Ruben and his staff make the freshest and tastiest food in Sarasota. Bar none! Super price and friendly, "greet you at your table" service. But the star is the food. Go hungry.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    188
    48
    14
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Euclid, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went to this restaurant for the 1st time this season, as we just arrived in Sarasota. We have enjoyed their wonderful Mexican food in the past, & this was not exception. The food was excellent (if you enjoy Mexican food) & authentically Mexican. The service was excellent & we had the usual visit to our table by the chef/owner. The price was most reasonable for the large servings we ordered. We definately will be going back several times before we return home.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrific mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Make a point of eating here whenever we are in town. The owner Reuben puts on a consistently excellent selection and presentation. He is always around in his colorful pants and is happy to give advice and modify meals if needed Don't miss this delight

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
“Excellent Mexican Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our family comes to Sarasota every year and we eat at El Toro Bravo numerous times while we are there!! We cant get enough!! The delicious food, the friendly staff and the fun atmosphere keep us coming back for more! Try it! You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't Get Enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We vacation in Sarasota every winter. El Toro Bravo is our absolute favorite place to eat. Not only is it the best authentic Mexican food in Sarasota, it's the best we have ever eaten anywhere. The owner and his wife remember us each year and are such gracious hosts, always mingling and visiting with each customer. The staff is amazing, on top of even the smallest details and never getting our orders wrong. The food is delicious. Chips and salsa so fresh, food cooked fresh upon order. Truly EXCELLENT food, we eat there nearly every day that we are there! (Our favs: shredded chicken chimichanga, chili Colorado, stuffed sopapilla, chili rellanos, and enchiladas- BUT I'd be willing to bet you can't go wrong with anything on the menu!) We highly recommend El Toro Bravo!! Can't wait to go back . . .

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Bravo also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Toro Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Toro Bravo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.