We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Salsa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Toro Bravo

El Toro Bravo
2720 Stickney Point Rd., Sarasota, FL
941-924-0006
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 820 restaurants in Sarasota
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Salsa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We finally got seated after arriving without a reservation. We were told it would be a 5 minute wait. It ended up being at least half and hour or more. Seems the people moved in ahead of us were coming with phoned reservations. We learned the hard way! Salsa was eventually served outside with chips on the tables where we waited. The maitre 'd had forgotten to give us a number and that was why we were by-passed, we learned. The chile rellanos were excellent as were the sides of refried beans and Spanish rice. The fresh limeade was replenished regularly and was appreciated. Ruebe is always the gracious host coming a chatting at each table.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    180
    46
    14
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Mexican food and friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We just ate hear and we wish we had known about it sooner. We are leaving Sarasota tomorrow. The food was the best Mexican food we have had in Florida. The whole staff was friendly and thanked us for coming. Our waitress Ana was very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“EL TOROS Is the Best Mexican Restauranr in Sarasota”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

EL TOROS Is the Best Mexican Restaurant in Sarasota, I question why they've dropped to #15 :( Maybe competitors are affecting the ratings. Any way I had the enchilada there recently and they were excellent. They bring free chips and salsa and keep bringing it as long as you want more. The food and the service is always great !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went on recommendation from daughter, very happy we stopped and had dinner there... Food was great, waite staff was great... Priced right/per portion size... Parking is not so good...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife had the Guadalajara which she thought was fabulous. Layered with lettuce, chicken, green sauce, and not too heavy on the refried. Be prepared for it to be hot, but it is still flavorful.

I had the sopaipilla stuffed with chicken smothered in cheese and a green sauce. Lots of flavor and a good portion size.

Reuban the owner was very friendly and mingled with all the customers. They are from New Mexico. So real Southwest food for sure. He brought us a little welcome desert for our first visit. We sat next to two gentlemen who came there about once per week. Nothing like repeat biz to endorse a good restaurant.

Decor is basic, not a lot of tables so come early, service was good. Washroom was clean.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Bravo also viewed

 

Been to El Toro Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Toro Bravo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.