We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need help” 3 of 5 stars
Review of WaterColor Inn and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added WaterColor Inn and Resort to your Saves list
WaterColor Inn and Resort
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   34 Goldenrod Circle, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Waterloo, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Need help”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very nice property but apparently need more staff. When we arrived at 3 pm they were out of beach towels. We then headed to the adult pool and not once were asked if we needed something to drink. The water canister had ice and oranges in it but no water. After swimming we went to our room only to take a cold shower. Called the front desk and immediately had an engineer up to evaluate the situation. He said it had to run for awhile but I did not check myself to see if this was true. Finished off the evening by having dining at "A fish out of water". Excellent restaurant. The next morning we had rented chairs at the beach. It was very crowded and had to walk quite a bit to get to our seats. After an hour at the beach we decided to get cleaned up and leave the property. When we went to take our shower, we still only had cold water. Talked to the front desk when leaving the property about the problem with the shower and didn't seem to really care. This could be a very nice place but for the price we paid for a room was definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced and know that your comments will assist us in improving our services for future guests.
While we are aware your stay was not perfect, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience. Thank you again for your review and we sincerely hope you will give us a second chance to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    63
    33
    22
    10
See reviews for
127
126
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have stayed at WaterColor a number of times; both at WaterColor Inn, and in WaterColor Vacation Homes. The Inn is one of my all-time favorite places to stay. The level of personalized and detailed service won me over years ago, and the charm of the Inn is like nothing else in the 30A area. And every stay in the vacation homes has exceeded my expectations. My last stay was just this past weekend, with a group of girlfriends celebrating an upcoming wedding. When we arrived late Friday, we realized that there was a mix-up on the reservation. (OUR fault, not theirs) but they went above and beyond to accommodate us, and turned, what could have been, a terrible and costly experience, into one of the best weekends we have ever had! The vacation home that we stayed in was absolutely beautiful, first class, spacious, well stocked with everything we needed: bikes, grill, kitchen accoutrements.. . We wanted for nothing! And the service that we received was in keeping with a 5 star resort....friendly, accommodating, and in our case: patient and graceful: (The girlfriend in charge of booking our girls weekend, mistakenly booked the wrong dates.) She was in tears at the prospect of having ruined this really special (and long planned) weekend. The WaterColor receptionist handled the situation with Grace, kindness and understanding. And we went from dread to joy in no time flat. I would highly recommend WaterColor Inn and WaterColor Vacation homes. Had we not booked with WaterColor, I feel sure our weekend would have been ruined. They've made a lifelong fan out of me. (and I feel confident that the rest of the girls would feel the same!)

Room Tip: NOTE: Not every rental house in the WaterColor AREA is part of the WaterColor or WaterSound Vacatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your comments and are glad that the situation was fixable and you were able to have a great vacation. We look forward to your return and if we can assist you with your future reservations, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

WaterColor should pay more attention to having their marketing line up with what is being delivered to their customers!

Visited WaterColor in the past and had a good experience, decided to return - never will again. You get what you pay for...? Not this time...! We do not mind paying more for convenience, access to activities, and nice comfortable accommodations if that is what we receive. The house was much smaller (4 bedroom was booked) than expected, not a big deal. However, there was NO storage in the bedrooms for clothing (no dressers in two rooms and only shelves in another) and only small, cheap shelves in one bathroom. When traveling with kids, living out of a suitcase is NOT expected. One room we couldn't even open the closet because the bed was blocking access. The kitchen was poorly equipped to the point where we had to purchase a couple items, sprayer at the sink, piece of junk grill (no they are not required to have one, but again, for the cost they should!). The refrigerator leaked, the TV were dated, blurry, and small (maybe 17" in bedrooms) - at best - made for less than enjoyably indoors downtime. I guess when you pay in excess of $6000 for a week, we expected to receive accommodations commensurate with the cost. ...the property should rent for 60% of actual cost, at best!

I will add, there are many beautiful properties in WaterColor, but be careful you don't get a lemon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments regarding the home you stayed in, however we reserve the right to disagree. The bedrooms of the home are clearly pictured on our website and our reservation department will assist guests with locating these homes online. We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and we hope that you will give us another chance to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our family love visiting WaterColor resort. We love the white sand beach, riding bikes, and close proximity to Seaside. I was really disappointed with numerous things.
Cleaning service for the Condo was poor. The A/C didn't work. I called for room service and was't delivered.
I had an issue with bike lock. They came to clamp it at Seaside. He didn't wanted to walk to the van to get a new lock for me so he asked me to come to the bike barn next day to get a new lock .
The lady at the front desk at Fish out of the Sea was incredibly rude. I went during kids eat free from 5:30 to 6. For no reason at all, she yelled across the room, "kids eat free!' The food was pretty average for a high end restaurant.
I had an issue with the Beach Club Grille as well. The fish sticks tasted disgusting. The kids chicken nuggets came with 4 stale nuggets. The waiter was incredibly rude as well. I just ordered one meal since it was our last day and sick of eating the food. He told me that I could only have one chair with the table since i just ordered one meal even though there were four in our family. The other family needed chair but, there were other chairs available other family wasn't using. Also, there are no launge chairs by the shallow end of the pool. I used one chair to watch small children by the shallow end and the waiter kicked me out saying that these chairs are for dining purpose only when the place was nearly empty. I was dumbfounded with these incredibly rude staffs. I wouldn't expect these services. I thought WaterColor is high end resort with higher level of services.

Room Tip: They didn't changed the lines at mid week cleaning even though the sheets were all sandy. House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the resort. We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. While there are statements made in your review that we do not agree with, we appreciate you taking the time to write your review. At the resort and at our restaurants we strive to provide positive guest experiences. We regret that your concerns were not brought to our attention during your stay, to allow management a chance to respond appropriately. Again thank you for your comments and we hope that you would give us another opportunity to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Wife and I stayed four nights and enjoyed it immensely. This is a well kept facility, very tastefully done. They clearly thought through every detail, even their logo my wife and i both loved. The staff were wonderful, each and every one of them.

We didn't realize when we booked how large the facility was and how much it had to offer. From the moment we arrived and saw there was ample parking and no need to valet, I was very pleased. We ate at the wine bar/Italian restaurant twice and the food was excellent.

If I had to be nit picky I would say a few things that could be changed:

1). The $25/day for two beach chairs was a bit steep for my tastes, especially considering what the rooms cost per night. Plus it was a hassle to get them rented.

2). I'd like to see them add an additional casual place to eat on the premises, because driving down the road where there are more options is a hassle. Just a casual burger hut/sandwich place would be a nice addition.

These are small issues in the grand scheme of things and we enjoyed our stay immensely and plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for writing a review of our resort. We appreciate all of your comments and are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. Please let us know if we can assist you with your return reservations and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The rooms in the inn are very large, very comfortable, well appointed with great views of beach and/or dunes. Even have a view of the dunes from the shower while still in complete privacy. Every room has a patio or balcony with comfortable chairs. The place is very attractive and the staff is uniformly friendly and helpful. Free use of bikes any time you want one was a nice plus. Easy bike ride into Seaside. Happy hour at the Gathering Spot is a great deal for sushi and drinks.
A few minor problems -- the stair well did not seem to be vacuumed all week. A few cheerios on the floor behind the TV cabinet when we arrived. And the beach is very sloped at the waterline, so hard to walk on -- but it is a beautiful white sand beach. And several times there were no clean towels at the adult pool.
But we will definitely return to the Watercolor Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for pointing out some of the best features of our hotel and location. We agree that the beach views are great and are happy to hear that you had a wonderful vacation. We appreciate your comments regarding housekeeping, it will help our staff to improve our services. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Long drive from Houston but well worth it. Fantastic family atmosphere, great food and shopping. Great sunrise and sunsets and just loved spending time on the beach. Looking forward to next year.Rental homes seem to be very expensive considering traveling in the off season when it will be less crowded.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Guest Services at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for making that long drive to visit our resort. We agree that we have a fantastic family atmosphere. The off season is a great time to visit and still get those amazing sunrises and sunsets. If we can assist you with your next reservation, please give us a call. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WaterColor Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WaterColor Inn and Resort

Address: 34 Goldenrod Circle, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Santa Rosa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Rosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — WaterColor Inn and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a pristine white-sand beach overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, the AAA Four Diamond WaterColor Inn and Resort provides chic accommodations and acclaimed amenities in idyllic surroundings. From dining on award-winning gourmet cuisine to great golfing and complimentary kayaking, canoeing and tennis, activities abound. Kids also have a special space all their own at Camp WaterColor, which boasts a tremendous program including theater and surfing workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your WaterColor Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watercolor Hotel Santa Rosa Beach
Water Color Hotel
WaterColor Inn And Resort Florida/Santa Rosa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WaterColor Inn and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.