We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will absolutely visit again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WaterColor Inn and Resort

Save Saved
You added WaterColor Inn and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
WaterColor Inn and Resort
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   34 Goldenrod Circle, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
NOLA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“We will absolutely visit again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We chose to visit Watercolor Inn after quite a bit of research. Our criteria included a quiet stay, an adult only pool, easy access to exceptional dining plus a great beach.
We picked the weekend after Labor Day in hopes of missing some of the crowd. We reserved a room on the 4th floor because of the reviews about the view and yes it was exceptional, however I would not hesitate to stay in one of the ground floor rooms because they have easy access to the beach, a nice patio area plus an outdoor shower. The rooms are spacious and lovely but from what I understand they are all similar so if you don't plan to stay in your room that much then save the extra for a nice dinner. The bed was extremely comfortable and the inn very quiet so we slept exceptionally well. We really enjoyed the open shower and bathroom floor plan and thought it made the accommodations seem even more spacious. The “paint tube” amenities were an enjoyable touch.
The pools are lovely but we especially enjoyed the quiet adult only pool just off the lobby. Towels are provided plus a carafe of citrus infused drinking water.
We ate at Fish Out of Water and the Beach Club grill. The prices are on the higher end but we found the portions to be quite large. I think we could have shared. The food was good but I would not say WOW- but the service was always good. We enjoyed the lobby bar but I will have to agree that the prices for cocktails seem a bit up there, however, one is paying for convenience as well, and there is something to be said for that.
The beach is fabulous! Even though we visited after hurricane Isaac, and the water was not the typical emerald green, it was clear and the beach tidy. We rented chairs for the day, which was very convenient while on the beach and the staff courteous. Making a reservation for the chairs IS a bit of a pain and I feel like they are packed in too close together (we were there during a slow time even). Something others might want to consider.
We used the resort bikes for one day to tour around Watercolor and Seaside, I highly recommend this! (One can easily walk to Seaside within 10 minutes of so.) We also spent some time shopping and eating away from the Inn. Wine World across the street was very good and we also enjoyed Crush.
Watercolor Inn certainly met our criteria and we truly enjoyed our stay. I would have given the property an excellent rating however there were a few maintenance issues we encountered. While the staff was responsive to our requests, these were things that could have been addressed prior to a guest checking in had someone been paying attention.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. As you point out we have plenty of activities and dining options available to our guests at the resort and in the neighboring communities which add to our guest’s enjoyment. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next vacation to WaterColor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    59
    32
    22
    9
See reviews for
116
123
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband & I went down on Labor Day thinking that since we were looking for a romantic get-a-way it would be best to wait until the holiday traffic cleared out. The problem was that with the clearing of Labor Day it seemed like the staff & ground's keepers also cleared out. The pools were filled with dead baby frogs all four days we were there and the beaches still had debris from the storms that had passed more than a week prior (seems like they had had plenty of time to clear). Our room was outstanding but the service was not what we had expected with the price compared to other places we have stayed for the same. There is only one very pricey restaurant 'Fish Out of Water' on site other than the less than average/over priced pool eatery. If you want to dine well you must travel off property. The ground's maintenance was sub standard. Not sure if we would return for second chance when there are so many options

Room Tip: For adult vacation try the WaterSound Condos for the ultimate privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Our apologies for the issues you had during your stay. When a weather event occurs such as a tropical storm, guest safety has priority over other duties for all staff. We do try to make sure every guest experience is what they envisioned, and we are disappointed when we fail in those efforts. Thank you for your patronage and we hope that you decide to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at the Inn portion of the WaterColor Resort. We had a 4th floor room, which is where the best views are. Lower floors have lesser views and if you stay on the 1st floor your view is of the sand dunes.

Pros - Good service, great main restaurant (had wonderful breakfast and dinner), nicely furnished, easy parking/access, within walking distance to shops at WaterColor (loved the Blue Giraffe art gallery) and a little longer walk to Seaside. Fabulous view if you're on the 4th floor - - nothing compares to sitting on the balcony overlooking the ocean. The spa was small but the pedicure/manicure services were good. The zero gravity chair they use for pedicures is great. They have an adults only pool, which we really appreciated as it was just me and my husband and the pool where kids could go was extremely crowded. We had a very nice evening in the lobby bar with live music. They have a library with free DVDs (with a DVD player in the room), which was nice. Unfortunately, our DVD player wasn't working, but when we advised the hotel of the problem the next day, they quickly provided a replacement.

Cons - We got in late at night and had reserved a wheelchair accessible room. Unfortunately, they had not put us in the accessible room, which created difficulties and the late night desk person was unable to make any changes. To their credit, they were able to move us the next day and provided a partial credit for our inconvenience. We had lunch one day at the restaurant/bar located by the family/kids pool...the service and overall appearance/cleanliness of the restaurant was disappointing for a property in this price range.

With the exception of the room issue, we had a lovely stay and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Our apologies for the issues you had with your guestroom. We are glad that you enjoyed the amenities available here at the resort. Thank You for taking the time to post your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

If you want a resort that is CLEAN, the food is EXCELLENT, the service is beyond GREAT, and the people surpass FRIENDLY and HELPFUL, you need to visit the WaterColor Inn Resort. There are so many amenities that are available for you to take advantage of or wander off on your own. If the beach is all you want, the beach is all right there at your footsteps. If you want to be entertained, there are many ways to be entertained, and if you want to be pampered you can be and will be pampered and yet, you will not break the bank. This is a wonderfully well kept place and one we stumbled on and will stumble back to many more times. We loved our five days!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and the view of the Gulf was perfect, the only floor better would have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at WaterColor. Thank you for pointing out some of the reasons for visiting our Resort – clean and comfortable with beautiful beaches and personal attention from the staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here over Labor day weekend. What can I say - crowded. A lot of families with kids of all ages. We stayed in a top floor vacation rental condo. 1 bedroom + loft. We had gulf views. Very nicely decorated condo with everything one might need. Only concern was in-window AC in the loft. Very loud and didn't do a good job.
Water was warm but not very clear, thanks to Isaac. At least no creatures in. Resort fee covered pool and beach towels. However, umbrella and chairs rental was pricey. Couldn't set up our tent on a beach though. But we were lucky to have an umbrella in our condo. Main pool at the Beach Club was overchlorinated. Towels were a little overused. Didn't have any problems getting them. However, they run out of beach towels by 10:30 one day. Dudn't use any other pools except for kids' pool at the Camp.
SPA was on a small side. We were expecting something bigger and nicer. Nail technician was working basically in the SPA lobby. Would have enjoyed sauna and steam room after massage if they had it.
We enjoyed complimentary bicycles and went on a ride around resort.
Overall, we liked the Watercolor very much and will consider of coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit over the Labor Day Weekend. The pools were treated earlier in the week as a precautionary method as there were expectations of Hurricane Isaac making landfall in the panhandle. We appreciate your patronage of our resort so soon after a storm event in the Gulf of Mexico and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Very nice hotel, rooms very nice and very comfy. location superb. The facilities were excellent especially the gym. Food excellent and servce even better.
All the staff were amazing, any problem they sort straight away.
overall excdellent

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for the complimentary review! We are happy to hear that your stay was quite enjoyable, and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

spent a 4 day weekend here in August, prior to Hurricane Isaac. Accomodations, service, and beach were awesome! the ability to walk to various spots is a plus, with lots of options to eat. well maintained and great staff throughout.

Room Tip: stay in the Inn on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watercolorinn, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were able to experience our amenities here at WaterColor Resort. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WaterColor Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WaterColor Inn and Resort

Address: 34 Goldenrod Circle, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Santa Rosa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Rosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — WaterColor Inn and Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a pristine white-sand beach overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, the AAA Four Diamond WaterColor Inn and Resort provides chic accommodations and acclaimed amenities in idyllic surroundings. From dining on award-winning gourmet cuisine to great golfing and complimentary kayaking, canoeing and tennis, activities abound. Kids also have a special space all their own at Camp WaterColor, which boasts a tremendous program including theater and surfing workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Amex, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your WaterColor Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watercolor Hotel Santa Rosa Beach
Water Color Hotel
WaterColor Inn And Resort Florida/Santa Rosa Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WaterColor Inn and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.