We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Food, Service and Ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Out Of Water

Fish Out Of Water
34 Goldenrod Circle, WaterColor Inn, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32458
+1 850-534-5050
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fish Out Of Water is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 30-A
Description: Fish Out of Water, the WaterColor Inn & Resort’s signature restaurant, sets a glamorous scene overlooking the emerald waters of the Gulf of Mexico, with virtuoso cuisine and a distinctive wine list to match. The freshest local fish and meats, combined with an eclectic approach to traditional ways of preparing and serving food, translating into dishes unlike anything else offered in the area. A semi-private dining room is available, lined with bottles from the restaurant’s collection of over 3,000, representing some 600+ labels. Fish Out of Water has earned a number of distinctions for excellence. In addition, to garnering an AAA four diamond award, received a Golden Spoon Award from Florida Trend magazine, and also earned a Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine.
Little Rock, AR
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superior Food, Service and Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I had dinner at the end of a 10 day trip to the area. Everything about it was superior. My favorite local restaurant has always been 30A, but FIsh Out of Water gives it a run for that honor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Fish Out Of Water, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review about our restaurant. We’re glad that you were able to make us a part of your trip to the area and that you had such a great time. We look forward to having you dine with us again and please let us know how we can assist you with your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    32
    16
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We went to Happy Hour at Fish Out of Water and had a great experience! They have live entertainment on Monday Evenings! The musician was quite entertaining! The server was great but the Sushi was tasty! We LOVED it! You have got to go for Happy Hour! 5-6pm every evening!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Fish Out Of Water, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It’s always nice to hear great feedback from our guests. We’re glad that you had such a wonderful dining experience at our resort’s sushi bar and we look forward to serving you at our other outlets in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Second Round -- Even Better than the First”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Once again I found my way back to this great location that truly has some wonderful food and service. The best combination for any restaurant. Each course I enjoyed seem to get better as the meal progressed. Bill, once again proved to be the epitome of what a server should...friendly, engaging, interactive and informative, plus offering great service throughout the meal. You have to visit with Jerry at the bar and try one of his unique concoctions. He is truly a great mixologist. Make sure to ask him about his chocolate making dreams and aspiration. Finally, John, the GM has the right focus and attitude in every interaction. He truly serves the customers and his staff well. If you need a recommendations for what drink with dinner, make sure to ask him. Though I come from PA, I look forward to being back in the area of this restaurant, as I know a return visit will happen. You must check it out to see what I mean.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Fish Out Of Water, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write another review of our restaurant. It’s great to see that you found your second dining experience just as enjoyable as the first one. We’ll look forward to your next visit with us and once again please let us know if you need any assistance with your reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Highly Recommended!!! The food is delish! And Steve is an amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very nice ambiance! Sat on the patio - priceless! Even after the sun goes down, the stars shine!!! Steven is THE BEST waiter I have ever had! He describes each entree down to the finer details! Well worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Fish Out Of Water, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for posting this review. We’re happy that you had such a great time dining on our patio. We’ll be sure to pass along the compliments to Steven and we look forward to you joining us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“only have been for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

and it's amazing. It's not cheap, but you're on vacation, the french toast is the best on the planet, and Woody is a fabulous & polite server who knows his fantasy football. They couldn't be more accommodating! Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Fish Out Of Water, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We’re glad that you joined us for breakfast and had such an enjoyable time. We will look forward to you dining with us again on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Out Of Water also viewed

Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Fish Out Of Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Out Of Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.