We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside staple” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bud and Alley's

Bud and Alley's
Highway 30a, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
850-231-5900
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $29
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Kennett, Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Seaside staple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Noisy, and crowded, but the scallops were worth the trip. The Shrimp bisque was watered down, and not much taste. Lobster taco and Grouper needed more seasoning, also. Long line for bathrooms, and fire alarm kept going off? Waitress was very nice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    72
    52
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Overrated and Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Given the difficulty of getting a reservation, we were stunned at the mediocrity of the food.

Two of us ordered the very expensive whole red snapper and found it dull and tasteless. One of our party happily ordered and anticipated the fried catfish but was disappointed to receive only two small strips of fish on the plate. The happiest of our group ordered chicken strips from the children's menu.

We chose to get ice cream at nearby shops for dessert.

Friends, this place must operate off an old and more positive impression from years past or the view that it's the top place on the square. My advice: go less than a mile down the road to V's or Cafe 30A, arrive before 6 pm, and have a much finer meal at far less expense.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over-priced-misinformed-loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went in for a romantic dinner, ordered the whole fish, got a red snapper that was hot and dry, (resembling a burnt goldfish), some under-seasoned green beans and new potatoes, floating in a small cool sea of butter and oil. Were assured it was a meal fit for two, but once past the head and bones we got about five bites. My wife ordered a side of asparagus which saved the day, but overall not a good experience. Add to that being seated facing a dark corner next to some obnoxious drunks and we paid a bargain 65$, no drinks, just water. On quick reflection we realized the waiter had also misinformed us about the fish, he had said it would be tuna...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Love love love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Wish we had this restaurant where we live. We enjoyed the fried crabclaws and tuna dip and shrimp. But MOST of all the crabcakes were AMAZING!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Skip this one; it's riding the coattails of its past”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

They are clearly trying to be too much. The service was not unfriendly, but certainly wasn't that of employees who care about what they do. In fact, the bus boy was a little surly. The descriptions of the fish dishes we ordered sounded divine, but they were not good at all. They were extremely dry -- had been overcooked to begin with and then left to sit there for too long before bringing them to our table. The seasonings described weren't there. If the fish had been fresh and not overcooked, though, it would have at least had that wonderful natural flavor. You expect more when you spend $169 for a family of 4 to eat, and there are way too many fabulous restaurants in the area whose management is excited about what they do: Old Florida Fish House, Cafe 30A, Local Catch... to waste even one meal here. Bud & Alley's dominates the area and clearly spends incredible amounts of money marketing their restaurants to support that. Don't be fooled. If they would just spend half of that marketing money on doing what they do right, they could be great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bud and Alley's also viewed

Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Bud and Alley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bud and Alley's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.