We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the rest of the island eateries” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Schnapper's Hots

Schnapper's Hots
1528 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
239-472-8686
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Like the rest of the island eateries”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

After eating at several places here, I've determined that my small family of three (mu husband, myself and our 4 year old) cannot eat anywhere for lunch for less than $40, which is absurd when considering the food. I had the haddock basket (12.95), my husband had a hamburger (6.95) (they only sell a cheeseburger and charged $1 for lettuce and tomato), and my daughter had a hot dog kids meal. The kids meal included the price of the drink and came in a cute boat with fries and a toy- another restaurant that understands children. We also ordered a shake ($4.95) and an order of onion rings for two (6.99). The shake was made from Edys ice cream and was nothing great. The onion rings were really spicy. My husband loved his burger, and my haddock was good. The fries were the best we've had on the island. However, there isn't any indoor seating- 3 picnic tables outside. So get it and leave.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    101
    49
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“too expensive for a hot dog and fries.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

the kids meal was neat, but was just a hot dog and fries with toy in a cardboard boat. I got a char-dog wich was basically a hotdog on a grill. Add fries and drink and it was nearly 20 bucks. Way too high for nothing special.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Dogs around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Wonderful charming little spot on periwinkle with some great dogs and fries. Hot dogs cooked to perfection with just the right amount of snap to the casings. Staff is friendly and I even met the owner and his girlfriend who took great care of us. This is a fun spot to hit with the kids and grab some quick delicious food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Schnapper's Hots has some of the best food I've ever tasted. From their hot dogs to their burgers, everything comes out hot and delicious. The french fries are great and served in cool little french fry cups, and you have the opportunity to eat outside or inside. mmm!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markleville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Food! Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Got a Slaw dog onion rings and it was Great! The guy (maybe the owner) asked where we were from and I told him that we been coming to Sanibel for years but it was our first visit. He said " You will be back!" He was right. Great food and service will assure Schnappers that we will return. Standing room only in the waiting area but for food this good it is worth it! A must go if you go to Sanibel!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schnapper's Hots also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Schnapper's Hots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schnapper's Hots, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.