We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean's Reach Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean's Reach Condominiums to your Saves list
Ocean's Reach Condominiums
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2230 Camino del Mar, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have stayed at Ocean's Reach 5 times over the past 9 years. Each condo has an oceanview with screened balconies. A great place to sit and watch the sunset after a full day at the beach. The staff is welcoming and friendly. If you run out of something, they are quick to help you.
The property is steps away from the beach and each unit comes with chairs and an umbrella. Get to the beach quick, as it can fill up!
If you can stand the heat, the tennis court and basketball court are fun! If you are too exhausted from the day, play a game of shuffle board while you cook your burgers on the grill...
Highly recommend this place to anyone that wants a perfect vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for Andy. He knows it all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    31
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
169
122
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent the week of Aug 3-10. We were in 1B4. Very nice, very clean, pretty well stocked with things you need. Loved the fact that the elevator was in this building. Covered parking space adjoined the building and was next to the entrance stairway/elevator. Very convenient, especially if it was raining! The bathroom was a little small, not much vanity space so you couldn't keep your toiletries out, no space to put them! My main complaint was with the mattress on the bed. I like firm, but this mattress was beyond firm! You lay on it, it does not give! It made our backs and shoulders sore! The kitchen was nice, new stainless steel appliances, ice and water in the door of the 'fridge. Beach chairs, couple of umbrellas, shelling nets, beach/water toys, boogie boards all in the supply closet with your parking space which was very nice as we came in a Corvette, not a lot of space to bring extra stuff! Beach was nice, water not great, brown and not very clear but went swimming every day. The grounds were well attended to, pool was clean, staff very friendly. Our unit was a 1 BR so we had the large lanai. I know they are screened because of the insect problem but I really missed leaning on the railing and just watching the ocean. You have to stand back from the screen so your eyes will adjust to be able to see through the screen. Pictures are not real good shot through the screen either, but you can't have everything! We would definitely stay at Oceans Reach again!

Room Tip: Building 1 has an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Save time researching other lodging while on Sanibel. Ocean's Reach has become our vacation home. No problems. No hassles. Great ocean views. They are always improving something and keeping the buildings maintained well. We cannot wait till our 8th stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was the first time I stayed Oceans Reach and it certainly won't be the last. Everything was just perfect from the condo (which was especially nice and set out) , to the staff, to the beach. Sanibel is so special in and of itself, but Oceans Reach made it even more so. I was traveling solo and felt very safe and secure. I have traveled to many places over many years and it would be hard to top Oceans Reach. It is very close to shopping and dining and most anything else one would want to enjoy. I stayed on the third floor and had a wonderful ocean front view. Highly, highly recommend Oceans Reach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Oceanfront Condo complex. I rented 2 bedroom unit. The unit was on the 3 floor with great oceanfront view. Nice, clean pool that was on the beach. Unit was clean. However, I left a package of donuts (wasn't open) on the counter and when I got up the next morning there was about 100 ants in the package and crawling on the counter top. I informed the front desk and complain about it. They explain, that they have someone once a month that comes in a sprays. They sent up 2 ant traps for me to set out. By the end of the day all ants was gone. I used to live in florida and know there were always ants around. I just kept all food in the refrigerator. Don't be discourage from staying here. It's a nice small place. Also, bring bug spray with you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansreach, General Manager at Ocean's Reach Condominiums, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. As much as we love to have visitors, there are certainly some "pesky little visitors" that we'd prefer not to host! As you mentioned, Florida is known for buggy situations every now and then, and at Ocean's Reach we maintain a strict pest control schedule to try to ward them off the best we can. We do suggest that sugary foods and any other items bugs may be attracted to be stored in airtight containers and/or in the refrigerator. We're sorry for any inconvenience this situation may have caused and do look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Every summer we anxiously await for our return to paradise! We love Sanibel and Ocean's Reach is our home away from home! Our group grows each year as we share our little secret of paradise with family and friends...and they always return! All ages are entertained and relaxed as we enjoy all that Ocean's Reach and Sanibel has to offer. From the beautiful beaches to the clean and comfortable accomodations - there is not a thing that is lacking for the perfect vacation! Thank you Ocean's Reach for all the amazing memories and we look forward to many many more! We love this place!

Room Tip: We love the groud floor condos...mainly because with children - it is wonderful and convenient to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

No major complaints. At first I thought the location of our unit would be a major problem. We were in 2A1 right by the pool. It could get very loud during the day, but everyone respected the pool times. No kids before 10 am and no swim after dark. However, we were on display if we had our curtains open, which was kind of annoying. The only reason why we didn't ask to switch was because we loved the unit itself. The kitchen was very large. The beds, pillows and linens were extremely comfortable and 2 bathrooms. The unit had everything we needed and more. ( beach toys, bug spray, sunscreen, movies, books games) 3 flat screen TVs. The beach was full of shells and dolphins. Some days the water was clear, others murky. Oceans reach was close to Jerry's grocery and diner, so that was really convenient. We had 2 boys with us ( 11 & 15) they had a nice time, but they would have preferred a bigger pool. A lot more activity going on at CasaYBel a short walk away. So we kept them busy with day trips. Call ahead for early check in, our room was ready for us.

Room Tip: You can view all rooms on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean's Reach Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean's Reach Condominiums

Address: 2230 Camino del Mar, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean's Reach Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Oceanfront 1 & 2 bed Condos. Enjoy the amenities of home at the beach. Every building is only 19 steps to the beach. All units have a bath for each bedroom. Amenities: Free wireless, Tennis, Basketball, Pool, Shuffleboard, DVD, Elevators, Washer/Dryer, Large Shell Cleaning Station, Gulf-side Pool, Outdoor dining and grill area, on-site Guest Services, Fully equipped units. Units all look out to the beautiful gulf beach. Bike rental is on site. Total remodeling complete in 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ocean's Reach Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean`s Reach Condominiums Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean's Reach Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.