We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stop on our bikes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Melissa's Cafe

Sweet Melissa's Cafe
1625 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-4402
239-472-1956
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sweet Melissa's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Casa Ybel
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful stop on our bikes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were out on our bikes and stopped for lunch. We were able to sit outside in the screened in porch. We had a delicious apple, Brie and Apple sandwich- very tasty; and an Asian steak salad with fresh orange and wonderfully marinated steak. Excellent service. Although we were not particularly dressed up, we were warmly welcomed. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    476
    117
    68
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The food was good but the service was terrible. It took 45 minutes to get our food and our waitress didn't come back to check on us once. This place could be terrific if they hired more staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great food, service choppy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The mushroom soup and grilled ceasar salad was especially good. The cocktails were fun and inventive. The place was very clean and well decorated. My only quibble was an overly talkative waiter who spent so much time talking to each table (even showing pictures of his daughter to three tables) that we were there for two hours (including a half hour wait for our reserved table) instead of the one hour we had planned. However, the overall experience was very pleasant and we would go back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural SC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“okay, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had lunch there, and the food was fresh and the portions generous, but both our meals were just okay, not great. I had the mussels in the tomato saffron sauce and my husband had the crab cake sandwich. The fries were the best part of the meal, very hot and cooked just right. He had a beer and I had a glass of white wine. The decor was pleasant, but the place felt lifeless, and the service was friendly,

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Memorable Dinner at Sweet Melissa's Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I have eaten dinner at Sweet Melissa's Cafe on Sanibel Island twice before and I had enjoyed a luncheon there several years ago. So I was not surprised at the amazing meal we had there two weeks ago. We were with my 2 sisters and their husbands. Each of us chose a different entrée and we were all delighted with our choice. From the scallops to the lamb shank to the mussels and the fish stew and duck, each meal was superbly prepared and presented. Every course was prepared fresh and tasteful. Our wine choice was amazing and our chocolate dessert was out of this world. This will be a Christmas tradition for us... visiting Sweet Melissa's Cafe on Sanibel!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Melissa's Cafe also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sweet Melissa's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Melissa's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.