We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on Sanibel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Melissa's Cafe

Sweet Melissa's Cafe
1625 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
+1 239-472-1956
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sweet Melissa's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Casa Ybel
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best on Sanibel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Sweet Melissa's Cafe is the best restaurant on Sanibel, which says a lot as there are many fine eating places on the island. The service is excellent and the food is superb. We've eaten there 3 times in the past two years, and every meal has been a delight.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    148
    75
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service and environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed on Sanibel many times but never visited Sweet Melissa's until last night. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was very serene with a very nice man playing the guitar during dinner. We had the Tuna, Popano special, and the duck breast and all were superb.
One thing to keep in mind is that even the full portions were often not accompanied with side dishes, so order accordingly. The deserts were also great and we would definitely return again.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro nc
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

If you're a foodie who enjoys creative, well-prepared culinary delights then you must eat here. I loved that the service was so friendly and unpretentious and we felt perfectly at home dressed in our nice jeans. Upscale food in a casual environment is a great combo for vacation. We especially enjoyed the beet salad, tuna entree, truffle mashed potatoes, pork belly and that banana strudel dessert is to die for! Homemade ice creams and sorbets were also delicious. You can tell all this food is made with TLC. The cucumber fizz and coconut mojito were also noteworthy. Will definitely eat here again.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebo, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The food was excellent and the service was exceptional. I had a a salad the roasted beet salad that was presented really well. But the best part was the flavor which was outstanding. All of the entrees were really good. We ate outside in the enclosed patio area. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castricum, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The food here is fantastic! We had cheese as an appetizer and we really loved it, just as the paté. The entrees are also very nice and with a good glass of wine, we had a lovely evening!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Melissa's Cafe also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sweet Melissa's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Melissa's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.