We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Melissa's Cafe

Sweet Melissa's Cafe
1625 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
+1 239-472-1956
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sweet Melissa's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Casa Ybel
Califon, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We have tried this restaurant before and enjoyed it so decided to come back. The first time we were her we thought it was very good, but this time it was exceptional. We sat at the bar because it was so busy and we were glad we did. Kevin was our bartender and waiter, what service. I started out with mussels steamed in white wine broth, OMG. The best I have ever had. My husband had the clams with pork belly, he loved them. Then after another glass of Merlot, On to dinner. I had the small plate of beef tenderloin, again amazing, with truffle whipped potatoes and sautéed spinach. This place has only gotten better, much better. It's coming close to beating Traders, my favorite dinning spot on Sanibel. You must go to Sweet Melissa's and see for yourself. Wow, just WOW.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    148
    75
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sweet Melissas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great food, good service.The chef/owner is in the kitchen preparing every meal. Went here on our last night and wish we had gone sooner.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“# 1 on Sanibel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

During a week on Sanibel, Sweet Melissa's Cafe was our clear favourite! An interesting and inventive menu, with food beautifully prepared and served. The very professional maitre d' found (or created!) a small table for us in the bar, when we arrived on a packed Saturday night with no reservations. My husband had quail and I had Cobia( local fish, similar to Seabass. ) both done perfectly with interesting sides. Amosphere is lovely, refined and elegant but not overly formal. What set Melissa's apart for us was the option to order 'small' portions of the main. We could hardly believe my husband got a full quail, with what a ppeared to be full size sides for $13. At home in Toronto, in a restaurant of similar calibre, that would be close to $30.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wines and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Excellent food. Small plates are quite filling with a eclectic choice and very
good wines to choose from. Have eaten their many times and for a special
occasion on the island, this is the place. Make sure to reserve a date at least
4 days ahead. Very busy and in demand during the high season.

Small plate of mussels was wonderful and filing!

A good place for foodies!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So good we went back the next night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Sweet Melissa's just after 5 to secure places at the bar. Being amateurs in Sanibel this time of year, we did not know island restaurants book up weeks in advance. The hostess suggested we arrive early to get places and it was good advice.

Melissa's menu is broad and appeals to all tastes. It was hard to choose and none of us were. All entrees are available as "petite" plates which allows for portion control and a reasonable check.
Try the grilled romain salad and the key lime custard dessert. It's all delicious!

The staff is friendly and attentive. Melissa herself works the kitchen and has real charm. We had such a nice time we did the same thing the next night and were just as pleased.

Go! You'll love it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Melissa's Cafe also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sweet Melissa's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Melissa's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.