We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Traders Cafe

Traders Cafe
1551 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel, Sanibel Island, FL
239 472 7242
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Bistro, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Innovative island bistro cuisine in a spacious and relaxing atmosphere. Live music, happy hour, fine wines, seafood and steaks. Gifts, jewelry, books, art and clothing in our shopping emporium. Winner of Taste of the Islands.
Centerville, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have been going to Trader's for over a decade with often impeccable food and service. Tonight, we were truly disappointed on several levels. A $32 sea bass entrée was burnt, dry and tasteless. It was bewildering given how the quality has been in the past. We feel the quality has been deteriorating over time, and it is not like the cuisine is cheap here.
The thing that disturbed me the most, however, was the valet parking forced upon us. This is a new thing at Trader's. Not given a choice, we found the valet parking absolutely ludicrous when you see how navigable and walkable the parking lot is. We are not stingy tippers, but it rankled to pay a valet what we would normally pay...when he literally walked a car's length to retrieve our car. I don't like being taken for a fool, and I certainly was tonight.
I will be thinking twice before I return. I was really upset by the whole experience. My money matters, and I wasted it tonight.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    256
    72
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Traders Cafe is by far the Best on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

You must make reservations during the busy season. I liked the food, very good and the service was excellent. However, I wish they had a view of the Gulf, but they don't. Would go back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Traders was by far our favorite meal of our week-long stay on Sanibel. We went on St. Patty's day last minute, so we had a bit of a wait. It was definitely worth it. We sat at the bar enjoying green beer while we waited for our table and the bartenders were all very nice. During our wait, one person in our group asked just about every member of the staff that walked by what their favorite meal is and every single one of them said the sea bass, which was the special of the night. So, we got two sea bass, a salmon, crab-stuffed shrimp, and a seafood pasta and everyone loved their meal. We finished with the brownie dessert and the key lime pie and they were both to die for. GREAT restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful lunch at Traders Cafe on Sanibel Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had a wonderful lunch at Traders Cafe on Sanibel Island.
Our choice for lunch was the shrimp and scallop over linguini with red sauce.
It was wonderful, and ranked amongst the best meal we had in the Fort Myers area.
The service was great, and the newer building was lovely.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark DE
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Neat place - good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Nice family place. Food was fresh and well prepared. Wine list had large selection of moderately priced wines.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traders Cafe also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Traders Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traders Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.