We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dolphin Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Dolphin Cottages
Save
You added Blue Dolphin Cottages to your Saves list
4227 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Sanibel Island B&B and Inns
Ethel, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

Fanstasic property, pictures cannot do it justice! We stayed in the Beachfront apartment(Unit 7). Clean, Comfortable and reasonably priced. They provided the beach gear and even bikes to explore the island. Absolutely would recommend and looking forward to returning there!

  • Liked — Location, Close to Beach
  • Disliked — Bed was a little uncomfotable
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    29
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
105
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

The Blue Dolphin was the perfect place for out family reunion last Christmas! Our large extended family was able to spread out into several rooms and still eat breakfast together outside, play on the beach together all day, and put the kids all together at night in one room to play/watch a movie while the adults "hung out"! It was so easy, clean and what a beautiful spot!!!

Our families have lots of small children, and it was so nice to not have to worry about lots of stairs, busy streets, crowds of people, or fallling in a pool! Whoever woke up early met on the beach with a cup of coffeeand the kids just played in the sand ! The older kids especially loved being able to walk outside and get their own breakfast!

The landscaping made us feel like we were truly at an island retreat. The kitchenettes saved us so much meal-time hassle. And the staff were really friendly and helpful, as well.

We WILL be going back! Soon, I hope!

  • Liked — beautiful landscaping and beach
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

Recently stayed at the Blue Dolphin...We have two kids (boy nine, girl 5). Perfect place for a family oriented vacation. Like the seperate bedroom/suite set up (at the low price) as mom and dad are not trapped when the kids go to bed at 8. Kids loved getting up and walking all of twenty yards to the beach with their morning muffins and juice. Efficiency is ideal as you can keep food expenses down (I would suggest buying groceries prior to getting on the Island).

If you are looking for a Jersey beach experience, crowds and beach tag fees, this is not the place. The beach is basically YOURS. Given low number of units, makes you feel like you have you own one of those $$$ beachfront homes. Kids were able to dig and play anywhere they wanted to. Able to have a wiffle ball game without worry of hitting someone. Also nice is how close your room is in case little one have to go back (bathroom, nap, food). Also nice for the little kids as the surf is relatively calm. Water nice and warm for Mom.

Rooms were clean and up to date. Bed comfortable. Enough kitchen supplies to make and have a full meal. Like the idea that bikes were free and plenty of towels and beach toys. For those lucky enough to catch dinner, area to bbq your meal.

Would agree not the Ritz, but not paying RC rates. For the price super value and more than a step function above a Hotel Eight...

I hope you enjoy it like our family did.

  • Liked — beach only twenty yards away
  • Disliked — no three bedroom units
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

We drove from Tampa while on Vacation thinking we would stay one night on Sanibel.
After stopping at the Chamber of Commerce we got a map and directions to the best places to stay.

Our first stop was The Blue Dolphin.

The host showed us the beachfront 1 bedroom with kitchen-looking out on the ocean- we said WOW and booked it for 2 nights.

WHAT A VACATION SPOT!!!.

Breakfast- bikes -Beach chaire and umbrellas-afternoon snacks-washer dryer- MILES OF SHELL LOADED BEACH - very few people- dolphins swam by- and manaties and a nice grocery store 3 miles up the road for any food you'd want to cook up in your kitchen.
Only 7 units so there is no crowd.
It was perfect.

  • Liked — clean and quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

Another fantastic trip to the Blue Dolphin, this is my 2nd stay. This time my 2 year old grand daughter accompanied me and my partner. Trust me, you want to be as close to the beach as possible when you have a 2 year old in tow. The hotel's proximity to the beach allows you as many trips as necessary without being overwhelmed. The rooms are less than 100 feet to the water, you can't get much closer than that and no stairs to go up and down. The room this year was clean and smelled fresh when we entered. The outdoor shower at the back door of the room allowed us to shower off before we went inside. The mosquitoes were very bad so bring bug spray and I suggest bringing an additional small rug if possible, it will keep the sand to a minimum in your room. It's really worked well for us. Muffins and fruit are still free, as are bikes, rafts, umbrellas and shelling equipment. Check out the photo of the snook caught on the shore in front of the hotel, they were pulling them up all week we stayed. Still the best value on the island.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — mosquitos
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

You'll enjoy this quiet, secluded little slice of paradise if you want to be away from the main area of town. The room was clean and spacious (we had a large efficiency) and the location was spectacular. 20 yard walk to the gulf with nice lounge chairs and umbrellas available for all guests. The beach feels ultra-secluded. No swimming pool but you really don't need one with the gulf at your doorstep. The price was great but we did have a misunderstanding regarding the amount charged upon checkout (which I called afterwards to straighten out). Staying after 10 a.m. on checkout day gets you a late charge of $15. There are so many things to do on the island that it's difficult to pack them all in. This hotel may be a bit too far for most people to bike into town but it's worth the short drive. A great stay.

  • Liked — Convenience, quiet, secluded
  • Disliked — Confusion re: pricing at check out
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

This is a perfect spot, at a terrific price, for enjoying the primary delights of Sanibel: the ocean, the beach, the sun and the moon and the stars, beach wildlife, and seashells. We are a small family of 3 (couple and a 5-year-old) and we very much appreciated being right on the beach, the simplicity and friendliness of the property and its owners and employees, all of the basic amenities provided (what more do you need on a beach holiday ?) including all essential beach gear, laundry facilities, comfortable and spotlessly clean accommodations, all the essential stuff to cook with and eat on, a telephone -- as well as the close proximity to the many things to do on Sanibel including all of the various parts of the Refuge. If your vacation needs include granite countertops, big screen televisions, gourmet breakfasts and coffee, wireless internet access, Sleep Number beds, or other high end 'necessities' then look elsewhere. (The coffee is simply ordinary 'American coffee' - so we made our own too.) If you would like to spend some quiet peaceful time with your friends and family, walk the beach for miles in either direction, collect seashells, build sandcastles, swim in gentle waters, watch the dolphins and abundant birdlife from your beach chair, fish in the surf, and still be within easy reach of Sanibel's organised recreation activities and commerce, all for a very reasonable price, this is your spot. Thank you to the Blue Dolphin for a most restorative and delightful holiday. We are already dreaming of return.

  • Liked — beach proximity, amenities provided, cleanliness, friendliness, trees,
  • Disliked — wish it were a non-smoking property: smoking not permitted in rooms but is permitted elsewhere which means non-smokers have to put up with it throughout the property
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Dolphin Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Cottages

Address: 4227 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly refreshing vacation awaits you at the Blue Dolphin Cottages. We are a family owned, intimate and charming motel situated directly on a tranquil, white sandy beach on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. The Blue Dolphin Cottages offers a selection of accommodations in its 10 units, either bright and airy efficiencies or spacious one bedroom suites, all with completely equipped kitchens, phones and cable television. Each unit has a comfortable sun deck surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. With our compliments, you will enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dolphin Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.