We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dolphin Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Dolphin Cottages
Save
You added Blue Dolphin Cottages to your Saves list
4227 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Sanibel Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bullard, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a Deluxe Efficiency January 23-31. The accomodations were spotlessly clean and very well appointed. Morning breakfast was everything you needed except for juice, which we bought at the grocery store and kept in our refrigerator. The beach is right out your front door and offers great shelling. Beach chairs and umbrellas are available to take down to the beach. Parking is ample and nearby. Most of the renters are repeat customers who come every year. They are very friendly and invite you to get together for a glass of wine to watch the sun go down each evening. While on the island, we ate at Il Cielo (fabulous),The Mad Hatter (Excellent), Sweet Melissa's (Very Good), Doc Ford's (Good), and Cip's (OK). For nature lovers, the island has Ding Darling NWR, CROW, and SCCF - all worth visiting.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same distance from the beach so whichever suits the number in your party is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We are glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed your stay at the Blue Dolphin. We are also glad you mentioned other features our Island has to offer. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    33
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
118
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent a night here over our Christmas break and it was wonderful! Super quiet and laid back. Very clean. We stayed in the "motel part" which had a nice bedroom area and spacious sitting and TV area. There was also a little kitchenette area with a microwave and fridge/freezer. Directly on the beach but still secluded. This is how Florida used to be when I was growing up! There are bikes to borrow and the entire island is very bike friendly!!! They also provide beach chairs for guests. Great place to stay we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and hopefully we will see you again in the futre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This tiny (ten cottage) piece of paradise is the farthest on Sanibel. Blink and you'll miss it. It is for anyone who wants a secluded, quiet, spotlessly clean minimalist place to stay. The customer loyalty is amazing, with people re-booking each year for the same time the next (as we did, after our so relaxing and enjoyable first visit). A delightful lady named Beth just about runs the place, always with a smile, and an eagerness to answer questions, print out boarding passes, and anything else guests might request. This is not a luxury accommodation, but it is a spot of pure sun, within steps of the Gulf's magnificent sunsets, a quiet retreat to return to (as we will) year after year after year. Highly recommended for anyone seeking peace and quiet on this lovely island, with guaranteed restorative relaxation amid the palm trees, lovely flowering plants, and blue sky and tropical ambiance.

Room Tip: They have only ten units: some are efficiencies with small kitchens; the rest are one-bedroom and li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
It was a pleasure having you and look forward to seeing you next year. We are glad you had a wonderful time and enoyed our ambiance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

very comfortable large cottages. Nicely supplied. Good kitchen. shows that the owners really care that their guests enjoy their stay. the only problem we had was that we could not use the ceiling fans - we are 6' tall and the ceilings are low. also the WiFi in unsecured - apparently they do not trust their clients to be able to handle network passwords.

Room Tip: all the cottages are nice (and similar) - don't worry too much over which cottage you reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking your time and writing a review. As owners we do pride ourselves in our property. Thank you for mentioning our rooms are comfortable and a great value. As to our wifi, our IT did not feel it was necessary for a passcode.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and 4 year old just stayed at the Blue Dolphin and agree with all of the other reviewers wonderful and positive comments about this property. The one thing we particularly appreciated and impressed with is that the Blue Dolphin staff washes the blankets and bedspreads also after each guest stay. The units are spotless clean and this is something very important to us. The location is also right on the beach and in a secluded area away from the other resorts and condo. We were in paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
It was nice that you pointed out the quality of service we provide for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again and hope you experience the same ambiance next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome, Maryland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Dolphin cottages in November, 2012. We LOVED it here. We could only stay one night and hated to leave, we are planning to come again next year. It's so beautiful, tucked into a quiet residental neighborhood. Beautiful palms and landscaping on the white sand pathway to our room, which was #8. Nice front porch with chairs to relax in. The beach is just beautiful and not crowded, they are so hospitable. When we checked in there was coffee and candy in the lobby and they were getting ready to put out iced tea and cookies. In the morning they have coffee and muffins on one of the tables in the pathway, which was so nice. They also offer the free use of their bikes to ride as well as towels for the beach and nice lounge chairs. Our room was comfortable and plenty big. We could easily stay for a week, since there is a kitchen with everything you could need and a little table and chairs. My first time to Sanibel, we found great shells on the beach and enjoyed collecting them. We are so glad we found this place!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed our property and amenities. We hope to see you again for a longer visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

First time we stayed here. We were a family of six
My husband and I , our two boys and my in laws. We had two cottages. Ours was a very nice and spacious cottage with a sitting area and a separate bedroom with a king size bed. The sitting area had a queen size sofa bed and we had a rollaway for our younger son.There is a full kitchen with sitting area to eat and a very spacious bathroom.
My in laws had a smaller cottage with a full kitchen as well.
You are right on the beach and this is in a residential area so there are very few people on the beach.
There are little tables outdoors and a continental breakfast is set up each morning. This is a small establishment so everyone including guests is very friendly Nd folks tend to chat in the am when coming for coffee .this place is a gem.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you all next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
6.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#15 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#21 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#5 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#9 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#6 of 26 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Cottages

Address: 4227 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly refreshing vacation awaits you at the Blue Dolphin Cottages. We are a family owned, intimate and charming motel situated directly on a tranquil, white sandy beach on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. The Blue Dolphin Cottages offers a selection of accommodations in its 10 units, either bright and airy efficiencies or spacious one bedroom suites, all with completely equipped kitchens, phones and cable television. Each unit has a comfortable sun deck surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. With our compliments, you will enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dolphin Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.