We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and nice cottages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dolphin Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Dolphin Cottages
Save
You added Blue Dolphin Cottages to your Saves list
4227 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Sanibel Island B&B and Inns
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very clean and nice cottages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and 4 year old just stayed at the Blue Dolphin and agree with all of the other reviewers wonderful and positive comments about this property. The one thing we particularly appreciated and impressed with is that the Blue Dolphin staff washes the blankets and bedspreads also after each guest stay. The units are spotless clean and this is something very important to us. The location is also right on the beach and in a secluded area away from the other resorts and condo. We were in paradise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
It was nice that you pointed out the quality of service we provide for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again and hope you experience the same ambiance next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    29
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
104
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Welcome, Maryland
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Dolphin cottages in November, 2012. We LOVED it here. We could only stay one night and hated to leave, we are planning to come again next year. It's so beautiful, tucked into a quiet residental neighborhood. Beautiful palms and landscaping on the white sand pathway to our room, which was #8. Nice front porch with chairs to relax in. The beach is just beautiful and not crowded, they are so hospitable. When we checked in there was coffee and candy in the lobby and they were getting ready to put out iced tea and cookies. In the morning they have coffee and muffins on one of the tables in the pathway, which was so nice. They also offer the free use of their bikes to ride as well as towels for the beach and nice lounge chairs. Our room was comfortable and plenty big. We could easily stay for a week, since there is a kitchen with everything you could need and a little table and chairs. My first time to Sanibel, we found great shells on the beach and enjoyed collecting them. We are so glad we found this place!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed our property and amenities. We hope to see you again for a longer visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

First time we stayed here. We were a family of six
My husband and I , our two boys and my in laws. We had two cottages. Ours was a very nice and spacious cottage with a sitting area and a separate bedroom with a king size bed. The sitting area had a queen size sofa bed and we had a rollaway for our younger son.There is a full kitchen with sitting area to eat and a very spacious bathroom.
My in laws had a smaller cottage with a full kitchen as well.
You are right on the beach and this is in a residential area so there are very few people on the beach.
There are little tables outdoors and a continental breakfast is set up each morning. This is a small establishment so everyone including guests is very friendly Nd folks tend to chat in the am when coming for coffee .this place is a gem.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you all next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. Sanibel is great. These cottages are right on the beach at the quieter side of the island. We loved how they had bikes to ride out on. The residences are clean and tidy and very good value.

Couple of things could be improved:

Appreciate that breakfast is a bit of a "bonus" but juice of some kind would have been great. Some days there was oats some days not.

We were in a room next to the laundry and the "venetian" blinds in the bedroom didn't block enough light. Would be better to have a secondary blind/curtains.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are happy you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville KY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just returned from a week in Sanibel. We have previously stayed in a private home on the island and had never rented. Based on Tripadvisor reviews we decided to stay at the Blue Dolphin Cottages, and what a great choice that was! The location is as close to the beach as you can get. The property is well maintained and landscaped, and the layout of the cottages creates a very friendly communal atmosphere. My wife asked me not to review this gem,so as to keep it a secret. But that would neither be fair to future Tripadvisor users nor to the good folks who run the Blue Dolphin Cottages. We will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you had a great time and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Second time we have stayed here and defiantly not our last. We will be booking for next year before we leave without a doubt. It is so peaceful and great people all around. Nice beach and chairs to use all day. Discovered it in 2010 and came back again. If you enjoy "you" time this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but some are closer to the ocean. (3-6,7,& 8)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are happy you had another enjoyable time at The Blue Dolphin. We can't wait to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A quick trip to Sanibel for my wife, my mother, (first time staying on Sanibel), and me. On our past visits, wife and I have always stayed further west at Periwinkle Cottages or West End Paradise. Our first stay at Blue Dolphin allowed us to bring Mom, (84), with the the location being on the beach and eliminating the walk/ride to get to the sand.
The rooms/apts are very comfortable, clean and stocked well enough. I usually do most of our dinner cooking in the unit, and found myself wanting for some items. To be fair, I realize that "cooking in" is the exception, rather than the norm, and I'm sure that for most guests the kitchen amenities are more than sufficient. Although there are no 2 BR units, we managed fine with Mom in the BR and wife and I on the sofabed in the LR.
The hospitality and friendliness of the staff is exceptional and very accommodating. I noted in a previous review there was a complaint regarding the "no-see-um's" and the lack of forewarning. Perhaps things are different, but, while the critters were, indeed, prolific, there is an entire page of warnings/suggestions/tips regarding the bugs in the welcome brochure in each unit. Always a good idea to read the material provided.
While I personally prefer the more remote area further west, Blue Dolphin cannot be beat for beach access.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We are happy that we could accommodate you, your wife and your mother. It is nice that you enjoyed our proximity to the beach. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Dolphin Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Cottages

Address: 4227 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly refreshing vacation awaits you at the Blue Dolphin Cottages. We are a family owned, intimate and charming motel situated directly on a tranquil, white sandy beach on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. The Blue Dolphin Cottages offers a selection of accommodations in its 10 units, either bright and airy efficiencies or spacious one bedroom suites, all with completely equipped kitchens, phones and cable television. Each unit has a comfortable sun deck surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. With our compliments, you will enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dolphin Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.