We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place Already have reservation for next year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dolphin Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Dolphin Cottages
4227 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 hotels in Sanibel Island
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Love this place Already have reservation for next year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

First time we stayed here. We were a family of six
My husband and I , our two boys and my in laws. We had two cottages. Ours was a very nice and spacious cottage with a sitting area and a separate bedroom with a king size bed. The sitting area had a queen size sofa bed and we had a rollaway for our younger son.There is a full kitchen with sitting area to eat and a very spacious bathroom.
My in laws had a smaller cottage with a full kitchen as well.
You are right on the beach and this is in a residential area so there are very few people on the beach.
There are little tables outdoors and a continental breakfast is set up each morning. This is a small establishment so everyone including guests is very friendly Nd folks tend to chat in the am when coming for coffee .this place is a gem.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you all next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    27
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
95
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. Sanibel is great. These cottages are right on the beach at the quieter side of the island. We loved how they had bikes to ride out on. The residences are clean and tidy and very good value.

Couple of things could be improved:

Appreciate that breakfast is a bit of a "bonus" but juice of some kind would have been great. Some days there was oats some days not.

We were in a room next to the laundry and the "venetian" blinds in the bedroom didn't block enough light. Would be better to have a secondary blind/curtains.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are happy you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville KY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just returned from a week in Sanibel. We have previously stayed in a private home on the island and had never rented. Based on Tripadvisor reviews we decided to stay at the Blue Dolphin Cottages, and what a great choice that was! The location is as close to the beach as you can get. The property is well maintained and landscaped, and the layout of the cottages creates a very friendly communal atmosphere. My wife asked me not to review this gem,so as to keep it a secret. But that would neither be fair to future Tripadvisor users nor to the good folks who run the Blue Dolphin Cottages. We will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you had a great time and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Second time we have stayed here and defiantly not our last. We will be booking for next year before we leave without a doubt. It is so peaceful and great people all around. Nice beach and chairs to use all day. Discovered it in 2010 and came back again. If you enjoy "you" time this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but some are closer to the ocean. (3-6,7,& 8)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are happy you had another enjoyable time at The Blue Dolphin. We can't wait to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A quick trip to Sanibel for my wife, my mother, (first time staying on Sanibel), and me. On our past visits, wife and I have always stayed further west at Periwinkle Cottages or West End Paradise. Our first stay at Blue Dolphin allowed us to bring Mom, (84), with the the location being on the beach and eliminating the walk/ride to get to the sand.
The rooms/apts are very comfortable, clean and stocked well enough. I usually do most of our dinner cooking in the unit, and found myself wanting for some items. To be fair, I realize that "cooking in" is the exception, rather than the norm, and I'm sure that for most guests the kitchen amenities are more than sufficient. Although there are no 2 BR units, we managed fine with Mom in the BR and wife and I on the sofabed in the LR.
The hospitality and friendliness of the staff is exceptional and very accommodating. I noted in a previous review there was a complaint regarding the "no-see-um's" and the lack of forewarning. Perhaps things are different, but, while the critters were, indeed, prolific, there is an entire page of warnings/suggestions/tips regarding the bugs in the welcome brochure in each unit. Always a good idea to read the material provided.
While I personally prefer the more remote area further west, Blue Dolphin cannot be beat for beach access.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We are happy that we could accommodate you, your wife and your mother. It is nice that you enjoyed our proximity to the beach. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Celebrated our 26th Anniversary here and enjoyed ourselves very much. Used the bikes that were provided everyday to ride around the island. The secluded beach, massive seashells and beautiful sunsets made for a great trip. The room was clean and had everything we needed to make small meals. Nice shower out back to rinse off the sand. Really had a nice time. Would love to return sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We are thrilled that you took the opportunity to celebrate your anniversary with us. We would love to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We choose the Blue Dolphin because of its location. We stayed in cottage #10 it was very roomy inside. Plenty of room in the kitchen to do some lite cooking,
Beth our Hostess while we were there was great, She put out coffee, fresh fruit & danish every morning. She was very friendly with all the guest. They had everything you needed to spend the day at the beach, buckets, nets, chairs, umbrellas . They even had a washer and dryer to do your laundry.We saw dolphins swimming in the water. The beaches were loaded with seashells. We found Conchs, welks , olives, tulips, turbans, buttons, nutmegs,paper figs, turkey wings,
The bed in the rooms were very comfortable . Tv, and wi-fi. I would highly recommend this place to stay if you thing about going to Sanibel Island.

Room Tip: Any room is great only steps to the beach. #7 & #6 Are closest to the beach, but you pay a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We are lucky you chose the Blue Dolphin and enjoyed our amenities. We do not provide the shells, they are for you to find! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Dolphin Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Cottages

Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Cottages Hotel
Blue Dolphin Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Hotel Sanibel Island
Address: 4227 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly refreshing vacation awaits you at the Blue Dolphin Cottages. We are a family owned, intimate and charming motel situated directly on a tranquil, white sandy beach on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. The Blue Dolphin Cottages offers a selection of accommodations in its 10 units, either bright and airy efficiencies or spacious one bedroom suites, all with completely equipped kitchens, phones and cable television. Each unit has a comfortable sun deck surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. With our compliments, you will enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dolphin Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Dolphin Cottages to your Saves list