We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"WHAT A GREAT VIEW FROM #2"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell's Sandcastles

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mitchell's Sandcastles
Save
You added Mitchell's Sandcastles to your Saves list
3951 W. Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Apopka, Florida
1 review
“"WHAT A GREAT VIEW FROM #2"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Although the two bedroom cottage we needed wasn't available, we stayed at Forty-Fifteen anyway for the quite, pet friendly atmosphere. Every thing possible was done by the owners to make our stay pleasant, even though the air conditioning would not cool the cottage during the day. I'm sure that will be corrected. We grilled on the furnished grill and only found one steak knife in #2 cottage, but it was kinda fun passing the one knife around five people. Good for a laugh anyway. The swimming pool was unbearably hot. Almost like the water was heated. Even with the small inconviences, the stay was pleasant and we will be back. Without Joel's attention, the inconviences would have become a major problem.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    57
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
104
130
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

wanted to try somewhere different as been visiting Florida for last 16 years , fancied Sanibel and so glad we did as we made an excellent choice picking Mitchells. The cottage was perfect and the beach was wonderful, loved visiting Baileys grocery store, food and coffee was excellent. Booked a sunset dolphin cruise at Sanibel Marina , a trolley bus came to pick us up and drop us back off, it was fantastic, husband also had a kyak fishing trip from same marina and really enjoyed it. Went on the Sanibel Screamer which was great fun, will def be re visiting. lots of wildlife and bike rentals fab idea

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Loved, loved this place! Our cottage was right on the beach and had everything we needed! The shelling was fantastic - best beach for shelling is right outside your door - and our 7-year-old loved the water and shells. Dog-friendly setting, nice, unobtrusive management, and quiet atmosphere made this a relaxing family vacation we won't forget! We will definitely be back!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPB Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Great place on the beach towards the north end of Sanibel where it's not so crowded. New owners Joel and Kim were very nice, friendly and helpful. I have stayed here a number of times over the past 10 years, and they have made wonderful improvments to the place. The kids in our group (8yr up to 19 yrs) love staying here. It is slow pace, if you are looking for a lot of action, notthe place for you. Will definatley be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Beach Comber . . . short 3-night stay (adult son, wife, and me) with late-night arrival . . . everything conveniently in order for arrival . . . . . . enjoyed low-traffic area adjacent to gulf (furthest cottage from beach short walk) . . . whole island wonderfully bike/pedestrian-friendly . . . bicycled (provided) about 10 miles (Bailey's Shell Museum & Darling Wildlife Refuge) . . . used (provided) beach chairs & umbrella . . . wanted to use (provided) kayaks, but did not allow time . . . clean pool, tennis courts . . . wireless internet definitely decent (does reach to beach) . . . everything needed for get-away vacation . . . double bed slept well, son (about 6'3") slept all right on sofa w/o ever pulling out for bed . . . fridge, stove, microwave, dishes, utensils adequate . . . quick towel exchange . . . excellent shower pressure, good temp control shower & room . . . good shelling (guess there may be no bad shelling on Sanibel), quiet beach (mid-July) . . . enjoyed porch/lanai, though used more for leaving shells & letting swim clothing dry . . . shopping & dining short driving distance . . . exactly what we desired . . . a no-hustle, no-bustle, shell-searching, beach-sitting, bike-riding, auto-touring (to Captiva & Lighthouse), sunset-viewing, laid-back vacation . . .

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at Mitchell's and we had the best vacation ever. The cottage had everything we needed and was very clean. Joel and Kim were both very helpful in answering our questions regarding our stay and seeing that we had everything we needed once we arrived. This was our first visit to Sanibel and we needed relaxation. We got relaxation at Mitchell's. The beach is beauty beyond description and never crowded with people. We slept very well every night. We were impressed by how quiet it was at night at Mitchell's. We were never awakened by loud parties or drinking. I only hope that we can return again next summer!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Quaint cottages closer to the beach than any other place on the island. Walk out your door to beautiful sunsets, clear aqua-colored water, and white sand beaches with an abundance of beautiful shells that the island is famous for. This is the spot! We are not fishermen but have seen a lot of snook and other large fish caught from the shore here. Dolphin sightings are common here and we actually swam with a curious manatee our last trip. We have stayed here for the last fifteen years and keep coming back. Management is accomodating but not intrusive. This is a quiet and peaceful atomsphere. Dog friendly but it has been our experience that quests bring well-behaved pets. Family friendly and just absolutely wonderful. Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitchell's Sandcastles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's Sandcastles

Address: 3951 W. Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mitchell`s Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell's Sandcastles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.