We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No-hustle, no-bustle, shell-searching, beach-sitting, bike-riding, laid-back vacation !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell's Sandcastles

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mitchell's Sandcastles
Save
You added Mitchell's Sandcastles to your Saves list
3951 W. Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“No-hustle, no-bustle, shell-searching, beach-sitting, bike-riding, laid-back vacation !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Beach Comber . . . short 3-night stay (adult son, wife, and me) with late-night arrival . . . everything conveniently in order for arrival . . . . . . enjoyed low-traffic area adjacent to gulf (furthest cottage from beach short walk) . . . whole island wonderfully bike/pedestrian-friendly . . . bicycled (provided) about 10 miles (Bailey's Shell Museum & Darling Wildlife Refuge) . . . used (provided) beach chairs & umbrella . . . wanted to use (provided) kayaks, but did not allow time . . . clean pool, tennis courts . . . wireless internet definitely decent (does reach to beach) . . . everything needed for get-away vacation . . . double bed slept well, son (about 6'3") slept all right on sofa w/o ever pulling out for bed . . . fridge, stove, microwave, dishes, utensils adequate . . . quick towel exchange . . . excellent shower pressure, good temp control shower & room . . . good shelling (guess there may be no bad shelling on Sanibel), quiet beach (mid-July) . . . enjoyed porch/lanai, though used more for leaving shells & letting swim clothing dry . . . shopping & dining short driving distance . . . exactly what we desired . . . a no-hustle, no-bustle, shell-searching, beach-sitting, bike-riding, auto-touring (to Captiva & Lighthouse), sunset-viewing, laid-back vacation . . .

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    57
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
104
130
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at Mitchell's and we had the best vacation ever. The cottage had everything we needed and was very clean. Joel and Kim were both very helpful in answering our questions regarding our stay and seeing that we had everything we needed once we arrived. This was our first visit to Sanibel and we needed relaxation. We got relaxation at Mitchell's. The beach is beauty beyond description and never crowded with people. We slept very well every night. We were impressed by how quiet it was at night at Mitchell's. We were never awakened by loud parties or drinking. I only hope that we can return again next summer!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Quaint cottages closer to the beach than any other place on the island. Walk out your door to beautiful sunsets, clear aqua-colored water, and white sand beaches with an abundance of beautiful shells that the island is famous for. This is the spot! We are not fishermen but have seen a lot of snook and other large fish caught from the shore here. Dolphin sightings are common here and we actually swam with a curious manatee our last trip. We have stayed here for the last fifteen years and keep coming back. Management is accomodating but not intrusive. This is a quiet and peaceful atomsphere. Dog friendly but it has been our experience that quests bring well-behaved pets. Family friendly and just absolutely wonderful. Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I've been staying at Mitchell's for about the last 8 or 9 years on a yearly trip with my mother, and this year we were so pleased with the newly renovated cottages - much needed - and were so happy to meet the new owners. This is what Mitchell's needed! So many upgrades and of course, the beach is the most beautiful of anywhere I've been. I can hardly wait to get back to Mitchell's. Oh, and most importantly, the fact that we can take our dogs there is wonderful. Don't ever change that Mitchell's!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland Springs, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Musty smelling cabin, bugs (catapillars and silver fish) , saw the guy who runs only one time (when we checked in). The beds were uncomfortable, the pillows flat and smelly. The AC inadequate. The only saving graces were a great beach for shelling and the pool was nice. IF I ever return to Sanibel (and I hope we do) it won't be hered! Cost was too high for the accomodations. Could have stayed nicer places, which i did look at online, for the same money. I almost felt like crying the first night, because I chose so poorly for our 30th wedding anniversary get away. Definitely not a romantic place !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitchellssandcastles, Owner at Mitchell's Sandcastles, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
While I am sorry to read of the reviewers displeasure, I feel some of the complaints need to be rebutted. The couple was with us for a 2 night stay in Driftwood. Two weeks prior to their arrival BRAND NEW mattresses and box springs were delivered to four of the cottages, Driftwood being one of them. Secondly, Driftwood has a ductless split Trane AC system in the MBR and a portable system in the LR.. The gentleman could not get the BR A/C to work and asked me to check it. I discovered he was using the wrong remote control for the BR system. Problem solved. (I guess his wife did not know about this visit) Thirdly, we do not bother our guests unless we are asked to. Lastly, all ground level structures are subject to get silverfish or millapedes simply by opening the door. We have a 24/7 contract with Truely Nolan and will gladly have the cottage treated if necessary.
Mitchells Sand Castles / Forty Fifteen resorts is a very special resort that has stood in place since the early 60's. It is one of the last " OLD FLORIDA STYLE COTTAGE" resorts in existence on Sanibel or for that matter maybe in Florida. Since taking it over last September, Kim and I have updated and modernized the entire resort. There are no musty units, beds and linens are new, all A/C's are either new or within 5-7 years old. PLEASE read all of our reviews. They tell an accurate and consistent story of who and what we are.
Thank you,
Joel Kronfeld
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed at Mitchell's for 5 days in May and it was the best accommodation we spent our holiday in. What other hotel or rental villa, provides a Weber at every villa to grill your own steaks?

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Our family has been staying at Mitchell's since the 1960's when we came over on the ferry. We have seen changes in owners and management over the years, but none could compare with the friendliness and hospitality of new owners, Joel and Kim. They WANT you to have a wonderful time and do all they can to make your stay enjoyable. With the free bikes, kayaks, beach chairs and umbrellas, tennis courts, wi-fi, fitness center and business center there is always something to do, even if it rains. The beach is secluded and the best shelling beach on the island. The cottages have everything you need provided and there is nothing like sitting on your deck or screened porch and watching the waves come in. If you are looking for a place with an "Old Florida" type atmosphere, where you can bring your dog, and stay at the quiet end of the island you won't be disappointed. Now, if you are upscale and want to do the night life, you may rather rent a condo, with the overcrowded beach and high volume traffic. We prefer Mitchell's.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitchell's Sandcastles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's Sandcastles

Address: 3951 W. Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mitchell`s Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell's Sandcastles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.