We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant cottage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell's Sandcastles

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mitchell's Sandcastles
Save
You added Mitchell's Sandcastles to your Saves list
3951 W. Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant cottage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Mitchell's Sandcastles are hands down on The Best part of the beach at Sanibel! We stayed in the Pelican cottage in MidSeptember ( I know, it's been 9 months!), and it was perfect for a couple or family with 1 small child. The cottage is like an oversized play house, attractively and comfortably furnished, with a full stove, refrigerator, microwave, and bathroom. You might want to bring a few containers for food storage, as the cabinets have all the dishes and cookware in them.
The property is very clean, managers are in the office most of the day, and every cottage is a few steps away from the beach. The shells here are terrific! There are fighting conch, quahogs, olives,and cockles in abundance, and all sorts of others to find, especially if you watch where all the birds congregate every day. This beach is the best! Warm water, easily formed tide pools where you can find all the small shells you desire, and not a lot of people to compete with. I believe the Blue Dolphin is beyond this property, but we never got to it, even though we would walk quite a way down the beach each day. too many geeat shells to stop us in our tracks!
A pool is there that is very clean, though we spent all our time in the gulf, and there are washers and dryers. Extra towels are available for the asking, and there is free use of bikes, kayaks, beach toys, beach chairs and umbrellas, and everyone has a bucket to wash their feet. Pelican has a small porch with a table, chairs , umbrella and grill. Be aware that this property is a bit further down from the majority on this street, and that the sidewalk does not come as far as this property, so it would be a bit more challenging to ride a bicycle with a small child on their own bike that needs supervision when you first leave the property. Very nice place to stay for a week or more!

Room Tip: Don't worry about not having a cottage with a gulf view. All the cottages are literally AtTheBea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    57
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
104
130
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We rented one of the larger cottages and loved every moment of it. Our only suggestion: access to some of the amenities (sea kayaks etc.) is limited to the hours between 9AM and 5PM which leaves a lot of daylight on either side...maybe 8AM to 6PM? Regardless of that-a wonderful place; we hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We've been coming to stay at Mitchell's for over 15 years and it's better than ever. We stayed in the Dunes for a week, and it was heaven! Comfortable beds, clean cottage, and best of all, peace and quiet. Joel and his staff are the best! I almost didn't want to write a review because I don't want to give away my secret getaway place! Beautiful beach, kayaks and bikes available, 2 wonderful pools, everything you need. Grounds are kept up beautifully and the cottages have all been renovated and updated. My favorite place to come each year! We bring our 2 dogs and they enjoy Mitchell's as much as we do. Grateful to be able to bring them as they are part of the family and make our vacation that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, ct
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We picked this place based on reviews on trip advisor and we are thrilled. This is a truly perfect place. Ticked amongst estates on West Gulf Road, this small, intimate group of cabins has everything you need. A very short walk to the best shelling beach we found. All of the amenities you can have, and includes beach chairs, bikes, kayaks, all for free. Once you have been here, I bet you will continue to return. I know we will.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent a week at Mitchell's, and wish we could have stayed longer! Our cottage, the Sand Piper, was perfectly equipped with everything we needed- Coffee maker, blender, microwave, toaster, comfy bed, cable tv, clean bathroom, a/c, fridge that worked great, etc. It was great to sit on the screened-in porch and enjoy our meals. The grounds are beautifully maintained, and the beach is fantastic! Also nice to have the option of two pools, with pool toys! Slightly off the beaten path, down a quiet road with very little traffic, but stil within close distance to anything you need. Just make sure to wear skin-so-soft when on the beach at night, those no-see-ums are brutal! Also, bring drinking water if you have a hard time drinking well water. Although it tasted fine, it was not easy on my son's stomach! We will be back!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed having the screened in porch. Not a "bad" room on the property, though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulphur, louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Spent 5 days last week at Mitchell's can't say enough good things. Excellent location, great beach, and very relaxing. Room was nice enough and bed was comfortable. Just had to bring a blender. Mitchell's has 2 pools never saw anyone in them, but we sure enjoyed them. We went seashelling at the lighthouse and Blind Pass we found more seashells right on the beach at Mitchell's. Oh and the dog loved it to he even made a few friends!

Room Tip: Book way in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimrock, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Very good location right on the gulf. All kitchen utensils, pots and pans seem to be brand new.very good spot to see the ocean from the patio. very quiet excellent beach chairs and great location for sunsets, fishing and Shelling.laundry room very nice and the secret pool was really sweet



  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitchell's Sandcastles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's Sandcastles

Address: 3951 W. Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mitchell`s Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell's Sandcastles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.