We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell's Sandcastles

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mitchell's Sandcastles
Save
You added Mitchell's Sandcastles to your Saves list
3951 W. Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just spent two weeks at Mitchell's. This was our first time here and were were very satisfied by everything. Our cottage was on the beach with a deck where we could relax and watch the beach and the beautiful sunsets. We really enjoyed eating lunch on the deck watching and listening to the waves in the gulf. We also had a woodpecker who visited to entertain us. This is not a fancy place, but everything has been updated and was well maintained. The cottage was very clean and they furnished everything, except the food, for us to prepare and eat breakfast and lunch. There are plenty of resturants so we enjoyed a different place almost every evening, after watching the sunset with other guests. We can not wait to go back and have booked it for next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    58
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
105
131
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holliston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just left on Tuesday afternoon after my 2nd time at Mitchell's and I can't wait to go back! The cottages are updated and clean, the property is beautifully maintained and the location cannot be beat. Joel and Orianna do such a nice job making all of the guests feel comfortable and relaxed. I really don't have anything negative to share!!

Room Tip: all good..............
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We wanted a quiet week on the beach to relax, and this was what we enjoyed. We stayed in #8 which was great for a couple. It was clean, had all the basics for self catering, open plan, nicely decorated & furnished. We had good pre and onsite service from Joel and having access to bicycles helped us to see more of the island, do local shopping etc. The pool we used was lovely and warm. There is a laundry and also access to the internet, both of which we found useful. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Mitchell's Sandcastles, and loved Sanibel Island!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The greatest asset is its location. It is right on what several passers by said is "my favorite beach in Sanibel." Great shelling, very quiet. Joel acts as your host and does that well. Bikes, kayaks, beach chairs, beach unbrellas are all included. Bring your own beach towels. Our room, Pelican, was cosy, clean and had a small kitchen. As the title says, it is not fancy, but the beach and the atmosphere are hard to beat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, CT
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I hesitated to write this review because I selfishly wanted to keep Mitchell's Sand Castles to myself (and, okay, the hundreds of other TripAdvisor members who have stayed at and love this place). But as the owner of a small business myself, I know how important good reviews are. Mitchell's is a gem, a charming collection of cottages right on the beach, perfect access for early morning shelling. My husband and I stayed in Cottage 6, which was very comfortable and nicely furnished with a well-equipped kitchen (though we didn't use it). We only stayed for two nights, but wished we had stayed longer. Everyone we encountered was lovely, and it was great to be able to pick out a bike and go exploring. We will definitely be back. (Btw, the only reason I didn't give Mitchell's a 5.0 rating was that the mattress wasn't great, too soft, and the curtains let in tons of light, which, since there were outdoor lights all around us, didn't make for great sleeping.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our first time at this location and on Sanibel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We chose this property, in part, because we were able to bring our dog along with us. Stayed in the Sea Spray which is Gulf-front and a very few steps to the beach.

Cottage is very well-equipped; large refrigerator, double sink, dishwasher, smooth-top electric range. A/C worked great. Furnishings in very good repair and immaculate housekeeping quite evident when we entered. Good water pressure and an excellent shower head (one of my big "things" no matter what level I stay at).

The owner, Joel, is very helpful and offered good advice regarding local places to shop, etc.

Did not use the pools which appeared to be very clean and in excellent condition. Bicycles and other recreational items available on-site. Enjoyed having our own barbeque grill and liked watching the sunsets from the fully-screened front porch.

Overall very highly recommend this establishment and we felt it was good value for our money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, IL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

If Tripadvisor would allow it, we would give a 4.5 stars. Our entire family loved the location, so close to the beach, major shell-combing opportunities everywhere, no other close-by hotels, in a quiet residential area. The amenities are nice (two 25 yardish pools, beach chairs, umbrellas, bikes - all included) and adequate. We did not use, but they have a couple/few laundry facilities, kayaks included, a small fitness center. This is a do-it-yourself type of place, with staff present and available, but not generally visible - it was a nice balance for us on Sanibel. The unit we rented was clean, with brand new towels / kleenex / etc in the unit at the start. The only downer was the latent perfumey smell inside the unit when we first got there, which did not seem to dissipate even with windows open. There was a beautiful pileated woodpecker in the evergreen closest to the beach. Note that it is clear on the website that these are low rise cabin-like units (with metal roofs), and some of them are connected so you hear fellow renters a bit more than the typical. The outdoor screen rooms are fantastic. One of the pools is available late night. Two air conditioner units and two fans give you multiple cooling options. Lots and lots of repeat renters should help you understand this is a nice place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mitchell's Sandcastles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's Sandcastles

Address: 3951 W. Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mitchell`s Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell's Sandcastles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.