We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spacious rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Inn & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Anchor Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Anchor Inn & Cottages
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1245 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Sanibel Island B&B and Inns
burnley england
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“spacious rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights at the end of a two week vacation,The cottage was very clean and spacious.The pool is a nice size.Had a look at other units, much bigger than motel rooms.People very friendly helpful.good for a short break or longer.Good value for sanibel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    47
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
33
57
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Listowel, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family stayed for 8 days. The kids loved the pool; the staff was friendly; there are laundry facilities on site which we needed with 2 two year olds. This is our second time staying and we have picked this Inn also because it is pet friendly. Right on Periwinkle and very close to the bike rentals. We will visit again - thanks Diane and Luke

Room Tip: A frame cottage is great for small families but has only one bathroom. We sat out on the little deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Friendly accommodating staff. Pet friendly which is a big plus as we travel with our pets frequently. We stayed in the A frame cottage ( A MUST ) and were very comfy there. Clean and well taken care of. the location was great...not directly on the beach but not too far from the beaches either.. parking at the beaches are pricey...didn't like that, but the Anchor Inn is nicely located to all the great restraunts and a grocery store which comes in handy. All in all we had a great time and a great stay....the price also was also reasonable...Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I booked a room for some family members that were visiting us. I was looking for an inexpensive room. This was the best price I could find on Sanibel. It turned out to be a great deal. I'm glad I booked it. The room was clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location on Periwinkle allows for easy access to the beach, museums and restaurants. We will use Anchor Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

For what you pay this is a very good place to stay. The room's are large, have nice tropical decor, and clean. The grounds are nicely upkept. Yes it is very basic but you will be spending most of your time at the beach anyway. That being said, this place is not on the beach and with the beach parking costs in Sanibel you may want to find a hotel on the beach instead if it is in your budget. If not then this is a good option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had the misfortune to stay at this hotel. There were no staff in sight and it is pet friendly so bring your ear plugs with all the barking dogs I thought we were in a kennel. They do not clean the rooms daily but in each room is a tip envelope for the person that cleans the room? Every hotel I stay at the room is clean and cleaned daily then I'll tip. Parking is a nightmare so be prepared. All in all stay away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at Anchor Inn in mid June. It was me, my husband, my 4 year old and my baby. The cottage was very nice and clean. They have a broom but not a dust pan, so would only ask in the future to provide that. I stayed with my baby downstairs in the bedroom while my husband and son stayed upstairs in the loft. We were placed in cottage #20 which is furthest from the road and had more privacy and was able to park my car right next to the cottage. We went to the beach that was a little drive turning on Casa Ybel and we ending up just renting 2 chair and umbrellas for a $1 each at the inn. This place is centrally located to all of my favorite restaurants so that was also a plus. The pool is also very clean and we had a nice time in that. We placed our towels in the bin each day and had fresh ones waiting around noon each day. Overall, I would prefer to continue to stay at Anchor Inn and save some money, and use the money I'm saving on eating at activities. Had a great time, and can't wait to go back. Also, we rented some things for the babies needs and the company is like .5 miles away from the cottage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn & Cottages

Address: 1245 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Sanibel Island, Anchor Inn offers affordable accommodations in a lush tropical setting. Private A-frame cottages, standard hotel rooms and fully equipped 1 and 2 room efficiencies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Anchor Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn & Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Anchor Inn And Cottages

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.