We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Inn & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Anchor Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Anchor Inn & Cottages
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1245 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Sanibel Island B&B and Inns
Warm Springs, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

stayed here 3rd week of october, 2012. very nice and clean. nice pool area and bbq grills available. stayed in the A-frame cabins, has every thing for preparing meals. full kitchen, all utensils, cookware, and dishes provided. plenty of towels with clean ones provided each day. Cabin had 2 bedrooms, sleeper sofa, 2 TV's, walk in shower. Great location for beaches, 2 grocery stores nearby for supplies. Can walk to beach in 10 minutes or so. will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    47
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
33
57
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here at this Old Florida hotel. I'm a middle aged women who traveled alone on this trip and just wanted a no frills safe, hotel. This was exactly what I got. My room 16, was very large and immaculately clean and quiet. I never heard a sound from other visitors any time I was there. It rained two of the nights and since this is a one story hotel, you could hear the rain coming down. Some people might not like that, but it reminded me of camping and it felt very homey. Just so you know, there is soap in the rooms but not shampoo or conditioner. There is a coffee maker and a one day supply of coffee. You will need to buy small Mr. Coffee filters if you want to make your own,. There was a dorm size fridge with a small freezer that froze water over night. Also, for my four day stay, I was told that housekeeping would not come in the room but that I could leave out towels and trash daily. The pool was warm and clean. It is in the middle of the parking area and close to the street but it is well camoflauged and I was not bothered by road noise as at. The view outside my room was a "nature pond" which was very pretty. The bathroom is small, and in my room there was only a shower, but again very clean and servicable. There are bikes available to rent, chargoal grills and laundry on site. The only trouble I had was that my airmconditioner broke down while I was there so since I had packed up, I left a day early. They did offer to give me another room and I free dinner at a local establishmnet for my trouble. I had a rental car so took the car to the a different beach each day. I would not recommend walking since you will be salty for the walk back. In this location you are right on Periwinkle so you are close to shipping but not the beach.
I would like to mention that being a rainy fall, the no see ums were horrific so keep this in mind if you go to the beach. I found them worst at sunrise and sunset. I used deet and skin so soft bu they still bit. I would recommend not going out at these times. In spite of the trouble with the air conditioner, which will be a funny story to tell, I would defintely stay here again when I want escape the weather at home and every day life. I would recommend it for families with young children, people staying with pets or solo, but not for familites with teens or young adults looking for night life or a pool scene.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I (and my Yorkie and Mini-Shnauzer) stayed at the Anchor Inn and Cottages for five days back in July. Overall it was a really good stay. We had a room with two double beds and so we had PLENTY of space. I was actually surprised at how spacious the room was for two people and two dogs. I'd say only about half the tenants had dogs so we didn't feel like we were staying at a zoo. The location is pretty good...you can walk to a nearby beach and it takes about 15 minutes. I'd recommend driving though. There are also a couple of good restaurants nearby in case you don't feel like fighting the island's slow driving speeds. There are some games around the property like shuffle board and this ring thing on a string. We didn't use the pool but it looked very nice and people were in it often.

The front office provides pet waste bags, but they were a little stingy with them so I'd suggest bringing your own. There was no basic icebox/freezer in the fridge. The fridge was pretty tiny, which was fine, but it would have been nice to have a tiny freezer to put freezer packs in. Also, the WiFi was really weak. We were about halfway down from the office and could barely get a signal on the iPad. Half the time I couldn't even get a signal and when I could it was soooo slow. I would return to this hotel since it was such a great value...and it was very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I had stayed at here in 2009 and we enjoyed our stay then. The only bad thing I could say of my stay back then that there were always baby ants in the kichen but I could deal with that. This was not the case this time.
We stayed there for 2 days in August 2012. It was supposed to be 3. I paid for 3 but could not stay any longer. When we walked in there were dead milipedes on the carpet floor in the bedroom and the loft that we had to clean up. I was surprised we did not have any little ants in the kitchen. On the 1st night i noticed baby cockroaches crawling in the sink and on the counter. I saw them again on the 2nd night . They seemed to only come out at night. I wondered where the big ones were. Where there are babies there is usually some adult ones too. There was a space on the floor where the door closes and ants were always coming from under the door. We decided to just head out after staying 2 nights and head for our next location at Orlando. When we arrived at our hotel in Orlando I pulled out my toiletries case to get ready to go out and as I looked thru the clear plastic of the bag there was a roach crawling around in it. I had carried it with me from Anchor Inn. I will never go there again. They need some exterminating. The property also has a very bad problem with the baby ants. They were all over the property and crawling up and down the outside of the doors and the floors at the pool and parking area. We found several baby ants had come to be living in my minivan from being parked in the lot. So by the time I got home I washed every single thing I travelled with (even the clean clothes afraid to bring roaches into my house) Every single bag got checked along with every single item brought in. The van needed major vacuuming and cleaning to get the ants out. I realize this part of Florida has ants but it can be controlled with some exterminating. The only thing not negative I can say is the bedding and sheets seemed to be very clean and the kids loved the pool. I love Sanibel Island and will go back but never to Anchor Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorInnandcottages, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I would like that start out by saying that we are glad you enjoyed your first stay with us. August is a slow time for us and it is the start of our heavy rainy season. This rain floods all insects out of their homes and in search of a new place to live. With it being our slow season, many of the rooms go vacant longer than we would like which means a longer time in-between room inspections. Yesterday after reading your complaint I visited all of the rooms at Anchor Inn and Cottages to do a full inspection and was very pleased at the cleanliness and freshness of the entire property, see new photos posted above. I did find sugar ants in one unit near the toaster outlet and made it know that regardless of the time between check-ins all rooms need to be inspected for our next guest just prior to arrival. The Anchor Inn exterminates sugar ants with liquid ant bait which needs to be left out in the general area where the ants appear. General bug extermination is done on routine at Anchor Inn and you can always request documentation of that fact during your stay. Palmettos do come up out of ground level sinks in the rainy season and even second level dwellings can experience the occasional bug as they do fly an can enter through an open door. They are fond of makeup, paper products and kitchen garbage. The exterminators put the bug poison in the rooms so that as they appear they to do not inhabit but instead die. Management does need to be and will be more diligent to inspect shut up rooms prior to guest arrival and they have been reminded. Please remember to always point out your concerns to the front desk as soon as possible as much of this situation could have been avoided if the management would have know about the issues while you were there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

A great find-prices were wonderful for summer-room was perfect for us and our small dog and on end-best part we thought was that room was super clean and had 2 bathrooms which is great when you go to beach so you don't have to wait for spouse. Bed was a little firm for our taste-but overall it was a nice room size and location, also has very nice pool and grills with picnic tables and a cleaning station. The only thing that annoyed us is that the smaller rooms were connected and if you wanted to sit out by your door and others down the patio were smoking yand you did not smoke it would choke you out-so we just went to picnic table in yard or out front to sit and relax. Otherwise all was great and we will return. Service was also wonderful if you needed any help from office staff.

Room Tip: All are great and if you have pet they will try to put you in end room if available-they also have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My fiancé and I (27 and 26, respectively) stayed for a couple of nights in February while “road tripping” around Florida.

We couldn’t believe the size of the room, which contained two very comfy double beds, big table and chairs, a TV and a clean and functional kitchenette. It was decorated in lovely “old Florida” style with nautical theme. The bathroom was a little small, but had a great shower. As we only stayed for a short while we didn’t use the kitchen. I’m not sure it would be enough to self cater “proper” for more than a couple of days.

N.B. the pool is next to the road. We didn’t feel this was an issue (probably because we hadn’t planned on spending any time in the pool in any event – the beaches are brilliant here), but it’s worth mentioning, as it isn’t clear from the Inn’s photographs.

There is plenty of parking out front around the little pool and there is loads of space on the decking outside the cottages for drying wet swim wear.

We didn’t see much of the staff, but they were very friendly when we did and made some great recommendations, particularly for breakfast – you MUST try the café in Jerry’s Supermarket (we thought that sounded weird, but were so pleasantly surprised that we ate there for breakfast every day!).

Good location, easy to find and with handy shell cleaning facilities by the pool, this is a perfect little base for exploring the island. (Speaking of exploring, a trip to Sanibel and Captiva wouldn’t be complete if you didn’t make a trip to Tween Waters Inn for the crab racing (but call ahead, as it’s only on a couple of times a week) – what a hoot!

Would thoroughly recommend this place if you’re looking for value for money and convenience (and a little Florida charm).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We booked here because we have a dog. Many of our friends and family members were staying at other locations on Sanibel but they did not accept pets. The positive I can say is that the Anchor Inn is relatively clean. We had ants in our room, but other than that the room was clean and the public areas were too.
The negatives - this place nickles and dimes you for everything. All the other locations where we had friends and family staying offered many things that the Anchor Inn either did not have or charged you for (like a $15/day to use the bikes). The staff was not very friendly. I will say that there is a big difference in rooms depending on what level you book. We were in a one room efficiency which reminded me of an Econo-Lodge room. My in-laws were in a two room efficiency and their room was a lot better. Although both rooms has ants. We had a medical emergency and had to leave early and they would not refund us the nightly pet fee for the night we did not stay even though they re-rented the room. Based on the management of the property, I would not stay here again or recommend it. We had friends staying at the Tarpon Tale Inn and they had nicer accommodations for a cheaper price, the management was extremely friendly, they were a quick walk to the beach, and they had free use of numerous things (bikes, beach chairs, beach equipment (nets and such for shelling), etc.) If you're looking for a place to stay, I would recommend booking there,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorInnandcottages, Manager at Anchor Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
This is the management at Anchor Inn and Cottages and we're very sad there appears to be miscommunication surrounding your stay.
As Innkeepers we were off that Wednesday and Thursday the first two nights of your stay. An employee that has been let go since was working the front office. Unfortunately no one in your party or in on our team came to us about the ants in the kitchen area. If we had known we would have taken care of it immediately. We are very aware this year the sugar ants are aggressive due to excessive rain and we spray 2 times a week to keep them down. On Saturday around 11:30 or 12:00 we were informed that you needed to check out a day early due to a private family commitment. I politely explained the early departure policy letting you know there would be a $25 cancellation fee and if we were able to re-rent the room I would credit your card back lees the $25 cancel fee and any room rate lost. While you were there in the office I put the room back in inventory and contacted the Chamber to let them know I had a room available in-case they could sell it. At the time you told me you understood and would be grateful if we could re-rent it. After your departure at 12:30PM I received a call soon after and re-booked the room. I emailed you immediately to let you know and told you of the remaining charges and of the credit that they would receive and wished you a safe journey and well with the personal family situation. You then emailed me back and said thank you for doing my best to help them out. All I can think is that while I'm dealing with one member of the family who appears to be understanding, another member of the family is not happy but not expressing this to us. If the unhappy member of the family would like to call in and talk to us or if any member of the family would like to call in and talk to us, I'm sure we'll be able to satisfy you. Thank you for staying at Anchor Inn and Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn & Cottages

Address: 1245 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Sanibel Island, Anchor Inn offers affordable accommodations in a lush tropical setting. Private A-frame cottages, standard hotel rooms and fully equipped 1 and 2 room efficiencies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anchor Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn & Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Anchor Inn And Cottages

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.